We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Save
Share
290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954-5048
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$820
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-09
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$820
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (469)
Room & Suite (195)
Pool & Beach (99)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Updated 20-08-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Updated 20-08-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on Montauk's most pristine stretch of oceanfront real estate, Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa is a Hampton's icon and the only four-season resort in Montauk. Providing guests with direct access to a 2,000 ft. private sand beach, Gurney's features 146 rooms, suites and beachfront cottages, each with dramatic ocean views. With five unique dining and cocktail venues, guests can enjoy a wide range of dining options, from elegant seasonal cuisine to casual fare to grab-and-go cafe favorites. All of Gurney's venues feature spectacular ocean views, none more so than The Beach Club, which provides the only on-beach dining experience in the Hamptons. No trip to Gurney's is complete without visiting The Seawater Spa, featuring Roman baths, Finnish rock saunas, a fitness center, and our world-famous indoor/outdoor sand-filtered, ocean-fed, heated seawater pool. The Seawater Spa is the only authentic Thalasso Center in the continental United States and offers customized thalasso therapies, harnessing the healing and restorative properties of the sea. The spa also offers a wide range of innovative spa services including uniquely tailored massages, facials and body treatments.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Public wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Modern
825Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 430
  • 162
  • 82
  • 66
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SJP wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
We stayed for 4 days at a premium rate at the end of March 2021. It is clear the management does not care about the customer experience and only bank on the location for the pricing they denand. Get an Air B&B instead in nearby townships. You’ll have a better experience. The restaurant is sub par in all regards and 40% over priced. Each day we had to remind the front desk 3-4 times to clean our room or provide in a reasonably timely measure any response to basic customer service requests. The property is significantly understaffed in every area and they make every excuse for their failures. This resort is billed at 5 star levels and delivers 1 star results. Perhaps the jet set doesn’t care - but for the prime location, anyone choosing to pay the rates this property demands should expect more with less effort. The management needs a full refitting and this is evident from the basic services in room that are lacking for remedial things like cleaning the room daily to the poor timing of food service and restaurant logistics and quality of the end result. Go stay somewhere else and come to the property only for beach access at the cost of car parking. This is a 1 star resort at best. Zero care for the customer. A missed opportunity by the management of this property to make it special for anyone. Boo ans shame on the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sjprohaska, Thank you for your feedback and I will follow-up with my management team on the difficulties you had with Housekeeping. Please contact me directly, as I do care about the guest experience and if I would have known while you were on property, I would have gladly assisted. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager
Read more
382stephen wrote a review Mar. 2021
Bedford3 contributions1 helpful vote
What a fantastic experience it was to stay and eat at Gurney's. The staff provided exceptional service and the resort is very luxurious. Our room was steps from the beach; and even though it is only March, it's always a great time to visit Gurney's and be on the best beach in the Northeast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 382stephen, Thank for you the wonderful comments and for staying with us. The team appreciates the feedback about the service and the rooms and we hope to see you back soon. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager
Read more
Liz D wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
Dear Mr. Stuyck (Property Manager) Montauk has always held a special place in my heart as I spent many childhood summers there with my family. As my 57th birthday approached this year I felt excited to plan a celebratory get away to Gurney’s, a 2 hour drive from my home in Ct. with a few girlfriends as I’de always heard great things. I’ve had the great fortune of traveling extensively throughout Europe and GB and have experienced exceptional service. I was anticipating and expecting this as per Gurney’s reputation and commitment to excellence: Copied from your website: Our Vision: We will deliver luxurious service at every moment by being adaptive, present and engaged. Our Mission: To create unique effortlessly elegant experiences for our employees and guests. I felt it important for you know that this was not at all our experience. Our initial interaction with your front desk manager came across as professional and exceptional albeit rehearsed. Much to our disappointment what we were told did not at all match what happened next. The follow through, coordination and communication based on our initial interaction fell way below your reputation and mission statement. We were told there was no upgrade available, when in fact that was only true for 1 of the nights during our 2 night stay. We were told our rooms were ready, when in fact, I waited outside my room for 20 minutes luggage in hand waiting for the inspection to be completed. When I asked about a room service menu, there was no menu in my room, it was delivered later and when I attempted to use it the following morning it was the wrong room number. The bar code did not match or work. There was no phone service, only wifi. No one at the front desk made us aware of this. When I opened the closet to the hang my coat there was a panel missing in the ceiling exposing pipes. The noise level between rooms with TV was surprising to me for a high end hotel, very loud. I booked my reservation way in advance and was not even given the nicest room. I was wedged in the middle floor. The towels and blanket (WHITE), look old and not quite white. The shower pressure was a joke. The water barely trickled out. The resort fee and additional property taxes quite frankly are a slap in the face given the property was under major construction. My two girlfriends did not have ocean front rooms, they faced a parking lot directly in the line of the very loud construction. I cannot imagine why Gurney’s would want any customer to walk away with that horrible experience. Another friend arrived on Wednesday and was given the wrong room location as well as other issues related to her stay. I planned this experience because of Gurney’s reputation and it was embarrassing to say the least given the expense and reputation we expected. That said, the food was fabulous and wait staff very attentive and friendly. I had hoped to plan a trip with my husband this summer but based on this experience I don’t feel confident.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear M324IElizd, Thank you for the your emails to the property and comments on TripAdvisor. We apologize again for not having everyone in the same building for your birthday celebration. We upgrade based on availability and I'm sorry that we couldn't. As discussed with Jessica, please contact us if you should decide to return and I know she made an adjustment of resort fees for the inconvenience. Please email me for further assistance. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager michael.nenner@gurneysresorts.com
Read more
Lauren B wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
This place is absolutely beautiful. Our room and private, generously-sized balcony looked right out onto the sea. Luxury carried throughout all the details- from tasteful decor to ultra-comfy pillows, bath robes, and slippers. The staff members were incredibly friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. I would go back again and again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Laurenbal294, Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the comments regarding the rooms and the team members. We do hope that you'll join us again in the future. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager
Read more
Westchestervisitor wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
We were very impressed with the property overall--great location and incredible beachfront. Staff was extremely helpful from the Front Desk to the valet to the restaurant servers. Very enjoyable stay! We look forward to returning soon (and hope that the construction is not quite as intrusive).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Westchestervisitor, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the feedback. I"m sorry of the construction was too noisy and we will be finished with the Westside rooms in May and the Spa later this year. We do hope that you'll be back to enjoy. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$484 - US$1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gurney`s inn resort, hotel montauk, gurneys resort montauk, gurneys inn montauk, gurneys hotel montauk, gurneys inn resort, gurneys spa
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandHamptonsMontauk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Nearby attractions include Hither Hills State Park (0.4 km), Ditch Plains (4.3 km), and Camp Hero State Park (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvest on Fort Pond, Lobster Roll Restaurant, and Montauk Bake Shoppe Limited.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Camp Hero State Park (4.3 km).
Does Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.