We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gurney\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

This review is on the customer service I received when booking at gurneys, after talking to robin via email for about a week she been so wonderful and kind. She helped me decide on some dates I had in mind as well as connecting me with Cindy who was so pleasant when booking our stay. Cindy also gave us a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrsvaldess
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear mrsvaldess: Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding the service and facilities. Robin, Cindy and the team appreciate the feedback and we hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Pretty rooms, very very friendly staff (Ginny is the sweetest woman Ive ever met). Not cheap at all, but it is the place to be in the summer If you can afford it, go for a room with a balcony on the beach. Hard to get a room in the summer but worth a visit! Also great spa

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sophie T: Thank you for the wonderful comments and you're correct about Ginny, she is a gem!!! We do hope to see you again soon and maybe during the summer. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Advertised as ice skating is actually on plastic with grease!!! Messy and impossible to skate on. Our skates were ruined! Restaurant had limited brunch menu and service lacked warmth...and slow. They were not allowed to serve mimosa at 11:30 brunch. Our food was ready, sat in the aisle for awhile. At another table, a customer got up to get coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Josie A
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Josie A, My apologies for the issues you experienced during your day of skating at Gurney's. The synthetic rink we have is used by the NHL for practice rinks and I will follow up with the company regarding the issues you experienced. As far as the brunch, please contact me to discuss your experience further. Thank you for the...

Long Island
Reviewed 2 February 2016

As first time guests, we were blown away with the kindness of the staff...from booking, to dining to spa personnel, everyone went overboard to make our anniversary special! (including a nice surprise treat waiting for us in our oceanfront guestroom!) The resort feels brand new...recently remodeled with fascinating décor. The view of the Atlantic is spectacular and their "ice skating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthShoreTravelers
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear SouthShore Travelers: Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your Anniversary stay. We appreciate the feedback and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our room and amenities. We do hope to see you again for your next anniversary. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We went for a short two night winter break as we were looking for something close to New York City. Gurneys was ideal as everything was available in the resort. Our room was very comfortable and had a great sea view (advertised as partial view). The restaurant was very good and the staff throughout the resort were extremely friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty H, Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay and we are so pleased you had a "Great Winter Break". I'm sorry that you didn't find the facial upgrade worth your while. I will be sure to share with the Spa team and I appreciate your comments. Please feel free to contact me when you are able to...

New York
Reviewed 23 January 2016

My friends and I (5 in total) were so excited for our 90 min massages at the Seawater Spa after having a beautiful day at the beach. Unfortunately the experience at the spa was subpar at best. At first I thought I was the unlucky one stuck with a bad massage therapist, but after discussing it will the other girls...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RR920
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear RR920, We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the resort and liked the renovations however I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Spa treatments. Your feedback is very important to us and we always look to improve. Please contact me so we may further discuss and we look forward to accommodating your stay again soon....

Reviewed 20 January 2016

The view was spectacular even in the snow! My husband and I enjoyed a day in the spa. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Food, and atmosphere wonderful. So nice to swim in a seawater pool in the winter, Will definitely return for another recharge! Betty and John Fanneron

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fanneron
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fanneron, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! The snow was so pretty over the ocean and was a treat to see. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Please contact me if I may assist. Kind regards, Robin Torr Guest Relations Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 January 2016

A great getaway a couple of hours drive east of NYC. We've been here several times over the years, but they have been renovating with a flair for modern chic. Even in the offseason they are busy. We enjoyed the spa and resturants during our stay. The restaurnt hosts & hostess were very nice. Angel, our server was great! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler0123_10
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear TimeTraveler0123_10, Thank you for your comments on the restaurants, spa and our great staff. We are delighted to know your truly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon and please contact me if I may assist you! Kind regards, Robin Torr Guest Relations Manager

Secaucus, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We have gone to their big New Year's Eve party with a polar bear plunge the next morning twice. The party usually has a theme such as James Bond which adds to the festivities. So it is really cold in Montauk in the winter so doing a polar bear the Gurney's way is the only way! You spend about 40...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjtravelagain
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jjtravelagain, Thank you for the comments regarding your NYE stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us more than last year and that you'll join us again before next year to enjoy the resort. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 January 2016

After many years of being "run down" a new renovation is restoring Gurney's back to what it should be, beautiful. Sitting above the Atlantic ocean, you get a magnificent view of the beach below. Sunsets explode against the sky here. The staff is friendly and helpful. Scarpetta, the main restaurant is delicious. Tilly's for brunch on weekends is great for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NMT2015
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear NMT2015, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us! We do hope that you'll join us again soon and please contact me for assistance if necessary. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager

464 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Aerial Photography (44)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
7.5 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
472 reviews
4.3 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
287 reviews
25.9 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 39 in Montauk
189 reviews
27.3 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
98 reviews
4.4 km away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Montauk's most pristine stretch of oceanfront real estate, Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa is a Hampton's icon and the only four-season resort in Montauk. Providing guests with direct access to a 2,000 ft. private sand beach, Gurney's features 146 rooms, suites and beachfront cottages, each with dramatic ocean views. With five unique dining and cocktail venues, guests can enjoy a wide range of dining options, from elegant seasonal cuisine to casual fare to grab-and-go cafe favorites. All of Gurney's venues feature spectacular ocean views, none more so than The Beach Club, which provides the only on-beach dining experience in the Hamptons. No trip to Gurney's is complete without visiting The Seawater Spa, featuring Roman baths, Finnish rock saunas, a fitness center, and our world-famous indoor/outdoor sand-filtered, ocean-fed, heated seawater pool. The Seawater Spa is the only authentic Thalasso Center in the continental United States and offers customized thalasso therapies, harnessing the healing and restorative properties of the sea. The spa also offers a wide range of innovative spa services including uniquely tailored massages, facials and body treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Address: 290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954-5048
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Price Range: $330 - $1,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney`s Inn Resort, Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Resort Montauk
Gurneys Inn Montauk
Gurneys Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Inn Resort
Gurneys Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure your room is part of the main building or not, if you care about that.”
 of 5 bubbles NavinG_13, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We loved the cottage. It had a beautiful working fireplace and it was very quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles tug11, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“OceanFront Rooms, not to be confused with OceanView Rooms, are the best rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles katebranning, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Confirm you attendance early to ensure a room on the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles johnn844, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There's no distinction bet. guests of the resort & outside visitors. If you can't get a reservation in the restaurant, you're out of luck.”
 of 5 bubbles HelperT, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5