We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,748 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,815: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned from this holiday on 17 November (3 days ago). This was a first holiday for myself and my partner so we wanted it to be special and it was special; the hotel was lovely, very large room; we had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, lounge and a balcony. Cleaners came almost every day, the grounds, which were extensive,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank 228jacquelineg
elyeszendah, The Hotel management Team at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 228jacquelineg Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort. We appreciate your kind comments particularly regarding our Staff and our Hotel in general. Thank you for having brought into our attention the points that were not according to your expectations. The points mentioned will be noted and taken into account for... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were very disappointed with our stay at the Melia Totuga Resort. Although our apartment was nice and spacious there was not much to do. We paid about £70 each for a 4x4 tour which proved that there is not much to see or do in Sal. Sal is sooooo expensive!! The food was almost the same... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MangoTime1
elyeszendah, The Hotel Management Team at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MangoTime1 Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort for your holidays last September and for having set aside some of your time to review our hotel. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion and even more sorry that you were unable to let us know about your unhappiness during your stay. We... More 

chard
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really relaxing holiday accommodation excellent fantastic choice of food beautiful resort kept spotless staff very friendly and work hard but up and coming place and they are still learning but would definitely go again

Helpful?
Thank jkbw
elyeszendah, The Hotel Management Team at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jkbw We thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort for your holidays and for having taken the time to share your experience with us through Tripadvisor. It is always a great feeling finding out that we managed to meet our guests expectations. Our Executive chef, Ronald hurtado, was delighted to read your comments the food that we... More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I will start by saying how ridiculous and embarrassing it is that people feel the need to complain so much about things that quite honestly I... and I'm sure many others.. didn't find an issue on their holidays. Overall this hotel is lovely couldn't fault it!! Food - we found the food good for an all inclusive we have stayed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank elishakiltie
elyeszendah, The Hotel Management Team at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear elishakiltie We thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to share your holiday experience with us through Tripadvisor. It is always a great feeling finding out that we managed to meet our guests expectations and that they became Ambassadors to our resort by promoting it, so... More 

Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I have been on many Thomson holidays which have been classified as either a platinum or sensitori. This hotel does not meet with these standards. It falls short on all levels including accommodation, service, entertainment and food. On arrival we were met at reception by trainees who basically couldnt cope. We were told our room was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzie S
elyeszendah, The Hotel Management Team at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Suzie S Thank you for having set aside some of your time to share your holiday experience with us and with fellow travelers online. The Hotel Management Team More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a week and loved it. The hotel has a nice lobby and three different restaurants. The food is nice and the drinks are very good; there was nice cava included in your holiday price. The rooms were excellent; very large & nicely furnished which was great. The hotel backs onto a beach which is nice and it's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher B
elyeszendah, The Hotel Management at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christopher B, Thank you very Much for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent visit to your Melia Tortuga Beach resort. Great feedback for us, really made us all happy, particularly our Spa Manager, Chiara. Christopher B, we are counting you now as one of our loyal guests and we are genuinely looking forward to welcoming... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived after traveling for best part of twelve hours. Net st airport by Thomson Rep Nicky who didn't even ask us if we had a nice flight or welcome us to cake Verde. She did however insist we tip the driver as he doesn't earn a lot if money. I do tip regularly but I don't like to be instructed... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mollythecat3
elyeszendah, The Hotel management Team at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mollythecat3 Thank you for having set aside some of your time to share your holiday experience with us and with fellow travelers online. The Hotel Management Team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Week away looking for winter sun. Booked via Thomson. Rooms very clean and spacious. Very large complex maybe 35/45 % capacity restaurants and bars struggling to cope with number. Food at best ok, buffet mostly luke warm. Breakfast seemed to serve leftovers from previous night dinner (meatballs in cheese sauce/chicken nuggets) Al La Carte - very limited menu choice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
halifax
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

at the airport told we where in the dunas so only used this a few times apparently they overbooked so the family were put in the dunas a much bigger hotel. but we where given wrist bands for both. on comparison the dunas is mush better of kids as plenty to do around the complex. this did seem a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank grantisimo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon. Brochure stated it only had 245 rooms but in reality it has way more with nearly 1000 guests. Hotel itself is beautiful, clean, well equipped and some staff were so friendly and helpful. Our 2 bed apartment (room 289 if you want a quiet room with a nice view of the sea) was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha E

2,348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2018)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (423)
Viewed
Room/Suite (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (437)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Dining (112)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Other (753)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Kids Pool (4)
Viewed
Main Pool (10)
Viewed
Relax Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Villa (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#1 of 19 in Santa Maria
611 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#2 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,932 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#10 of 19 in Santa Maria
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,617 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#8 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,376 reviews
2.4 km away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Price Range: $225 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
374 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (374)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the 300's quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles 173janetj, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for rooms with a view to the ocean and choose the upper suites in the houses.”
 of 5 bubbles Rudolphe1952, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet apartment mid way between hotel reception and the beach, as both have loud music.”
 of 5 bubbles mkjan13, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the main hotel building as it is LOUD on a night!”
 of 5 bubbles 144katem144, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and stay away from the reception and entertainment area if you like tranquility!”
 of 5 bubbles MhairiC_12, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay