We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Panoramas (71)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,915 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,922: English reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Visited in September for a week, holiday sold via Tompsons as a 5T hotel - its not! This is not a hotel it is apartments with a fully functional kitchen in the room & with rooms split into "blocks" of 8 rooms throught out the resort. The beach towls were hired (i.e paid a deposit for!) were often ripped &...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Businesstravels1114
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Businesstravels1114, Thank you for having chosen Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to fully meet your holiday expectations. By definition, a hotel is an establishment that provides accommodation and other services to...

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Like many people, we had read plenty of Tripadvisor reviews and wondered whether our faith in the Thomson description was justified. We need not have worried. First impressions matter and the warm and friendly welcome and explanation followed by swift buggy transfer with luggage to our suite set the tone. We had not assumed that we would get the spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MICK0950
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MICK0950, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your feedback with us and with fellow travelers online. Having read your description about our hotel and services and the recommendations that you have made to fellow travelers we are left with a...

Ilha De Sal
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The hotel was clean & stylish but first impressions soon went downwards for us. There was never enough staff which meant lots of waiting around for drinks at the bars. The entertainment was very amateur and repetitive for just one hour each evening. Day time activities were the same time & same activity's every day. The evening entertainment square was...

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paul N
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul N, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having spared a few minutes to share your opinion with us and with fellow travelers online. Firstly, we would like to thank you for your acknowledgement of the positive points of the hotel, this will motivate us to keep up with...

Clavering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Room was very comfortable with settee and TV but only had one bathroom and brochure and online quote 2 bathrooms although we had a kitchen the cupboards were locked and we only had 2 cups, 2 glasses and 2 teaspoons, I also object to having to take teabags from the restaurant (it felt like I was stealing) and having to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat H
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pat H, It has been a pleasure having you as our guests and we are sincerely pleased to perceive that you have had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the positive and the not so positive points regarding the different aspects of our services, which will be taken into account for the continuous enhancement...

Suffolk, England
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Lovely people, nice big room, food very bad. Needs more areas with air con as the reception areas (and food outlets) are too hot. Apparently the sister hotel is much nicer. If the food was better then I might go here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveller1008
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Traveller1008, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your valuable time to share your opinion with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the accommodation and the staff friendliness. We are sorry to hear that the food was not up to your expectations, we try...

colchester
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We just returned from a week at the Melia Tortuga and what a great time we had. We read some of the less than positive reviews about the food, but went with an open mind. We arrived at 8ish on our first day and after unpacking in the very spacious, well appointed apartment ( Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large lounge,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank astillie
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear astillie, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your experience with us. It has been a pleasure having you as our guests, it is great to know that you have had a fantastic holiday with us and we would like to...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Well where shall I start ,at the beginning I thought what a brilliant place to holiday in.Then came the food in spices ,it was rabbit,quail or fish one night I ended up with a salad batch.Other nights were very good .At the pool bar we waited 40 minutes for a drink as only one member off staff on , this...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank vanessa H
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear vanessa H, Thank you for having selected Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your family holidays at our resort and for having set aside some of your time to review our hotel. Having read your description, we are truly pleased to know that you have had an enjoyable stay at our resort and that our facilities, the entertainment,...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Room was larger than pics on website with 2 beds and 2 baths. Tea making facilities good as kitchen large. Also a dining table and lounge area so really quite spacious. Not too many children as, although a kids club and activities, it has less than other resorts which suited us as travelling with adults only this time! Luxurious feel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cara T
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cara T, It has been truly a pleasure having you and your family as our guests and we are sincerely pleased to perceive that you have had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our accommodation, the food, the entertainment and the staff friendliness, of which we are very proud as they are a...

Switzerland
Reviewed 8 October 2015

hotel, restaurants, rooms, swimmingpool, beach, personal everithing just perfect i was very happy with this hotel resort everithing very clean, food and drinks perfect, beautiful beach. big thank you. melia its the best choice.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ericek111
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ericek111, It has been truly a pleasure having you as our guests and we are sincerely pleased to perceive that you have had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our accommodation, the food, the entertainment and the staff friendliness. We will be very happy to share your feedback with our team and we...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Nice Hotel with very friendly staff. Food is OK, but not more. Three restaurants with 3 starters, 3 main dishes and 3 desserts all over the two weeks (probably over the full summer). Very disappointing. Main restaurant has a large buffet which is OK, unfortunately always the same 3-4 type of fruits and the desserts not eatable. Beach is nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Giuliano C
Tortuga Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Giuliano C, Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your impression with us. We appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our hotel and our staff, however, we are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of our service which did not...

2,457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2127)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (442)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (465)
Viewed
Room/Suite (211)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (116)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Other (793)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Kids' Pool (4)
Viewed
Main Pool (10)
Viewed
Relax Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Villa (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
690 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
2,216 reviews
2.3 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#6 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,644 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
305 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#10 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Price Range: $186 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
429 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (429)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles 958veronicar, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Middle of grounds ... easy access to beach, pools and reception, but away from plaza.”
 of 5 bubbles LSNAITH, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the rooms in the low 300s are nearer the reception - we had 327 and we managed to pick up wifi from reception”
 of 5 bubbles alilaw59, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Layout of hotel means none of the rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles jhanson2016, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room not too close to the pools or main building if you don't want to hear the evening activities”
 of 5 bubbles keda001, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5