We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Dunas de Sal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dunas de Sal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Rooms are spacious but lack a bit in wardrobe/dresser space. The bathrooms are adequate but could do with a make-over. Hot water isn't alway available when they make the switch between the roof water heater and the regular heater. Housekeeping does a good job. Airco works perfect. Minibar is stocked and works good enough. TV is a joke tho, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hrodgard N
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Hrodgard N, Thank you for taking your time to write Hotel Dunas de Sal a review. The team is happy you've enjoyed the overalll service and experience and sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you for a third time here at Hotel Dunas de Sal. We would like to thank you as well for your comments about...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This is 1 on the best hotels we have been to in Cape Verde ALL the staff were brilliant and spoke really good English the rooms were cleaned every day and housekeeping were fantastic, only 10 mins walk to the small town centre and 5 mins to the beach, Marta the hotel manager was excellent as were Clara and Paula...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SannyB_13
Dunas_de_Sal, manager assistant at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear SannyB_13 Thank you for your taking your time and review Hotel Dunas de Sal at Tripadvisor. The team is glad you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and mainly you have found the relaxed and friendly atmosphere you were looking for. Thank you as well for your tips and recommendations to future visitors, it is really delighting to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Apartment was clean and comfortable , however 2 teaspoons only in kitchen . Entertainment is far too small for residents , food was the same everyday and cold most of the time ....water was off for 2 days ,no explanation ... To sum up would not recommend especially with family ....no shop on site for general needs .....would not want...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andyzed
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel resort. Was an all inclusive 7 day break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in Was big and very clean. The food was varied and the two other restaurants were good too. The pools were unheated so were a tad chilly. The bar was well stocked and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank diver915
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and hotel generally clean. Food choice very limited, breakfast a real disappointment, coffee is powdered and processed in a German machine (choices were in German) typically found in old hotels in the Canaries so don't expect 21st century coffee!! Limited entertainment and activities. Advertised Gym had little equipment (e.g no running machines just a few mats...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen O
Dunas_de_Sal, manager assistante at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Stephen O, First of all , thank you to have taking time to write us your comments. We are sorry you didn’t have a very good experience with us because we try every day to offer the best experience possible to our guests… We read your comments very carefully, in a nearby future Hotel Dunas de Sal will close...

Rolleston-on-Dove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We were not lucky enough to stay here but the team and Manager went above and beyond our expectations in helping us find somewhere else to stay. They could not have been more friendly and helpful especially when they had no obligation to assist us so fully. We would definitely recommend the hotel and will stay here if we ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathurwin
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Kathurwin, Thank you for taking your time to write such a praise review of Hotel Dunas de Sal. We were also sorry we haven't been able to welcome you at our property but at least happy we could find you a solution togheter. Thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to have the chance to...

London
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We went on a Thomson package holiday (we usually don't go on package) at the last minute . We were quite anxious. My 14 year old just wanted sun and sand. Ditto wife, maybe she wanted hot and sand. The experience was much better that expected over a week including Xmas day. The weather did not play a good part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank musafari
New York City, USA
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We booked it last minute after our plans were changed due to weather-related cancellation of our flight. I write this review as a favor to fellow travelers. I am not an all-inclusive hotel person. It is not my style at all, but a few observations: 1. It is in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank nycKenM
doncaster
Reviewed 7 December 2016

What a lovely friendly clean hotel -- big comfy beds and a lovely choice of breakfast every morning - pool area lovely and always plenty of beds - the 10 minute walk into the lovely town of Santa Maria is a lovely stroll in the warm evenings - loved our 2 week stay -just a shame the Hilton is being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DoncasterRovers
Dunas_de_Sal, Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Doncasterrovers, Thank you for your taking your time and for writing Hotel Dunas de Sal such a nice review on Tripadvisor website. Thank you as well for your kind words about our Restaurant. It has been a pleasure to have you with us, we sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the nearby future. Kindest...

worcs
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Stayed 22-29 Nov 2016. 6 adults family & friends mix. Paid £509pp all inc. Highlights Facilities, Black Diamond entertainment, Lion King stage show, cleanliness, staff, location,choice of food, weather, island tour via Zy Tours (book on beach). Minus Points Bad manners fellow guests, lack of lighting communal paths, check in process. Check in was slow but then 104 guests did...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank danrae

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Large Pool (29)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Garden Room (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
690 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
2,214 reviews
0.3 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#10 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,556 reviews
0.4 km away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#6 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,643 reviews
2.4 km away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas de Sal

Address: Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Price Range: $122 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dunas de Sal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dunas de Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas De Sal Hotel
Hotel Dunas De Sal Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Dunas de Sal staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Dunas de Sal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No iron or tea making facilities so bring your own or use local services ”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No kettle so you need to bring your own if you like a cup of tea in bed. Large wardrobe but with limited shelves and no drawers so it is difficult to organise your clothes.”
 of 5 bubbles 628CarolineL, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1070 was mine sunshine all day , view not so great”
 of 5 bubbles 139bobc139, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for family room”
 of 5 bubbles stephenpS1330SU, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room in this hotel would be brill”
 of 5 bubbles SannyB_13, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5