We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Dunas de Sal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Dunas de Sal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dunas de Sal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Wurzburg, Germany
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We had a great time at these hotel! Very friendly staff and management! Pool and garden are also really nice and clean. Nice open air restaurant and bar-area. Only 15 minutes to walk to the center of Santa Maria or for two or three Euro by taxi.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nicole F
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Nicole F, Thank you for your kind words and for taking your time to review Hotel Dunas de Sal at Tripadvisor. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and your husband at our property. The team sincerely hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you again anytime soon at Hotel Dunas de Sal! Kind regards, The team Hotel...

Reviewed 31 October 2014 via mobile

perfect fresh hotel; a little outside and not directly at the beach but the little walk downtown or to the beach is easy to handle. Extremly friendly stuff; perfectly clean. Breakfast is getting a little boring but due to being a German I'm just overfed/spoiled with what you get here. I felt very welcome. If you need 24hours animation stay...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Spottieswood
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Spottieswood, Thank you not only for your kind preference but also for taking your time to write us a review at Tripadvisor website. On behalf of all Hotel Dunas de Sal' team, I thank you for kind words and for your will to choose us again in a nearby future. The team sincerely hopes to have the opportunity to...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 September 2014

The basic requirements for a good hotel are present at Dunas de Sal. The staff is friendly and they really trying their best. The rooms have all the basics you may expect, aside from a safety box maybe. The general hygiene and state of condition of the complex (including your room and the swimming pool) is more than sufficient, which...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chasersz
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Chasersz, Thank you for taking your time to write us a review at Tripadvisor. The team of Hotel Dunas de Sal would like to thank you for your kind words as well as for the tips you provide to future travelers. We sincerely look forward to welcome you again at our unit and offer you another pleasant and "peaceful...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Dunas de Sal is in many ways a nice hotel, clean and generally in fairly good condition. It is however a bit too minimalist if you ask me, there seems to lack a bit of soul. We were unfortunate that the weather was rather poor during our stay, if the weather is good (which it normally is) you will probably...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Casper B
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Casper B, Thank you for your rewview at Tripadvisor. The team of Hotel Dunas de Sal works to offer a great experience and a bit of the "Morabeza" feeling of warm welcome and stay at our Hotel We are really sorry you have found Hotel Dunas de Sal with lack of soul and would be grateful to have the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel, although we had lunch there whilst our children completed a PADI scuba diving course at the dive centre that is located at the hotel. The instructors were great and the kids loved it. Lunch was good and reasonably priced, the staff were polite and helpful with no sense that they trying to hurry us through...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark W
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Mark W, Thank you for your review at Tripadivsor website. Your words about our team and service are motivating. Thank you for your kind comments and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you any time soon not only at our Restaurant but also at the Hotel and can offer you a 5 star experience! On behalf of...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great place to spend some days chilling with some friends. It is a quiet and beautiful! Don´t come here if you are looking for some pretentious or luxurious place. This is very low profile but really charming! The only problem is that is a bit far away from the beach (300 meters more or less) but still, you need to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cotermin
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Cotermin, Thank you for your kind review at Tripadvisor. It is motivating to read such a review of praise about our hotel and and the experience of the stay, I will definitely share it with the staff. Thank you once again and look forward to welcome again soon at Hotel Dunas de Sal and offer you more another delighting...

Wervik, Belgium
Reviewed 2 May 2014

hotel clean, staff friendly, rooms ok, breakfast ok, but all together not 4 stars. i would say 3.5 stars to be generous. but this hotel does not give one a holiday impression. this hotel looks more like a school or a hospital. and not much can be done about that. it is simply the design of the hotel that is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank antoonsix
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Antoonsix, First of all thank you for taking your time to write us a review at Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind words about the Hotel and the staff. The team of Hotel Dunas de Sal puts their efforts to offer pleasant stays to our guests, we are really sorry we haven't been able to offer you true Dunas...

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We as a couple went here in September '13. We had a great holiday and the staff in Dunas de Sal contributed greatly to this. We only had breakfast here and it was above expectation, with fresh fruits everyday and some local delicacies. The room was kept clean everyday and when left a tip, the maids would go out of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nikki-Marek
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Nikki-Marek, Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Dunas de Sal at Tripadvisor. I will definitely share your message with the team so we can keep offering delighting experiences to the guests who visit us. I sincerely hope you can visit us once again as the team would love to have the opportunity to welcome you at Hotel...

southampton
Reviewed 7 March 2014

For a 4 star hotel this was disappointing. From the outside it looked fine, nice pool, sunbeds etc etc. However the rooms were a different story. It makes a travel lodge look upmarket. To describe the place as a dump would be doing a disservice to dumps! Although the inclusive breakfast was good, drinks were disgustingly overpriced and the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank gpr
Dunas_de_Sal, Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Thank you for your claim. We appreciated. Indeed the island has some problems of internal logistics and import to get the products which makes it much more expensive. It is important to have knowledge of customer complaints to improve the hotel service. Given the fact that there are many things in tourist terms need to be changed and...

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel is not very special but very clean and quiet. It's 100 meters from the beach and about 20 minutes walk to the center. If you rent a car, you can park front the hotel. On the island they ask European prices for food and drink, also in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pim V
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review

Dear Pim V, Thank you for taking your time to write about Hotel Dunas de Sal on Tripadvisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts is genuinely appreciated. Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we are happy you found Hotel Dunas de Sal a "quiet and beautiful" place. We look forward welcome you...

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#1 of 19 in Santa Maria
615 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#2 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,948 reviews
0.3 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#10 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#8 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,384 reviews
0.4 km away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#4 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,547 reviews
1.6 km away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#7 of 19 in Santa Maria
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas de Sal

Address: Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Price Range: $135 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dunas de Sal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dunas de Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas De Sal Hotel
Hotel Dunas De Sal Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Dunas de Sal staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Dunas de Sal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second level would be my preference”
 of 5 bubbles tammytoots13, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra to get a room with balcony facing the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles CaptainPilko, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“In the corners rooms are more private”
 of 5 bubbles alinavioleta, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“116 and 117 (and probably +/- 3) have very nice ground floor balconies, quiet but easy access to the bar/restaurant/pool and two hammocks close by. ”
 of 5 bubbles Khyrean, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Corner suite very spacious and private”
 of 5 bubbles Marcia1505, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay