Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Traveller (7004)
Panorama at the Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
360
Panoramas (51)
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 4 all-inclusives in Santa Maria
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Meliá Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers a unique luxury experience with superb service. It is located in the southwest of the island Sal (Cape Verde). Reserve one of the spectacular suites or The Level villas with up to 5 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. The Resort offers 5 magnificent adult pools and 2 children pools, which are surrounded by pretty gardens. Relax and unwind in the Yhi Spa with beauty, wellbeing and health treatments. The 6 restaurants and multiple bars, offer a wide variety of international and local cuisine, cocktails and long drinks. Meliá Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive is a perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing and scuba dining fans. For an even superior level of personalised service the Melia Dunas Resort offers The Level with access to the private The Level lounge and pool, private check-in, in-room, coffee machine, bathrobes, slippers and a complimentary water ritual in Yhi Spa per person per stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Diving
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:30 years of Rewards

Location

Rua Andrade Corvo, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4112 Cape Verde
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
Amilcar Cabral Intl Airport
14.7 km
See all flights
Rabil Airport
53.5 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles7,801 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Meliá Dunas Beach Resort & Spa earns mixed reviews, with its prime location often celebrated for easy airport access and stunning beaches. Guests have called out the spacious rooms, yet point to their outdated condition and noise issues. While cleanliness generally receives high marks, some inconsistencies with housekeeping are noted. Opinions on the value are divided; inclusive activities are appreciated, but food quality and unexpected costs have been critiqued. Service quality varies, ranging from commendable to sluggish. Amenities are plentiful, though some operational challenges are mentioned.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Rowdy
Rooms
Dated
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
7,801Reviews2,016Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,626
  • 2,273
  • 1,066
  • 471
  • 368
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Linda S wrote a review Jul 2023
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are here now! Beautiful and clean. The staff so friendly and cannot do enough for you. Make you feel so welcome as soon as you enter. I want to say a big shout out to Gildo and his team at the Atlantis Restaurant for making my birthday dinner so special. Also Remy who we have seen in a number of different locations but always remembers you with a smile as though old friends.
The whole team at the hotel just want to make sure your happy and enjoying yourself and as the saying for the island goes NO STRESS. The singer last night, Mendes Silva, was absolutely superb as was the ‘dance team’ who followed them.
So pleased we came to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you have stocked up on sun protector because it is very strong here. We have not had...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team, Owner at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Jul 14, 2023
Dear lindaDS858, Thank you very much for such lovely feedback. We have shared your amazing and kind words with all the Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Team. It was our honor to have you as guests and we cannot wait for you to be back soon. Kindly, Melia Dunas Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
boristst wrote a review Jan 2020
Saint Julian's, Malta
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall this is a three star hotel. Each day was a bit of a lottery as to what the experience of the resort was going to deliver. This can include getting served coffee before you finish your breakfast to the possibilIty there is any heat left in the ‘hot foods’ in the buffet. The food is good, we always found it wasn’t hard to create a different meal from the large choice on offer from the Mosaico buffet. We asked to be moved from the first room we were given it was on the ground floor with an outside sitting area that was next to the walkway to the beach. We were given a huge room with separate bedroom and dining room two tv’s one in bedroom, Although a little dated the bathroom being noticeably underwhelming it has to be said the staff couldn’t have been more helpful.
I agree with some of the negative comments from other reviews; most of them are fair and accurate. However the hotel does try its best but with just a little effort it could easily make it better. More staff in the buffet restaurants clearing away the plates and serving drinks would make a big difference to the restaurant experience.another chef cooking eggs and omelettes and other fresher meals would reduce waiting.
On the positive side, we had very little queuing for drinks, always got loungers by both sea and pools. The food was good but 3 star. It was clean, comfortable bed. Room cleaned and restocked well every day. There was an eclectic mix of people using the resort as there are two hotels sharing most of the facilities. The Sol Dunas is geared towards children and is cheaper than the Melia Dunas.
My wife and I had a good two week holiday once we accepted the standards were not as good as the experience we had at the Riu Touareg in Boa Vista a couple of years ago. We have been to 5 star hotels in other countries, however after Boa Vista we did not expect similar standards such as Mexico or Thailand
But saying that we were expecting similar to the Riu Touareg. This wasn’t the case.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear boristst, Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for the time that you have set aside to share your review with us and with fellow travellers online. We are sad to know that our services did not meet your expectations, it is obviously not the kind of impression that we would like you to retain from our hotel, quite the contrary we do our best to guarantee the satisfaction of our guests. We welcome the constructive feedback and suggestions from our guests as these enable us to gain a clearer insight into the needs and wants of our customers thus allowing us to continue to improve our services. Thank you once again for your contribution, we hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you our services once more in the near future and change your perception about us. Kind regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Jes F wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a week break in the sun and had a very easy going time in pleasant surroundings. Having been to Cape Verde once before, we were aware that there is little to do away from the hotel (unless you are a kite surfer or a scuba diver).
The beach is excellent, and the breakwater around the Club Bikini provides somewhere safe to swim in the sea with lifeguards, as long as he sea isn't too rough.
We found our room to be comfortable and clean. The mini bar is not filled unless requested and at an extra cost. Towels and beds are changed every day if you want them to be.
The buffet restaurants are good, better than some others we have had on an all inclusive holiday, but the a la carte restaurants make a difference. It is so much nicer to sit and be served. The menus are a bit limited (4-5 choices of main course) and we did find that at least one choice was unavailable each night. Booking does appear complicated, but isn't once you know how. There are two terminals to book on found in the bars between the restaurants. You can't book on the same day unless you see the member of staff who sits next to them at 10.00 am., and you can't book more than 5 days ahead. On your first booking you will be asked to enter some personal details and your e-mail address. You are then sent a confirmation e-mail with a code to enter on subsequent days. First select the restaurant you want to go to. It will show you availability (traffic light system to show availability). If there are no spaces , change the time and you may find more availability.
The Aqua and Atlantis restaurants also do lunch, our preference being the Aqua where apart from the lunch menu there is a chef preparing pasta dishes in a 'wok' choose your ingredients, add either tomato or carbonara sauce, then choose either spaghetti or penne, and you can also add either garlic, pesto or chilli for further flavour.
There are plenty of beds available on the beach, and the beach bar serves all the regular drinks, including draft lager (surprisingly good) cava, cocktails, local spirits or soft drinks.
The shows in the evenings are not exactly professional, but they are quite entertaining.

My main bugbear was that TUI make you take your luggage to the reception at 10.00 am to be processed and a boarding pass issued. This means that you have to carry your travelling clothes for the rest of the day (most flights out are around 7.00 pm) with limited toiletries. The courtesy changing rooms get very busy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear Jes F, Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to write your impression about our hotel and share with us and with fellow travellers online. Having read your description, we are happy to perceive that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and that different aspects of our services have contributed to this positive impression. We try our best to ensure that our guests feel welcome and at home and when this is so it is very satisfying and motivating to know. We also welcome each constructive feedback and suggestions from our guests as they enable us to continuously enhance our services thus ensuring your complete satisfaction. We thank you once again for your contribution, we hope that you will return for another visit as we will look forward to welcoming you as our guests once again in the near future. Kind regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlanCroft wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
this is meant to be a 5 star exclusive hotel, with facilities and staff to match. It is not, it falls well short of standard.
the rooms were not clean, previous occupants hair in the shower, floor not clean, ripped sheets, no blankets, fridge stank the whole room out, phone didn't work, smelt of cigarettes, meant to be premium but was above staff entrance so we were woke every morning at 6.00 on 2 days had to ask for towels in the room (they took dirty ones but didn't leave clean replacements), couldn't get fresh pool towels when needed, stupid booking system for restaurants meant we couldn't get in for first 2 days even though there was obviously space available.
we met many couples who complained they had booked and paid extra for adults only but this was restricted to one pool and bar, their meals were disturbed by screaming kids.
don't waste time and money on this place, there are many other far superior hotels in Cape Verde.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: go somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear AlanCroft, Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your valuable time to share your feedback with us and with fellow travellers online. We are sorry to hear that were not able to fulfil your holiday expectations. However, we thank you for having brought to our attention the points that were not up to your standards, due to the volume of arrivals that we may have some patience is required. The feedback and suggestions from our guests are always welcome and much valued and are taken into account for the improvement of our services. Having said this, we will continuously intensify our efforts to enhance our services and ensure your complete satisfaction. Our Guest Experience team are also always available at the Reception to assist our guests with any queries that they may have or with any help that they may need during their stay. We hope that we can persuade you to return for another visit in the not so distant future and allow us the opportunity to offer you our services again and change your perception about us. Kind regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve B wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Melia Dunas, Sal, January 5-12, 2020

We have just returned from a delightful trip to the island, our first venture into the wonders of The Cabo, a very enjoyable and relaxing week

The transfers to and from the airport went without a hitch, although the customs exit procedures need a bit of modernisation - they seemed surprised that 340 people had all turned up at once and weren’t ready for us. Checking in at the hotel is a brilliant idea and should be exploited on a wider basis.

Our apartment was as advertised, clean, comfortable and quiet. Linen and towel changes took place daily and the cleaning staff were always smiling and polite. Not sure that powdered milk is a good idea. It doesn’t mix well with Tetley Tea Bags. Sachets or small cartons please.

The wide choice of bars is exhilarating. Our daily choice was the “Gabi Bar” where we sat back and watched the world go by, interspersed with walks on the beach to watch the Para-Surfers. We finished most evenings at the Piano Bar, where Hidna was always ready with a big smile and a chat if she wasn’t too busy. The local singers provided a pleasant few hours of entertainment, and, when, on the last evening, a few “Northern Soul” songs were covered, we got up and danced our hearts out.

The staff in general were very attentive. Marina, who I believe is an intern, was a sheer joy, and couldn’t have been more helpful.

The restaurants were varied and provided a very wide choice of international cuisine. The omelette chefs at The Mosaic were skilled and turned out some lovely results. The attention of the drinks waiters was never less than whole, and one rarely waited more than a couple of minutes for a refill.

The à la carte restaurants were beautifully set and the staff were engaging and congenial. Leonardo, at The Sahel, was the perfect maître d'hôtel, amicable and attentive all at once.

Antonio at The Atlantis managed to administer a very busy lunch session with ease, aplomb, and always a cordial smile. Their “Cuban Missile Sandwich” (not sure if I’ve got that right) was the finest meal of the week.

One criticism would be the quality of the entrecôte at The Rancho, which was quite poor and would have been sent back in UK

Other staff names worth a mention were Cariston, as well as those guys at The Gabi who saw us through from lunch to “Sunset”.

I had very little to do with the TUI Reps, which meant that everything was ok. They were out in force and available though for those needing assistance. Gavin did come and speak to us to make sure we weren’t having any problems and we had a genial chat.

If I may make one suggestion. On two occasions we came across “Dads” looking for a baby change facility, only to find that they were all, seemingly, inside the Ladies’ bathrooms. I think the modern era requires a change here.

All in all, then, an entertaining and pleasurable seven days on a beautiful island off the coast of Africa, and we are seriously considering a return trip

Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Along The Boulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear Steve B, On behalf of all the staff at Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa, we would like to thank you very much for your extremely positive and cordial comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our house. The most important thing in our Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa is the staff, who provide our guests with friendly and helpful service, that this has contributed to an unforgettable stay. We would be very happy if you would like one of our offers. If there is a request to help you, we are at your disposal at any time. Best regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve L wrote a review Feb 2020
Doncaster, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our son had been to this hotel at the same time last year and recommended it to us as ideal for a family holiday. Our party was made up of 6 adults and two children aged 2 and 4. Our room was very nice but not much of a view from the balcony. The room was kept clean and well serviced on a daily basis. The food was good but in the main restaurant at peak times it was very noisy. The specialist restaurants we visited were very good in particular the Rancho Grill. If you wished for a quiet meal these or the barbecue are ideal. The facilities are very good, particularly the children's pools and slide pools but the entertainment is hit and miss. Plenty of bars for drinks some with their own entertainment. Taxis into St Maria are 3 or 4 euros and are readily available at the hotel. Lovely beaches but suggest you use the one in St Maria if you intend swimming as the hotel beach has a strong under tow. On the down side it took us 3hrs from landing to clear passport control and get our luggage and the hotel I feel is too big as it can be a 10 to 15 minute walk to get to some of the facilities depending on where you are on site. The culture of the island is very laid back so don't expect express service in bars and restaurants. St Maria is undergoing some development but is a pleasant experience and the people are generally very friendly. If one of the shop owners who can be very persistent tries to get you into his shop a polite no thank you usually does the trick.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear 350stevel, Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your valuable time to share your feedback with us and with fellow travellers online. It has been truly a pleasure having you as our guests and a pleasure to know that you have had a nice stay with us. We welcome each constructive feedback as they enable us to gain a clearer insight into how to adapt ourselves in order to meet the expectations and needs of our guests. We also thank you for the mention on the points that were not up to your standards, these will be taken into account for the continuous enhancement of our services. Thank you for your contribution, we are already looking forward to welcoming you as our guests again hopefully soon. Kind regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WaltC wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice room on the boulevard close to beach/restaurants/bars but peaceful. Staff at best indifferent on the whole, Jamier - Atlantis and Solancea - Aqua were smiley & helpful, unlike most others who bordered on being rude especially the bar staff at GABI. Staff on reception were particularly unhelpful if you had a query or concern. Towels were taken from room for laundry but not replaced had to ring reception twice to ask for some to be sent up and then waited a longtime for them. The restaurants were ok but booking them could be confusing. Beach and beds were lovely and the staff in the Beachcomber Bar were the friendliest. See the local guys on the beach if you want a trip 'Jason Nice Guy' arranged ours with guide 'Tropa' and both were good lads. The animation team work really hard both day & night The Lion King & Mamma Mia were really good fun. Long way from being 5* but adequate to enjoy the great weather
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Boulevard was good for location to restaurants & bars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, Gerente geral at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Ian C Thank you for choosing Melia Dunas for your much deserved holidays in the beautiful Ilha do Sal. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the time spent with us and we truly appreciate your words as knowing our guests feedback is the main way to improve the services offered and reach our goal: your total satisfaction. Making you feel like home while visiting us is the reason why we strive for our job daily. Rest assure all your comments has been shared with the departments involved. We do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Wishing you a great year, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe price wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at Melia Dunas on the 1st of January for a one week holiday. We didn’t realise how massive the resort was before arriving 4 different restaurants to chose from for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as the buffet. All the food was excellent!

Our favourite restaurant was ranchos. The waiter ‘Antonio’ was amazing from start to finish, very attentive and friendly! He’s a great asset to the hotel and made us feel so welcome, he would always stop and speak to us whenever he passed us in the resort! (Photo below of boyfriend and Antonio)

Also our favourite Bar man was ‘Elton’! Who worked at the bar directly on the beach! He would often offer us his own unique cocktails and one of them became our favourite which we ordered almost every night!

The rooms are very nice and modern! And are cleaned daily upon request as well as fresh towels. Our room was close to the pool as well as the beach, was the perfect location and had no problems finding sun beds during our stay like I have experienced in other hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear Chloeprice25, On behalf of all the staff at Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa, we would like to thank you very much for your extremely positive and cordial comments. We are exceptionally pleased that you have a relaxing holiday with us and with all our facilities, the service, the staff, as well as the gastronomy of our hotel were so satisfied and felt comfortable. We will, of course, forward your entry to all other departments - your praise is the greatest motivation for us to continue to ensure that our guests have nothing missing! It would be very nice to welcome you soon again as guests with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if you have any questions or requests, or would like to request an offer for a new holiday with us. Best regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahT9856DX wrote a review Feb 2020
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved my 7 night stay at this hotel. Was nervous after booking as had terrible reviews however this was definitely not the case. The hotel and grounds were clean, well kept and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. While the staff weren't overly chatty but this is down to lack of English. The staff still did a great job with attending to our every need. The Buffet and individual restaurants had a wide and varied choice but most importantly absolutely spotless. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear sarahT9856DX, Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your review with us. It has been truly a pleasure having you as our guests and we are very happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, as this is the aim towards which we strive for each day. Thank you for having recommended our hotel to prospective guests, we will look forward to the delight of welcoming you as our guests again hopefully soon. Kind regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danae363 wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a week relaxing in the sun and seemingly stuffing our faces with an over load of food. As usual we had read the reviews before we went and as usual we found many people had exagerrated their views. Apart from our first morning which was Christmas Day, when the staff in the Aqua restaurant weren't ready for us and showed by their manner they weren't, the rest of the staff were friendly, and very willing to help. i think the problem is that some guests seem to expect preferential treatment, as if they are better than others around them. The staff dealing closely with the guests spoke and understood English and were able to communicate well. Certainly we found several waiters in Mosaico buffet restaurant appreciated our humour. Is it a five star? Perhaps not to a European standard, but we found public areas clean, well decorated and certainly there was plenty of variety of food and plenty of it.
I do have a thumbs down to the room cleanliness on occasion. The towels were changed but you didn't always get the same quantity back. A few times we had to chase down the maid to get the correct towels back. One night I had to ring housekeeping at 10 p.m. as we hadn't got a top sheet. We needed to get the battery in the control for the AC replaced as we couldn't turn it off. What is needed and certainly it will be the first thing in my case when we rebook, is a mosquito spray for the room. Despite personal sprays my partner acquired arounf 30 bites, mostly overnight.
We stayed in the Boulevard area which in our opinion was the best positioned area. It was quiet by about 10 p.m and also in the mornings so we felt rested.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Near the Boulevard is best.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear danae363, Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your review with us. It has been truly a pleasure having you as our guests and we are very happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and that our food, the accommodation and the staff have all contributed to this positive perception as this is the aim towards which we strive for each day. We hope that you will return for another visit as we are already looking forward to welcoming you as our guests again hopefully soon. Kind regards, Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from RM loves to travel
Pontefract, United Kingdom82 contributions31 helpful votes
Hi I don’t think the pools are heated but you need the water cold as it’s very hot . Near the pier there is a shallow water without any slope . Don’t let negative reviews put you off .
Angela O asked a question Apr 2024
Worcester, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
Are there irons for use
Answer from Jamie
The Netherlands9 contributions1 helpful vote
I haven't seen any, but you might try reception.
Katie wrote a tip Jun 3
Durham, United Kingdom145 contributions63 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for rooms away from main buildings to avoid noise from bars or amphitheater."
Read full review
p4y4l wrote a tip Jun 1
Ashford, United Kingdom94 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beach is very windy. Take hair clips and beach towel clips. "
Read full review
RM loves to travel wrote a tip May 2024
Pontefract, United Kingdom82 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Taxi was £5 euros"
Read full review
Shelagh B wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't not let this experience put you off Cape Verde - it is wonderful as are the people. Just make sure hotel chosen has reserves of water"
Read full review
Jana K wrote a tip May 2024
29 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beginning of the season was fine, bit in case of full season I may get mad, as the resort is huge."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Maria area.
PRICE RANGE
C$202 - C$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Meliá Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
LOCATION
Cape VerdeIlha do SalSanta Maria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
528
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
Nearby attractions include Djunta Mo Art (2.8 km), Projeto Biodiversidade (2.5 km), and Praia de Santa Maria (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marea Italian Restaurant, Baraonda, and Ocean Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive have airport transportation?
Yes, Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Paroquia de Nossa Senhora das Dores (2.7 km) and Nazarene Church (2.7 km).
Does Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Santa Maria HotelsSanta Maria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Santa Maria
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars