We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Oasis Porto Grande

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Oasis Porto Grande
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Chelmsford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good quality hotel. We had B & b basis and breakfast was satisfactory. Located on main square in town so all restaurants and bars close by as are ATMs which take Visa and MasterCard. Room quite small but comfortable. Nice pool although had been hired out for kids party on one day of our stay so very noisy that day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 148keith
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel the city of Mindelo and Santo Antão Island. We still working to improve our products and services and we really appreciate your honest opinion. As you have seen, we are the most central hotel in the...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Perfect location in the main square. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food and drinks at the restaurant are well above the average in the country. There is no point to compare to other places in Mindelo, this is the only true hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigomm
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Rodrigomm, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. This encourages us to continue to give our best to serve our clients. We truly hope you can return one day! Kind Regards, General Manager.

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Great location, in the city center. Delicious breakfast. I liked the room, comfortable. Pool 5 stars. Delicious Dinner at the hotel with good music - live music capeverdea. friendly staff. i will back again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Décio B
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Décio B, Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. We truly hope you can return one day! Kind Regards, General Manager.

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Arrived on April 29 2016. On the 30 there was a dinner party with more than 100 people on the hotel terrace. No prior warning was given to guests and no alternative presented. The noise was so loud the walls were shaking. It only stopped at 3 am. We stayed with two young children. Unbelievable to find such disrespect to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PedroGSoares
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Mr. PedroGSoares, Although we had opportunity to talk to you directly at the hotel, we'd like, once again, to apologize for the less good experience you could have passed. In fact, that evening it was taking place at the terrace of the hotel a dinner hired by the association of teachers from the whole island, to commemorate teachers and...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Spent 8 nights here during a work trip. The Hotel is wonderfuly located right in the center within a walking distance to everywhere in Mindelo. Although some rooms still need an upgrade the place is nice and clean with a nice restaurant and bar open till late. Internet is poor but there are good options by the internet provider CV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPratas
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear JPratas Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our staff. We still working to improve our products and services and we really appreciate your honest opinion. Be sure that all aspects you mentioned will be taken into account. We sincerely hope you can...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We spent 3 nights there and although the situation looks good it is noisy.Our room overlooked the main square and on the first night there was a concert and on the second night an election celebration which meant we were unable to sleep. This is not a 4 star hotel and is very expensive for what it offers.The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank santpedor
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Santpedor, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We still working to improve our products and services and be sure that all aspects you mentioned will be taken into account. We sincerely hope that you can return one day to realize the improvements carried out. Best Regards, General Manager.

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We spent three nights here in two different rooms. The first room looked over a yard at the back, and was one of the old unimproved rooms. The second room overlooked the front, and was a better more modern room. The reception in this hotel was the best we had in the three hotels we stayed in on the Cape...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Andrew C Thank you very much for sharing your honest opinion. We will do our best to change the issues you mentioned and we still working to improve all our products and services. We truly hope you can return one day! Best Regards, General Manager.

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I stayed there for just 2 days in the beautiful city of Mindelo. And the hotel helps capture the colonial atmosphere of the city. It is a little old, but this was a comfortable stay (although very central, my room was fairly quiet). The hotel has a nice pool and gym and the staff was always helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmlousa
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Pmlousa, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the city of Mindelo. We still working to improve our products and services and we really appreciate your opinion. We sincerely hope you can return one day! Best Regards, General Manager.

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 21 November 2015

110euro per night for BandB didn't seem like very good value to me given that the bed was supremely uncomfrotable (my husband didn't sleep on the first night) and made a SUPER loud creaking noise every time you moved! The staff were helpful, friendly and understanding however and moved us to another room for the 2nd night. Location is great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear Emily L Thank you very much for sharing your honest opinion. We will do our best to change the issues you mentioned and we'd like to inform you that we still working to improve all our products and services. We truly hope you can return one day! Best Regards, General Manager.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Centrally located on the townsquare, but this hotell needs a lot of mordernisation. The first problem; no elevator and 4 loong staircases to the second floor. The pool was deep green when we arrived, and the next day it was closed due to maintenance. The locks on the doors are with keys and knobs. Ome of us got lobked out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 650KarinB
OasisAtlantico, Gerente geral at Hotel Oasis Porto Grande, responded to this review

Dear 650Karin B Thank you very much for sharing your honest opinion. We still working to improve our products and services and all aspects you mentioned will be taken into account. We sincerely hope that you can return one day to realize the improvements carried out. Best Regards, General Manager.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindelo
11.2 km away
Foya Branca Resort Hotel
13.7 km away
Residencial Goa
Residencial Goa
#1 of 13 in Mindelo
146 reviews
0.1 km away
Prassa 3 Boutique Hotel
Prassa 3 Boutique Hotel
#7 of 13 in Mindelo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Residencial Alto Fortim
Residencial Alto Fortim
#8 of 13 in Mindelo
61 reviews
0.2 km away
Don Paco Hotel
Don Paco Hotel
#6 of 13 in Mindelo
83 reviews
16.6 km away
Santantao Art Resort
Santantao Art Resort
#1 of 1 in Porto Novo
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 5 minutes away, by foot, from the main tourist attractions of the city - the Mindelo bay; the harbor neighborhood with its famous Belem Tower copy; the old Mindelo town, where one can feel the influence of the British presence in the XIX century - the guest can also from the hotel Oasis Atlantico Porto Grande start its journey towards the discovery of the several bars, cafes and restaurants that characterize this Capeverdian city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Porto Grande

Address: CP 103 - Praca Amilcar Cabral, Mindelo, Sao Vicente, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Sao Vicente > Mindelo
Price Range: $109 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oasis Porto Grande 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oasis Porto Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Atlantico Porto Grande Hotel Mindelo
Hotel Oasis Porto Grande Mindelo, Cape Verde - Sao Vicente
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Oasis Porto Grande staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Oasis Porto Grande staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“May have some noise from street if facing front of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 148keith, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room especially when there is live music”
 of 5 bubbles 6andrewc, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pool side rooms are much quieter, since the street ones are turned to a central square in Mindelo”
 of 5 bubbles pmlousa, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“test the bed!- ours was uncomfortable and really creaky!”
 of 5 bubbles 604emilyl, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Get a room facing the praca for views; get a room facing the back for quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 868alexanderf, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay