We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ngalawa Beach Village

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ngalawa Beach Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of Ngalawa Beach Village
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We are currently staying at this wonderful resort and stumbled upon the tripadvisor reviews of Chanel N and Lood Nagel. We feel oblidged to correct the misrepresentation made in these reviews. Firstly, the hospitality with which we are treated is unprecedented. We are seasoned travellers and have travelled to numerous countries and lived in many different hotels. Never have we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elivera D
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I work for a company that treats its employees exceptionally well. So I love finding other companies that do the same. Jo and Sadru have about 30 employees who are cared for physically and emotionally like family. That's enough said - but I won't stop there! We didn't have a single issue during our stay at Ngalawa Beach Village. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worldcitizens5
JoAnne T, General Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Jamboto our special ladies ! Thank you so much for your kind words and your review.. To say we enjoyed you sisters is an understatement .You found the perfect balance on your vacation. Although excursions is not our business as Hoteliers , it is a joy for us ,who love this Island to assist you in finding just want you...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I am someone who loves to travel, travels extensively, and this is definitely the worst resort I've ever stayed at... hoping that my writing of this review will help others to not make the same mistake. Firstly, when we arrived, the owner of the resort checked us in. That was the only time during our entire stay that anyone was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chanel N
JoAnne T, General Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings Chanel M from Ngalawa Beach Village ! We are always pleased to address concerns but false claims are always a concern. We are confident that as you say, you are well traveled, you certainly did your research. We are pleased to address your claims (Again): Considering we had very little conversation with you , rather much more with you're...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I must review this hotel because coming from Egypt I see huge huge hotels. This hotel is so mu h more for me. Reception , I am greeted very nicely by JoAnne Val and the information all I need is given to me . I am taken to the room by a maasai warrior .very nice experience. Rooms very big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fetouh B
JoAnne T, General Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greeting from Ngalawa Beach Village Mr. Fetouh : Thank you for choosing Ngalawa as your short stay vacation spot . Naturally we appreciate your kind words about our property and our staff, and that you went from pool ,to ocean ,even exploring our lovely village and local Mosque for prayers. I have passed on all compliments to the staff, as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Check out the definition of onomatopoeia ! and then check the word Ngalawa…. Now once you’ve done that … you’ve had 2 sense experiences ….but that still leaves you short of the 3 others you’d experience in this tucked away resort on the east coast of Unguja …..the main island of Zanzibar. Purely 40 minutes from stone town you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dara s
JoAnne T, General Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Dear Dara: Thank you for taking the time to compose such a poetic version of your stay with us . You certainly did your research and we are so pleased you found your utopia. You always had a good book in hand , learned the Bao game, and just became one with all of our staff enjoying chit chats with...

Cape Town,South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid for "ALL INCLUSIVE " BUT you pay for nothing. Mealtimes set and if missed, you go hungry. Owner ripping people of with excursions. You cannot swim in the sea at Ngalawa Beach Village(photos attached)smelly and full of sludge, absolutely NO entertainment. Bar closes at 9h30, so you are forced to go to bed. Owner Joanne is very rude to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LoodNagel
JoAnne T, Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings LoodNagel (your TA name) : Greetings from Ngalawa Beach Village ! We are pleased to address your claims : 1) You arrived in rainy season when tides are rough; Mother Nature does her own thing in Monsoon season. There is no false advertising ..as again it is so rainy and some days quite dark, it is our winter, things...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Arriving at Ngalawa, we pretty much expected the the norm - however the service, food and hospitality was exceptional. Thank you to Joanne, Sadru and Val as well as all the staff for making the week an exceptionally relaxing one and really surprising us with absolutely brilliant food at each meal time. Really exceptional! Many thanks Rudi & Bron

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rudib2
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from Ngalawa beach Village ! Thank you for choosing us ! what a great family you are ! Our staff loved serving you, always happy,and so much laughter! Exactly what a holiday is all about . We are always so pleased when the guests are so complimentary about our food especially , as this seems to make or break...

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I rated Ngalawa 4 out of 5 only because I think it was not quite as plush as a 5 rating would imply. Nevertheless, I loved it and would go back! Ngalawa's operations may be considered unique by some travelers. Guests should plan to pay cash only, and all extra expenses (excursions, beverages, sundries) are kept on a tab to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen C
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from beautiful Zanzibar Karen !! Thank you for you're kind words , and it was our pleasure to serve you and you're family. As always there are minor things that need to be attended , thank goodness none of you're wee issues affected you're amazing family time ! we are a 3 star rating although we appreciate you're thoughts...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Ngalawa Beach Village staff is first and foremost formidable, from the moment we arrived to when we left it was nothing short of a welcoming atmosphere helping friendships be made. The food is awesome, you will probably gain couple pounds but if you are on vacation enjoy it! They also have a set of trips for you to choose from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thibaut m
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greeting Thibault ! well to say the least we indeed miss youre contagious energy and inquisitive personality ! No need to worry about the extra kilos , you were on vacation and it is a huge compliment to our Chefs ! we agree with you're choice of top top choices of things to do, Safari Blue is the icing on...

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Ngalawa Beach Village is located on the east coast. The resort is ideal if you want to chill and relax, its really quite and peaceful. The rooms have what you need large and comfortable bed, rooms are kept clean and fresh daily. The food is basic (Sea food mainly) nothing to complain about. The staff and management are helpful generally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lerato091
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from Zanzibar ! Thank you for you're review..and choosing Ngalawa Beach Village Resort : During you're stay with us ,it seemed you were out plenty and missing some fantastic meals , perhaps the days you were in ,it may have been fish, but we have a very well balanced and creative menu of chicken lamb beef and fish. In...

277 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (78)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.2 km away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
237 reviews
6.4 km away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
8.7 km away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
24.8 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
552 reviews
10.4 km away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ngalawa Beach Village Resort is a very nice Resort of 20 suites all with sea view and beach. The resort is located on the east coast of Zanzibar and overlooks the picturesque Chwaka Bay. All suites have a stunning view of the Indian Ocean from private porch and are very tastefully decorated with an eye for local and cultural theme in mind. The landscaping is professionally designed and the Resort is well lit in the evenings. All suites have attached bathrooms,bathroom towels and pool towels, air condition unit, fan, a desk, a safety deposit box, a kettle for tea or coffee, a full size 6ft by 6ft bed, mosquito net, a mini bar fridge, a day bed, hair driers and two Zanzibari style chairs in the balcony with ocean view. The Resort has a strategically located Swimming Pool with a wrap around pool deck, made from the finest Tanga Stones. Overlooking the Indian Ocean, there is a private sunbathing area and there is a path that leads to "Lily's Beach Bar" located on the Jetty. Bars & Restaurants The Dining room offers a friendly, casual atmosphere, good service and a fully equipped Bar. A very good selection of music to add to the ambiance. Occasional live performers. The main Dining Room also offers Special Menu for intimate private tables in a reserved area. Pool Side dining on special occasions. The Resort has a full service kitchen offering a la carte menu or buffets as planned by the Chef. The menu is prepared with fusion of spices, the cultural cuisines, and abundance of Sea Food in mind, also vegetarian or special requests. Fresh fruits in season and a variety of desserts. A visit to our Coconut Spa is a special time put aside for you to rejuvenate your senses. Choose from variety of massage products for your indulgence. Retreat to the cool shade of swaying palm trees or gently swing on the hammock with a good book. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngalawa Beach Village

Address: Chwaka Bay (East Coast) | Chwaka Bay, East Coast, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ngalawa Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngalawa Beach Village Hotel Zanzibar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngalawa Beach Village staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ngalawa Beach Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are all quiet”
lerato091, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want to just go away and have a relaxing holiday next to the pool - this is it!”
Violetvz, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
2 of 2
No availability for your dates from these sites
Jumia Travel
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates