We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Detective Hotel

Traveller (266)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (10)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Mystery of the hotel The chairs were comfortable well be the most welcoming host, a vague apprehension pincer visitors who took the risk to book a room at Hotel Detective . Dim light , dark corridors and creaking floors . Wall , a steel plate shredded shot rocket launcher sets the tone in a setting worthy of a film noir. The country of Arsene Lupin , the ghosts lurking . Miss Marple and Sherlock Holmes Charlie 's Angels Ladies, all the great names of literature the crime series have left here trace of their passage and even hidden in some room some bumps and smaller surveys that must be resolved before you can rest soundly . So open the eye and play finesse ! And needless to slip away , the handcuffs are never far away and the boss is an old fingerprint expert of the Institute of Criminal Research of the National Gendarmerie . Credit text Seine-Maritime Mag # 86 .
Read more
Property amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Public Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
91Great for walkers
Grade: 91 out of 100
49Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
19Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
504Reviews
291Photos
8Q+A
8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 224
  • 61
  • 24
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We were only in Etretat overnight but enjoyed our stay at the Detective. We had the Miss Marple room which was charmingly decorated albeit small. The concierge (she may be the owner, not sure) insisted on carrying my suitcase up the two flights of stairs which was above and beyon
Read more
What sounds like a quirky idea has morphed into an aged, dirty and ineffective concept.

The smell on arrival was musty and dirty, the decor was old and any effort put into the effect has long since faded.

We paid for a ‘character’ room which amounted to 3 facsimile posters on
Read more
Response from Caroline C, Gérant at Detective Hotel
Responded Jun. 23, 2018
Dear Karen, We strive constantly to improve our services and the service we offer to our customers but we can understand that our establishment was not at your convenience. We were at your disposal to bring you full satisfaction during your stay. Also why did not you come to the reception to inform us of the gene encountered in the smell in order to find solutions to remedy it, and repair the lighting that broke down just before your arrival and after having done the room: it can happen! Please be assured that we always pay special attention to the comfort and satisfaction of our guests, if they give us a verbal voice to find solutions quickly to make the most of their stay in our hotel. Cordially.
Read more
+2
I just loved this hotel because it's very unique, our room called Miss Marple, it was very cute room with secret door to the toilet. The bed was very comfortable! Within walking distant to the beach and all the restaurants!
Read more
I wish that we stayed in Etretat and at Detective Hotel for longer than one night. This place was comfortable and quirky. The staff upgraded us to their biggest room and it had a gorgeous view of the little town. We found an old record player in the wardrobe with a huge selection
Read more
The hotel is very nice. It's not really modern but not old at all. There is a good détective decoration in the bedroom and the commun areas. The breakfeast was very nice. I'm quite difficule about the bathroom but it was very clean. People are very nice. The price is a little hig
Read more
Previous
1234569
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementDetective Hotel
Chambre HERCULE POIROT
La vue
Possibilité d'un grand lit king size ou de 2 lits de 90
vue sur la librairie pour une amoureuse des livres c'est sympa
Previous
Are the bunk beds in the CSI room large enough for an adult to sleep in? (ie are they the size of a normal twin/ single bed?)
Sorry, I cannot answer this question. I was not there with children to use the bunk beds. Saw no bunk beds.
-1 votes
フロントに人はいますか?
Bonjour, Nous venons la semaine prochaine du 03 au 04 et nous avons vu sur certains que vous mettez à disponibilité une "carte parking". Quelles sont les modalités et est ce toujours possible de l'acquérir pour ces 2j. Bien cordialement...
Bonjour, Malheureusement, la municipalité ne nous autorise plus à donner ce genre de badge gratuit. Des places sont disponibles une demie-heure gratuitement devant l'hôtel afin de déposer vos baguages, ensuite nous vous indiquons le parking le moins cher à 150 mètres de l'hôtel. Cordialement, Noël
0 votes
Show all answers
Bonjour prenez vous les chèques vacances merci bonne journée
Bonjour, Oui, nous acceptons le règlement par chèques vacances. Cordialement. Caroline Chambellan
0 votes
Show all answers
Bonsoir, Les chambres ont-elles une salle de bain privative svp ?
Oui les chambres ont toutes une salle de bain et des toilettes
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
12
"columbo is a quiet room and front of the seaside"
"Room tip: Make sure your room is in a hotel other than this one."
"Each room has its own theme dedicated to a detective - if you have a favourite detective, just check with the hotel."
"There are vatied types of rooms. The "Sherlock Holmes" room has a funny secret door to the toilet and a very good queen bed."
"The supermarket is just around the corner and the boloungerie over the road."
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNormandyHaute-NormandieSeine-MaritimeEtretat
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing