San Giorgio Hotel

San Giorgio Hotel

The blue door before the hotel
Traveller (134)
Superior triple room
Room & Suite (95)
Exterior pool of superior/deluxe rooms
Pool & Beach (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 42 guest houses in Fira
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
San Giorgio is a newly renovated family owned hotel consisting of two buildings in the heart of Fira town that combines a friendly atmosphere and a great location to jump start your holiday, situated in a cobbled road 100 metres from Fira’s centre. Close to the property you can find restaurants, coffee shops and in just 5 minutes by walking you can get to the central bus station and the famous Caldera. There is a small swimming pool on the property located on the second building and also a sun terrace with sun loungers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Car hire
Sun terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Greek

Location

Main Street, Fira 84700 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Santorini Airport
Naxos Airport
505Reviews9Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 329
  • 135
  • 34
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
s_chen2 wrote a review Jul 2021
Chicago, Illinois44 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
San Giorgio has large modern rooms that were also cleaned every night. A short 1 minute from the hotel there was also a private pool guests could lounge in. The hotel is located in a great location as it is only about a 2 minute walk from the center of Fira and a 5 minute walk from the bus station that will take you all around Santorini. I would recommend staying in Fira as I did because all buses lead back to Fira. If you were to stay in Oia, you would have to take a bus to Fira and hop onto a different bus to get to another location. The buses were about every hour as well so if we missed one it was easy to catch another. If this schedule is unsuitable the taxi station is also located in the same area.

The service here was exceptional. When my friends and I arrived at the hotel, our hotel concierge provided points of interest and where to catch the best food and sunsets in Santorini where we could avoid the crowds and other points of interest as well as how we could get transportation if the destination were further.

We felt very safe here as COVID precautions were taken with all the employees wearing face masks and glass separators at the desks.

Additionally the hotel coordinated our transportation from the boat port and to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asirven wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel with our children and some friends and we had a lovely stay.
The rooms are nicely decorated and clean and the staff is friendly.
The hotel also has a good location in Firà as it’s a very short walking distance to the centre but it’s in a quiet side street.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
d d wrote a review Aug 2020
Paris, France140 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
the room and common areas are very lean and elegantly decorated with modern sparse design, very good aesthetic choices, not you traditional greek hotel.
wifi works good and it's free off course, the rooms are very well equipped and comfortable.
note that the pool (and nice and tiny pool area) are located i an adjacent building not the main one. there's a lovely roof terrace there.
the personnel is truly 5 star, and the free pickup at the airport is a plus.
overall, great service, extremely kind and professional, perfect location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SarahA wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A terrible experience. This hotel failed to disclose the Greek government’s covid policy on hotel cancellations and proceeded to violate the terms of our reservation agreement by charging 100% of the reservation fee before we arrived, using a different method of payment than we agreed to, without informing us, and refusing to provide a receipt for the transaction. The situation was handled extremely unprofessionally.

The hotel is in a terrible location, tucked behind a parking lot, offering views of the walls of adjacent buildings. The rooms are basic, the beds are uncomfortable, and the hotel has no atmosphere whatsoever. There are dozens of hotels nearby. If I’m ever back in Santorini I will definitely look for someplace else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from George Kavallaris, Owner at San Giorgio Hotel
Responded Sep 12, 2020
Thank you for your review and we are sorry if your stay with us was unpleasant. Obviously this is an upset review because we didn't agree to your cancellation request 3 day prior to arrival (there was not lockdown or travel restrictions from your country to Santorini and there were daily flights) and that is the reason why you got charged in advace (it is mentioned that we have the right to do it since the free cancellation period is up to 14 days prior to arrival) and we never refused to provide you a receipt since you got it on your check out date. Everything you mention as negatives in your comment like our location, our rooms and beds, our atmosphere etc are mentioned as positives on over 400+ reviews so i think most people can see what this review is about. I am sorry that you find it okay to try canceling a reservation 3 days before arrival and threatening us that you will leave a bad review if we don't but we don't. I think people can tell if this review is accurate or just lies of an angry person, I wish you all the best and most importantly stay healthy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rkwok68 wrote a review Sep 2023
Phoenix, Arizona709 contributions110 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Like many “hotels” in Santorini, which is primarily supported by tourism, it’s a multi-story residential building in central Fira converted into 7 rooms across 2 floors (and a rooftop terrace on the third floor)

What we liked: central location, 1 block from the center of Fira. Friendly, efficient check in and check out (was prepaid). We had a small terrace but it just looked into the back alley.

What we didn’t like: we had a rental car for all three days. Finding parking was actually not easy. We parked in the parking lot about 500M from the hotel. It was not a fun walk up hill with tons of tourists. The hotel is not easy to locate as it’s through some back alleys.
What was in the room. The tub was gigantic. It was so big it almost didn’t make sense. 6 people could soak in it. And on the third night, when it seemed like several parties had checked in, the water pressure and hot water in the shower ran low in the evening. So I question whether filling up the gigantic tub was really realistic. Seems like something to advertise and differentiate but impractical.
No amenities. No breakfast, pool, or view.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. After reacquainting myself with Fira (I was last here 20 years ago), I have concluded there are much better options for 200 euros a night. Places that either have parking on property or have an actual view or have a pool and other amenities on site.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The closest parking lot is about 100M from the hotel, but that lot fills up QUICKLY with locals....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monique O wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a fabulous time thanks to Nick and his team. It was easy to leave our bags, our room was ready early, they gave us tips on the island and were nothing but welcoming! The pool is great but get in early as it does full up quick. They give you separate pool towels compared to your normal shower towels which was also a great bonus in our eyes.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Try and get your transfer to get as close as the can to the hotel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JJJourneys wrote a review Oct 2023
Singapore, Singapore2,508 contributions267 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed that this pleasant accommodation for three nights in Santorini, in room 205, located in the other building of the hotel. This other building is located round the corner of the main building, and features an outdoor pool area where you can swim and relax. My room was a double room. It did not come with a balcony, but did have a table right outside near the pool area reminiscent of the oft-instagrammed Greek outdoors you usually find on the streets, which I found to be really lovely. Room came with a large bottle of water (not refilled), and a cosy rain shower. The shower tended to flood the bathroom quite often, which was just about the only gripe I had with the room. Other than that, I found my room to be very comfortable and homely. The hotel staff were also really friendly and helpful, they provided me with a map and a nice comprehensive introduction of the island when I checked-in at the hotel, giving suggestions on where/what to see and eat. There are no meal options for this hotel, so you will have to source for breakfast on your own. Fret not, there are many food options nearby since the hotel is quite conveniently located near the Fira main food belt. There is a 24/7 bakery located just up the slope of the hotel, and there is also a grocery mart nearby to find water and other supplies. I also only realised much later on that the accommodation offered complimentary transfer services from port/airport, so do write in to the staff early on to check and arrange the transfer services. While the bus station was very close by (7 min walk), dragging the luggage across the cobbled streets, and up/down the slopes of Fira was not that fun to be honest.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jill W wrote a review Oct 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After arriving in Santorini and finding our hotel we had booked and paid for was absolutely nothing like the images, we searched for a very last minute room to stay in.
We landed upon San Giorgio.
On arrival the owners were very friendly and happy to show us their available rooms before taking payment.
The room was very clean and modern with a lovely balcony.
The staff were very helpful and made lots of suggestions for us to enjoy Santorini.
We even got a private transfer back to the airport .
Thank you for a lovely stay on your beautiful island
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
azerqsdf wrote a review Nov 2023
Nice, France9 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am delighted to have spent my holidays in the SAN GIORGIO hotel in Santorini. I recommend it with my eyes closed!

Frankly for a 3 star I was pleasantly surprised!

The room was exceptional, always very clean and very pretty.

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. I especially want to thank Danaë to the welcome who was incredibly kind and who gave me a lot of advice for activities, restaurants, bars and so on.

It is sure that the next time I come to Santorini I will return to this wonderful hotel with a very good value for money and which in addition is extremely well located in the middle of the city, 5 minutes from the bus station to get everywhere on the island.

Another big thank you to you!

Océane
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LaurenP wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Angelo and the rest of the San Giorgio Team were fantastic and nothing was too much to ask! We recently stayed with our family to celebrate our wedding in Santorini. They went above and beyond to make sure everyone was well looked after throughout our stay. We also originally booked during the pandemic and even though our dates and guests numbers kept changing, they we're fully accommodating and never made us feel stressed!
I'm sure we will all be back in the future!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
trvlngirlaz asked a question Jul 2016
Phoenix, Arizona32 contributions5 helpful votes
Is there a hair dryer available?
Answer from Lalit G
Barbados21 contributions40 helpful votes
Yep!
Nikki S asked a question Jul 2016
How far is the beach
Answer from TasySalpa
Athens, Greece3 contributions1 helpful vote
Nikki, the bus depot is about no more tan 5 minutes from hotel. From there you can travel to every part of the island. its very easy and the buses come between 15 mins and 30 mins depending on the dates you are there. In July and august they come more often. :)
YBrennan asked a question May 2016
Dublin, Ireland27 contributions15 helpful votes
Is there breakfast available in the hotel?
Winifred68 wrote a tip Sep 2023
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom33 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hairdryer was the best one I’ve ever used in a hotel."
Read full review
Rkwok68 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Phoenix, Arizona709 contributions110 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The closest parking lot is about 100M from the hotel, but that lot fills up QUICKLY with locals. Otherwise it’s a far walk."
Read full review
Monique O wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and get your transfer to get as close as the can to the hotel!"
Read full review
TaffTraveller28 wrote a tip Nov 2022
Rolleston, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Staff recommendations for places to eat and local walks etc are worth taking note of. They know the area so makes sense"
Read full review
Jennifer J wrote a tip Jun 2022
Maryland47 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room not on the first floor. It offers more privacy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fira area.
PRICE RANGE
C$127 - C$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san giorgio villa hotel fira
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanCycladesSantoriniFira
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

San Giorgio Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about San Giorgio Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to San Giorgio Hotel?
Nearby attractions include STOA SANTORINI (0.04 km), PK Cocktail Bar (0.1 km), and The White Door Theatro (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at San Giorgio Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at San Giorgio Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to San Giorgio Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tholoto Brunch & Restaurant, Falafeland, and Salt & Pepper.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Giorgio Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does San Giorgio Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, San Giorgio Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Giorgio Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to San Giorgio Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Castle of St Nicholas (7.1 km), Ancient Thera (7.3 km), and Windmills of Emporio (7.4 km).
All Fira HotelsFira Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FiraHotels near San Giorgio Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars