We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Danford's Hotel & Marina

TripAdvisorUS$199*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$269*
US$199*
US$269*
US$269*
US$199*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Danford\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 450: English reviews
Start your review of Danford's Hotel & Marina
 Click to rate
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Sadly had to wait from 1230 p.m. right up to the 4 p.m. check in for a room. Friends we were with came right in and got rooms as did many others. We booked on hotels.com . I assume that put us to the end of the line. Would have patronized bar and restaurant but chose to spend it elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbllfield1
Tel-Aviv
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location on the marina is beautiful but the room I got was on street and very noisy. I requested to change rooms and indeed got a more quiet room. The main problem was the service at the reception upon departure I requested the receptionist to call a taxi when I still had 25 min before the train leaves while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tsaffy
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a reservation for sixteen people booked well in advance. One person in our party had recent surgery/on crutches and was unable to climb steps. We called in advance and were told the brunch was on the second floor, but they had a working elevator. Upon arrival, this was NOT the case! They don't have an elevator and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 61ab28
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear 61ab28, I thank you for choosing Danfords for your Mother's Day celebration and apologize that we could not meet your needs that day. As you stated, the brunch seating you reserved and confirmed with our staff was on the 2nd floor. We had your table all set up in the South Porch with a great view of Port Jefferson's...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent one evening here in May. The location is wonderful. Walk to the old town and right on the water. Everything is reasonably nice, but you can tell it is a 1950s or 60s building. The staff was helpful and nice. A little surprised it did not have a bath. There is a spa on the property for massage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VNORVI
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear VINORVI, Thank you for being our guest and for the great review. We love the hotel and location in the village too. It is a great place to be! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Michael Bonawandt General Manager

Sound Beach, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Facility could use a little updating but there is no lack of services and location is best in mid-Suffolk county and North shore of LI. Town of Port Jefferson is charming and puts much within walking distance. Everything's a la carte. Not the best family spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear John G., Thank you for being our guest and for your great review. You may have noticed that we are at the tail end of a multi million dollar renovation of all of our public spaces, food and beverage outlets, and banquet facilities. It holds a special place in the Village of Port Jefferson and we are glad you...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel does NOT deserve the price tag it comes with. I booked a bi-level junior suite for a pricey $280 per night and this is what I received: * A shower that ran freezing then scalding while you were trying to use it * An air-conditioner that made such a horrendous noise when it was switched on that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krinkles28
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Krinkles28, Thank you for being our guest and I apologize for the maintance issues you encountered in room. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know. We did have those items serviced so another guest does not experience the same challenges you did. The building that you stayed in dates back to the 1800's and the bi-level...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room on the water but instead are in an old building a block and a half from the water. We are on the third floor and there is no elevator. We were charged for parking but there are no spots available. The staff is clueless. Avoid this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Karen D., Thank you for being our guest. Upon reviewing your reservation you booked a Village View King room. The room you stayed in the night in is in our Jetty building and has a view of the Port Jefferson Village. While we do have many rooms that overlook the Harbor, this is not what you reserved. Since you...

Holbrook, New York
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Had brunch there today. $300/4 people with tip. Wait staff was uninterested, slow & didn't appear to want to be there. Price appeared to have been raised for Easter. Food, was at best, adequate. Have never been to Sunday brunch were a Bloody Mary or Mimosa were not part of the fixed price. Will not go there again. Supper Inn,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Michael W., I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your Easter Brunch at Wave Seafood Kitchen. This is not the normal feedback we get from our Holiday guests that book with us year over year. I will be sure to share your concerns with our food and beverage team as your feedback is important to us....

EDGEWATER
Reviewed 5 April 2017

The location is beautiful, the parking is terrible especially since we had to move the car a couple of times. However you can purchase a parking tag which helped some. We requested an early check-in. Didn't happen, but they had 5 weddings over the same weekend so it was very busy. Ate in the dining room, spectacular view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARY M
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Mary M., Thank you for being our guest and for the review. We are glad you had a great weekend. With the historic nature of our hotel and the 7 buildings that make up Danfords, some of our rooms are walk up. We are in the middle of installing a second elevator to help our guests and give them...

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Having been residents of Long Island in the late 90's/early 2000's, my family ate regularly at Danfords so we decided to stay there this week on a three night trip down memory lane. It is also worth noting that I stay at hotels over 150 nights a year and have never given a negative TA review. Danfords is beautifully situated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve D

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
29.4 km away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
508 reviews
7.4 km away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
17.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
736 reviews
38.1 km away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
WAVE Seafood Kitchen
WAVE Seafood Kitchen
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Address: 25 E Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-1259
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Price Range: $224 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Danford's Hotel & Marina staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Danford's Hotel & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room that faces the sea rather than the street”
Tsaffy, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for a room with a view of the sound.”
480MARYM, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms farthest from the lobby are quieter.”
bokalil, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“During winter months you may want to stay lower rooms, you do get quite the breeze.”
pjr421, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great view from the E building and especially the junior suite. E building also tends to be quieter as are upstairs rooms.”
  • This is a view of the town at night. Looking the other way, we also had a view of the water.
B925VTlisat, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$199* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$269
Danfords HotelUS$199
TravelocityUS$269
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates