We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We recently stayed at the Red Roof Inn Poughkeepsie for my son's AAU basketball tournament at Vassar College. It was awful. We had NO hot water, no TV remote, and the phone was not plugged into the wall. The hallway was filthy and the place was clearly in the midst of a renovation. There were construction materials around the dust...

Thank MichaelB06032
Christel L, Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

We would like to sincerely apologize about your recent experience at our hotel. We had originally anticipated being fully remodeled prior to your group's arrival, however we did experience some construction delays, and one section of the hallway unfortunately was not completed by the time of your arrival. All guest rooms were, however, newly furnished and remodeled, complete with new...

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

I think we're in a renovated room,but the door jams on the uneven tile floor walking in the room. Small tv and the tv center has wires everywhere,looks temporary because there is a space on the wall for a tv. The shower tile is cracked. Looks like they put lipstick on an old hourly hotel. No snack box upon arrival....

Thank briwarr
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

I recently just stayed here this past weekend with my sons AAU Basketball team. There were about forty of us on this stay. In the room I stayed in, had a huge flood when I woke up the next morning, in the bathroom. The refrigerator was old and rusted. There was no way I would put food in it. There...

3Thank Unsatisfied10
Aurora, NY
Reviewed 31 May 2015

This property has just been completely renovated and is under new management. It is clean and fresh so it is good choice for a cheaper overnight stay. That said it is oddly decorated and there are still some unfinished parts- our tv wasn't really completely set up and installed. The front desk agent was very helpful: he called shortly after...

Thank Alplausrobin
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel was very nice! The room was a great size beautiful view of the hotel Hampton's Inn outside your window and route 9.The breakfast consist of 3 juices oatmeal 3 kinds of cereal milk desserts hot cocoa coffee and tea.The people at the desk was very nice and the bed was very comfortable! Unfortunately the price was a little...

Thank MotherLove14
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were stayed here few times cause the Mercury Grand was shut down cause of hazardous!Cloud 9 was a lot better and then we checked out and to come back a few days later! The room was clean the bed was comfortable but the bathroom was the only problem even though it was clean $ I couldn't...

Thank MotherLove14
harrisburg, pa
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Clean and comfortable rooms. Looks all done new. Good staff. Strongly recommend to anyone. Glad I selected this hotel for Stay in Poughkeepsie. Room rate was better than all in Poughkeepsie. Right on Route 9.

1Thank Leroy S
White Plains, New York
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I had stayed here a few times before, when it as a super 8, not sure if it's still part of that family. It was at least clean and close to the events we had in the Poughkeepsie area. Considered sleeping in my car when i came to check in and they said the non smoking room i reserved was...

2Thank SurfGirl816
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 28 September 2014

I booked two rooms weeks before my visit to the area. As I was going to get there late that day, I called that evening, confirmed my two rooms (clerk: "Got your rooms right here). I told them I'd be there around 10:30, and I didn't want them to think I wasn't going to show just because I would be...

1Thank Scott R
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Only had to stay for one night as not much else available on a Saturday night. Mold around the room, musty smell, torn wallpaper, old bedspread,stained linens. Basically just a little better then your car or camping. Bathroom and shower okay. Breakfast a selection of package food except for cereal. Front desk staff was nice. Only stay here if no...

1Thank slicause

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (11)
View from Room (5)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (34)
Room/Suite (16)
Bathroom (6)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (3)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
5.6 km away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
1.4 km away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
264 reviews
2.3 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof PLUS+ Poughkeepsie is Non-Smoking, pet friendly and located off of Route 9. We offer flat screen TVs and free WiFi in all rooms. We are located in the historic Hudson Valley near the Franklin D. Roosevelt Museum & Library, Vassar College, and Walkway over the Hudson State Historic Park. Whether traveling for business or pleasure we are close to everything the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie

Address: 2349 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585 (Formerly Cloud 9 Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $119 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Super 8
Poughkeepsie Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another place”
 of 5 bubbles PrestigeFL, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go with at less a 4 star hotel”
 of 5 bubbles maychin623, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor only”
 of 5 bubbles babriatis, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You can hear people walking around upstairs, so go for a second floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles riverpdx, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This hotel does not have an elevator. Please call ahead if you need a lower level room.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesj113, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5