We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fountain View Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fountain View Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fountain View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Room was old and musty smelling! No heat. Hot water was verrry slow and then didn't last but 2 mins. The guy running the place was very unfriendly. Worst motel experience ever! Would never stay here again. Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry S
FountainView1, Owner at Fountain View Motel, responded to this review

Regarding the condition of the room, this guest inspected it thoroughly before checking-in and found no problem with it. This was during our "shoulder season" and if he preferred a different room or just wanted to stay elsewhere, no worries. He wanted to stay and took that room. If you have any problems, lose your key, trip the circuit breaker,...

Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

This is an ideal place to stay if you're going to visit Cooperstown. It has a nice size room, fridge, and microwave. I also appreciated the $.60 sodas provided in the fridge as needed. I rated the full five stars because I inadvertently left my treasured white noise machine behind and Ed kindly returned it to me in just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGirrrl
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We have had many satisfying visits to this motel over the years-clean rooms, comfy beds, great value. Sitting on the porch in the evening and watching the storm move through, or watching the day break in the morning just adds to our relaxation. The proprietor is always so accommodating to us: "May we come early just to drop off our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bea N
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 31 July 2015

While planning a quick overnight road trip in the summer in the Cooperstown area, many boutique motels and chain hotels are extremely pricy during the tourist season. Fountain View Motel is just a short, 20-minute drive to downtown Cooperstown and the price was just right. The outside is cute, rooms are a bit outdated --but it's cozy and fun for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor R
Lake George, New York
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

My first impression was the man checking us in had no personality...contrary to other reviews posted here. The fountain across the street no longer looks like a fountain, the water gushed from the side. Our room was clean, the bathroom had been updated. The mattress was dreadfully uncomfortable. The wireless was spotty.so, having said all that, for 1 night it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank juri62
Parsippany, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 July 2015

My wife and I, while looking for a place to stay while we were visiting Cooperstown, NY. discovered this location on TripAdvisor. This is a 16 room, 60's/70's era motel that is dated but the price for the stay was very reasonable. It is very clean and the rooms are a great size. The 60Cent sodas in the in-room fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans h
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 13 July 2015

When ever I am back in Richfield Springs area and there is space available I like staying at this place. Its a classic place to stay, good sized rooms, and a very friendly owner and operator. Ed is very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Palaina_Makaio
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Years ago I would drive by the Fountain View at night and see the fountain with colored lights and the artifical swans and ask my father if we could stay there sometime. It looked so beautiful and peaceful. I have had the opportunity to stay many times since and find it a wonderful reminder of past days - even the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank preceptjackie78
Saint James, New York
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed at The Fountain View Motel a few times. My mother in law had a summer camp in Richfield Springs for about 20 years. I love the area and since her place was sold I have used The Fountain View when visiting the area a couple of times. The room was large and dated. It was also very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike K
Manlius, NY
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place is a classic "motor-court" style of motel and on a recent summer visit it was just perfect. We needed a "base camp" for exploring Cooperstown and Sharon Springs and with its location perched on the eastern Route 20 hip of Richfield Springs, across from the town's eponymous water supply, this exactly fit the bill. Our room was spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kinnakeeto

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
2.5 km away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#2 of 4 in Richfield Springs
151 reviews
22.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
22.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Village Motel
The Village Motel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
37 reviews
1.5 km away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
36 reviews
8.1 km away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Fountain View Motel

Address: 3607 US 20, Richfield Springs, NY 13439
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Price Range: $87 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fountain View Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Buffalo, New York, United States
over a year ago
Buffalo, New York, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Fountain View Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specifically ask whether an animal is in the room next to you otherwise you just may have one.”
  • Mold in bathroom
  • Floorboards could afford replacing
  • Room at about 6 AM. The shades allow too much light into the room!
 of 5 bubbles Slc498, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good, and all share the same view.”
 of 5 bubbles kinnakeeto, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Room 12 is good.”
 of 5 bubbles flhcle, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
“End rooms are quieter, but never been crowded.”
 of 5 bubbles R4710KDstevec, 9 Jul 2014 | Read review
4 of 4