We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lake House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lake House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was happily surprised when I arrived to see a lovingly restored building instead of a one size fits all hotel. We enjoyed a great dinner at the restaurant, met the chef and the owners and had a comfortable night sleep. The breakfast in the morning was good and the owner was there to greet us, too. I will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keri f
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know that you had a good time. Please come again!

Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you are a baseball family coming to Cooperstown, consider any and every other option before booking at The Lake House. Maybe if you are single and like to crash at a night spot near the lake, this could be appealing. But for us, it was a bad experience start to finish. The room was essentially a part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank John P
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

We are sorry that this guest was not happy with his room. As he promised, if we did not give him a refund, he would write a bad review and he has. I think his main complaint was that he was not with other families on his team and wanted to be closer to them and wanted a refund. This...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I guess this place stays open because there is no where else to stay. Its not at the lake, its not a house. Its "charming and quaint" which means the rooms are small and old. I guess it used to be an old boarding house. We reserved a room with two queen beds. We got two rooms with a connecting...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Brianf0507
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that Brian was not happy with his room. Here in the northeast, rooms in historic places are not large because the era of the large bedroom is a relatively new phenomenon. The rooms are standard size and the bathrooms are new. In fact, this room has two queen beds with a bathroom- it has more privacy...

Jamestown, New York
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We reserved two rooms at the Lake House with the above address. When we arrived they informed us we were at their other "hotel". We were about a mile away with no lake in sight! No warning or indication that we were not at the Lake House! Very small rooms. Clean and newly renovated, but no hotel services. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Violinina
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

We do own two properties and there are rooms at both. We are very careful when people book to caution them if they will not be at the lake. I am sorry that this guest did not understand where their room was located. I am glad that they found the rooms clean and newly renovated. There also is a 24/7...

New York
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel and Hotels.com are guilty of false advertising and possibly fraud. Hotels.com clearly advertises "Free cancellation" for a reservation at The Lake House. But one day after making the reservation, when I tried to change dates, they charged my credit card 50% of the total cost - $377! This was two weeks before we were supposed to stay there!...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Welltravelledvisitor
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

There is not a free cancellation nor do we offer one- it is clearly stated on the website and on Expedia. Like a concert ticket, airline reservation or reservation at many other places, a cancellation costs both the guest and the owner and generally is not refundable. The guest, in our case, can reschedule for another time more convenient to...

Utica, New York
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were referred to the Hotel from a family that stayed in June. From the moment we entered to when we departed 4 days later it was a delight. Our room had two queen beds and a twin that were clean and the room spotless. Breakfast was included free of charge and was excellant. The room with breakfast was $175/night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carl s
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Thanks, Carl, we look forward to your next visit.

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our first night here and the food was great! Our waitress Kathy Belfance was AWESOME! She helped select the absolute best dish and REALLY knew her stuff! Friendly, helpful full of life and smiles! We loved it SO much we are going back tomorrow for more!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tlynn99895
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Kathy is an excellent waitress and like much of our staff has worked here for a number of years. We hope you will visit us again. Be sure to ask for Kathy- she will take care of your every need; she always provides excellent service with a smile.

Cooperstown, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Couldn't have had a better dinner anywhere! Thanks to Chef Mike and Owner Chris for a wonderful dinner and beautiful evening on the lake. Dinner was five stars, the setting was gorgeous and the overall evening was perfect. Thank you to all at the Lake House!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catwoman13439
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

We are fortunate to have Executive Chef Michael Gregory at the Lake House. His meals have kicked the cuisine up to another level. He uses local products for many of his dishes and always purchases the freshest ingredients for his culinary creations. Please join us again soon.

Blue Point, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Rustic without the charm. Stayed on second floor in a very small room. Very old mattress and a/c unit. So dark you can not see in bathroom. Dead rat on dock to lake and goose poop every where on grass. Drive to Cooperstown Dream Park is 25 minutes away. Trap is that owner charges half your stay on your credit...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank K S
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I am sorry that this guest was disappointed. We do our best to make everyone happy. Older buildings do not have large bedrooms in general. It was just renovated in 2011 with all new mattresses and A/C units. Dean, who is in charge of the ground and told me that he has never seen a rat outside and as for...

Springfield Center, New York
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wavey Glass on the original windows to the parquet wood floors, this grand hotel has survived since the early 1800s. Hotel is walking distance to downtown restaurants, library, large village park and antque shops. Our family stayed during the 4th of July week.We loved the girls that ran the hotel. The free breakfast was a treat with 6 in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
20.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
15.4 km away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
275 reviews
15.7 km away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#4 of 16 in Cooperstown
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
35 reviews
8.4 km away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
349 reviews
9.7 km away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lake House is a charming and historic inn located on the shores of Canadarago Lake, 15 minutes from Cooperstown. Resembling the Great Camps of the Adirondacks, it is a relaxing place for lunch/dinner on the lake and to stay while in Baseball Country. Consider the Lake House for a family reunion, corporate retreat or romantic vacation. Also available is a private lakeside cottage with dock space. Great fishing, sunsets, weekly rates. Astonishingly affordable. Check out our newest performance stage! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lake House

Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Price Range: $108 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lake House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we didn't stay there only ate”
 of 5 bubbles BethC915, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None that I could see”
 of 5 bubbles pasrts4046, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The place sucks”
 of 5 bubbles T7075YWdanielo, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the water will enjoy spectacular sunsets over the water and hills!”
 of 5 bubbles ricka279, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great food”
 of 5 bubbles bobf160, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5