The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

DoubleTree Rochester. Good Hotel!
Traveller (187)
DoubleTree Rochester. Good Hotel!
Room & Suite (56)
CHAR Steak & Lounge
Dining (26)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 30 hotels in Rochester
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount Offer

Location

550 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607-2077
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Greater Rochester International Airport
1,301Review8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 899
  • 242
  • 76
  • 48
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dan B wrote a review Feb 2023
Hamlin, New York
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful room. The staff was amazing, especially Chelsea and Eric at the front desk! The downstairs bar was friendly and the staff was exceptional. We were in Rochester to see a show at the Auditorium Theater. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of downtown attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Feb 22, 2023
Dear 88DanB, We appreciate the fantastic review, and we thank you for choosing The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments were a pleasure to read; it is always nice having our devotion to service recognized and we will share your comments with our team, especially with Chelsea and Eric! We love that our location in the heart of Rochester's cultural and historical districts offers our guests the opportunity to experience so much in our community. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jason Fulton General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddie M wrote a review Jul 2020
Milford, Connecticut
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 3 nights in July 2020. Hotel has done a great job with measures to reopen safely during the pandemic - masks being worn by staff and guests and lots of extra cleaning in place.

Breakfast had various a la Carte options instead of a buffet but all excellent and outdoor patio was a great place to sit.

Staff were extremely helpful throughout the hotel. Ryan at check in was first class and gave us a nice room upgrade. Staff in the restaurant were friendly and always went out of their way to make sure everything was good for us.

Would definitely recommend for a stay in Rochester
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey K wrote a review Jul 2020
East Providence, Rhode Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was hesitant when we booked here. I grew up in Rochester and remember when the Strathallan was magnificent but the reviews read as either "the best place in the universe" or "the devil lives here". We were pleasantly surprised by the room, breakfast, staff and overall experience. Huge shout out to Alisa, our waitress at breakfast, she started our days just right. Only 2 minor issues, our room wasn't cleaned every day due to Covid restrictions, which was fine because we aren't animals and we were able to get fresh towels, coffee, etc as needed, but wish they told us when we checked in. (Full disclosure, they did tell us A LOT of things that would be different during our stay because of Covid, I think he just forgot that one thing). Also, there were WAY TOO MANY people at the bar without masks the Saturday night we were there. People seated at the bar, people standing behind them reaching over to order drinks..... it was mildly terrifying. We walked in and ran out. I'm not sure why more people didn't walk in and think, "this is a bad idea." Perhaps management thinned out the crowd after we left but I didn't want to stick around to see what happened.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
treandtaj wrote a review Nov 2020
Rochester, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed this weekend in 2/3 rooftop suites. Hosted a dinner party in one of the private dining rooms.

Neither were cheap, and for the price I expected a level of service.

The sales staff were awesome, jordan and sage!

Our room was not clean, there were lemon seeds on the counters and the ceiling fans were awful, we didn’t see before turning them on and dust went flying all over the the bed. We looked at the others and they were the same, the couch arm rests were filthy also.

We were told the rooftop bar and fire pit would be open, both of which I confirmed the Thursday before our saturday arrival, and both were closed. We were told there were staff issues?? Well, that’s not our fault? We paid a lot for our rooms for the experience. I get COVID but that wasn’t the reason.

At dinner, our waiter dumped a lemon drop martini down the back of my guest. No compensation was offered. Not even a drink on the house? That is ridiculous. She was sticky and wet for the entire meal.

Then I had two guests order a steak which apparently they sold out of. So they were stuck paying >$20 for an alternative. Something should have been said. But this couple was on a budget and ended up paying twice the price. Idk- communication could have been better.

Overall, was disappointing! Rooms should be cleaner, all rooms, but the rooftop suites you would expect attention to detail.

This is typically a great hotel but the attention to detail seemed gone, and I don’t feel I got my money’s worth at all
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Nov 9, 2020
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the poor service you received that impacted your dinner party. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, so we will certainly follow up with our team to address all the problems you outlined. We are also sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room. Your feedback has been relayed to our housekeeping department, and we will make sure steps are taken to prevent such things from occurring again. Please consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morgan R wrote a review Nov 2021
Rochester, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had to move rooms twice during our two night stay. I booked this hotel for my wedding weekend because it used to be the nicest hotel in the area, not anymore. It is way overpriced for rooms that were dirty with stained carpets and dust covering every surface in the second room we were moved to. The heat was broken in the first suite so we had to move rooms as it was freezing cold. The second room was filthy so we had to move again. Meanwhile, my wedding guests that stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn were extremely pleased and the rooms were half the price!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: November 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike B wrote a review Oct 2020
Vicksburg, Mississippi
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked two rooms, one on the Hilton Honors Floor and a suite on the 8th floor which is the most expensive rooms. We were unable to sleep due to constant sliding of furniture, sliding glass doors or some other event at all hours of the night. Loud people in the hallway, broken glass in the hallway of the Hilton Honors Floor, people yelling and banging into the walls. The management has no control at this hotel. While waiting for the elevator, the security guard got into an argument with patron and both were screaming and dropping F-bombs every other word. As a Hilton Gold Patron it made me wonder why I would pay so much for a stay that was no better than a Motel 6. Your management team needs to be replaced and the bar and maintenance staff need to be more respective of your loyal patrons. Will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you were disturbed by the nearby guests and the inconvenience you had due to it. Your comfort is very important to us. Please be assured that we are reviewing this with our front office staff to make sure we are doing everything possible to prevent this type of situation. We also regret your disappointment with the service you received from some of our associates. We have shared your feedback with our team to be more diligent going forward. We hope you will give us a second chance to deliver the type of experience you should always expect from our hotel. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darren W wrote a review Apr 2023
Schroon Lake, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best Hotel Experience ever! This hotel knows how to do it all. Great, large rooms, all with balconies where you can actually go OUT onto them. Great beds. Amazing room service. Great restaurant with amazing food. There is a rooftop bar with views of the city that is open till midnight most nights (you almost can't even find that in Manhattan anymore). I had a couple of problems with my room that were solved immediately. I left a large tip for housekeeping becuase you actually GET housekeeping daily and it is impecable. I will never stay at any other hotel in Rochester - this is truely the best.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Free parking! Only 1 mile from all the theaters at Eastman School of Music and most all museums...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded May 1, 2023
Dear darrenw815, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton. We are pleased to know we exceeded your expectations with our comfortable accommodations and thoughtful facilities. We are also glad that you were happy with our housekeeping team. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Stephanie Pericozzi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randy_the_Tester wrote a review Feb 2020
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second time to Rochester but the first time to this hotel. I picked it because of location to where I was working. Everything was great, but I would give some minus points to internet speed, elevators and in-room coffee. Unfortunately, the lobby Starbucks was closed for renovation. The cool part of the location is that it is not far from the Eastman house (which was also closed for maintenance). The restaurant is a little pricey but there are other options nearby. There is a nice Wegmans not too far also.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Thank you for reviewing The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton. We are glad overall you had a pleasant stay and that our location was perfect for you to go to work as well as to explore the area. However, we regret the inconvenience you outlined, and we have taken note of your comments. We value your business and hope to welcome you back soon for a better experience. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelerReviews83 wrote a review Aug 2022
Whitby, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Went on a Road trip and ended up staying here one of the nights, the room arrangement was great for our needs. We were travelling with our mother and wanted a separate room for sleeping accommodations. I like how big the rooms are - separate living room (pull out couch) and bedroom with door. There were two balcony’s with good views - although the balcony floors need repair.
Parking free, staff great. The pool is small and there is no hot tub.

There are still a lot of items not stocked in the room due to COVID. Just an fyi. If you need anything you just have to contact front desk and they gladly bring up the items. Kitchenette cupboards completely empty, no bedding for pull out couch, room cleaning on request only, etc.

Ate at the restaurant Char. Ambience was good and servers excellent. The food was slightly salty. Ordered the porterhouse and although it was good, it wasn’t the best, especially for the price.

No breakfast included at this hotel.

Would stay here again, for us the room accommodations really made this hotel appealing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Roof top Patio. - closed Sunday and Monday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton and for your high rating. We are delighted to read that you loved our courteous service from our team, combined with the well-appointed and spacious accommodations with the private balcony and amazing views from your room. We appreciate you mentioning our delicious on-site restaurant, CHAR Steak & Lounge. We also appreciate you for highlighting our complimentary parking. We regret that some of the services were not available during your visit and for not meeting some of your expectations. We are grateful for your feedback, and we love that you will come back again, and we hope it will be soon! Sincerely, Paul Walters, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaleaha wrote a review Jun 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This property provides excellent customer service in a clean and inviting atmosphere.

When we arrived there was a challenge with my payment instead of acting like it was a big deal the desk staff was pleasant, patient and accommodating. Once resolved the lady at the desk checked us in quickly and efficiently.

She provided water, cookies, spa information, local restaurants plus details about breakfast at the hotel.

The restaurant Char has wonderful food, if a bit pricey. The host and wait staff are friendly. They make you feel welcome and special. We stayed for five days and Megan worked three of those, she remembered the table we wanted plus how we liked our coffee.

The evening front desk staff always had water and fresh baked cookies when we returned after a day of exploring. What a lovely way to end a day.

The property itself is decorated with a modern feel and beautifully maintained gardens. The hotel hosted multiple events (a wedding, a company meeting and an anniversary party) with no disruption to other guests.

The rooms were clean and well stocked. The only challenge was that while clean the chemicals used for the elevators was strong and unpleasant.

We would definitely recommend this property and will stay again when we are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Thank you for being our guest at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton and for the recommendations. We are delighted to know you liked our front desk as well as our restaurant associates. We are also glad you liked our well-kept property and the in-room amenities. We are always happy to know about our guests returning, and we look forward to it. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manal B. asked a question Jan 2018
Cambridge, Massachusetts55 contributions30 helpful votes
Is it possible for outside hotel guests to pay a small fee to use the hotel pool for a few hours?
Answer from Herb E
Morton Grove, Illinois116 contributions14 helpful votes
Not sure, give them a call
yipo asked a question Jan 2017
New York City, New York19 contributions17 helpful votes
will a couple & 4 kids ages12 & younger be able to share a lg suite? is there rooms with kitchenette s??
Answer from Ted O
Picton, Canada58 contributions54 helpful votes
The 2 bed suite and the pullout couch would be fine. They don't have the kitchen facilities but do have the refrigerator. The suites are quite large so thee should be plenty of room.
alusardi asked a question Oct 2016
Berkeley, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
is there regular shuttle service from ROC ? i arrive late on NOV 11. many thanks.
Answer from betsyjenkins3
Fairfax County, Virginia
Yes, contact the hotel directly to set up shuttle service. This hotel is only 15 mins from airport. Safe travels!
Quest15110119810 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Richmond Hill, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking on site was close and easy "
Read full review
Marco_Coppa1976 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Caviola, Italy1,673 contribution4,164 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t come here with small Hyundai or Kia"
Read full review
TeenyWE wrote a tip Jan 2024
Rancho Cucamonga2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Really cannot overstate how much I love Char. Just had the new Raviolo and it was wonderfully decadent and delicious."
Read full review
Mónica C wrote a tip May 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t forget to check the pool, gym, and outdoor fire pits."
Read full review
SHB wrote a tip May 2023
Burlington, Vermont102 contributions67 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hard to park when the bar is full of locals; avoid the breakfast buffet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rochester area.
PRICE RANGE
C$290 - C$388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
strathallan hotel rochester
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesRochester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Memorial Art Gallery (0.4 km), Rochester Museum & Science Center (0.3 km), and Rochester Pedal Tours (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, free parking, street parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Edibles Restaurant, Char Steak & Lounge, and Roam Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House (3.1 km), Holy Sepulchre Cemetery (7.3 km), and Stone-Tolan House Historic Site (4.2 km).
Is The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Rochester HotelsRochester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RochesterHotels near The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars