We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pridwin Hotel

08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pridwin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 223: English reviews
Start your review of The Pridwin Hotel
 Click to rate
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The Pridwin is a gem; a beloved home-away-from-home. We discovered Shelter Island when we first moved to the States, and fell in love with the Pridwin Hotel and the family who run it almost immediately. It’s the perfect balance of old-school, Dirty dancing-esque romance mixed with modern classic interior design, exceptionally friendly staff and a location that’s out of this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ChirpyLucy
Melville, New York
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last Thursday night the hotel staff could not have been nicer we have some mobility problems and was originally on 3 Rd FLoor of hotel but realizing there were no elevators they put us on the first floor. Room was very nice king size bed and bathroom was up to date but small we found the place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marionscott
About Hotel's Favourite Review
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of both our staff and hotel and we were so glad we were able to accommodate you on the first floor during your stay with us in our “off season.” We are also pleased that you enjoyed the continental breakfast and famous homemade doughnuts along with the wonderful and relaxing views. We look forward...

Reviewed 31 January 2017

If you are looking for a laid-back, relaxing beach getaway without the traffic and snobbery of the Hamptons, Shelter Island is the perfect place for you. While it’s nice to venture to Sunset Beach for a drink, we prefer the family-owned and operated Pridwin, a Shelter Island institution to get away from the party scene. The hotel is relaxed, cozy,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael H
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The Pridwin is one of those rare gems that strikes the perfect balance between the old and the new - like the Chateau Marmont in L.A. They kept just enough old details to keep the history of this majestic place intact, while adding enough modern amenities to make it an incredibly memorable stay. This is probably not the place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian D
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We were considering many options in NYC for our wedding venue, but after we spent a wonderful Labor Day weekend at the the Pridwin Hotel we decided it was the prefect place and they could provided exactly what we were were looking for so we booked our wedding right away for the following season. Our wedding day and the entire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigs83
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I coordinated and officiated a wedding at the Pridwin. It was a weekend full of events from Friday night cocktails, to a Saturday rehearsal, ceremony, dinner, and late-night dance party, and then we finished with a Sunday brunch. The staff could not have been more accommodating as we took over the hotel to set up, decorate, and coordinate- they made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickie Q
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend extensive research before booking The Pridwin as your wedding venue. We were burned so badly it ruined my day. They could careless about you or your day or how much time and money you have invested. There was absolutely no communication. After countless meetings and emails- the day of was like I had never spoken to a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Katheryn M
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We have been hosting weddings for nearly 40 years and have held—until your review—a perfect record of exceptional wedding service and experiences. So we are very dismayed that you were not satisfied with your event. We take great care to organize each wedding from the contract stage through the one-on-one menu tasting where our dining manager met with you to...

Punta del Este, Uruguay
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Where do I start? The room was incredibly tiny, outdated, and poorly furnished (had to ask for a reading lamp for one side of the bed that lacked a night-table) and sloppily cleaned for the 8 days we were there. We were treated to a microwaved dessert on our first night at the restaurant, that made the peach strudel leathery...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Margarita P
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we are sorry your stay was unsatisfying. The Pridwin Hotel was built in 1927 and, at the time, had only shared, communal bathrooms. As private bathrooms were added to each room, the size of the guest rooms did decrease slightly, making them small by today’s standards. We also pride...

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I had an enjoyable overnight retreat here. Every single staff member was pleasant and friendly. This hotel is old and not like Marriotts and Holiday Inns. But that's part of its appeal! There are no elevators, so you get to climb original staircases. You can see how the building has been updated to adhere to code yet holds true to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teach162
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of both the hotel and our staff. We are pleased that you appreciate the old world charm of the Pridwin and we do recognize the fact that the rooms are on the small side as size was lost when private bathrooms were added to each room. However, our hotel, beach and pool are always...

Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Very disappointed. The Pridwin looked everything like the perfect American dream I was longing for this Summer. At least in the pictures on the web. Reviews were very mixed, but judging from their site, I was taken. I imagined old school elegance, balmy romantic nights with the sound of crickets, long lunches on the wooden porch and that class of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Butterfly-lane
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are saddened that your experience was not what you hoped and expected. On the day of your arrival we had some extreme weather on the North Fork and experienced flash flooding all over the island which, combined with the extreme heat that day, contributed to the “musky smells and...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
1.3 km away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
63 reviews
10.0 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
213 reviews
32.7 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
29.0 km away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
3.4 km away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range: $261 - $1,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago
New York City, New York
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“both waterfront and court views have their charms.”
iandU644IF, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My favorite rooms are the corner water view rooms on the 2nd/3rd Floor”
craigs83, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose between a view and a normal sized room...”
MargaritaP287, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back can be noisy with the morning bustle of getting the restaurant ready.”
Butterfly-lane, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a water view”
TonyF22, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates