We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$72
View deal
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$72
View deal
No prepayment needed
Priceline
TravelocityUS$72
Vio.comUS$72
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (216)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sky packages in rooms
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
763Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 324
  • 198
  • 115
  • 65
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
chrisworthington48 wrote a review Feb. 6
Mansfield Woodhouse, United Kingdom671 contributions226 helpful votes
Visited here for Sunday lunch with the family. Place has a lovely setting next to the river. On arrival was greeted by a polite and pleasant young lady who showed us to our table. The restaurant has a good atmosphere and is nice and clean and spacious. The waiting staff are very helpful and polite. Our meals all came out together and where nice, have had better but still enjoyable. There is a good selection of drinks at the bar. All in all a pleasant experience and will be returning in the summer to sit out on the patio.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kerry wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution
Wanted to pop a review on here to say how impressed I was yesterday after spending the afternoon for my baby shower. So we booked the riverside for a meal for my baby shower for 28 people it was all so efficient to book and the manger couldn’t of been any more helpful if she tried. On arrival we were out in the function room this was a lovely surprise we could enjoy the afternoon play games and not annoy any other guests dining. They set the tables lovely and dressed them with white table cloths. Once we added our decor to the room it looked amazing. The staff were so helpful and on hand all day taking drink orders and serving the meals. The food was outstanding everyone thoroughly enjoyed it and commented how nice it was. The pate started came with a huge pot of pate and one piece of toast everyone had more than half pate left and no toast so so Some asked and plates of toast were brought in no problem straight away. For a big food food order it was served quickly and efficiently. Everyone was very impressed. If you want a small function they partition off a section of the function room so it’s a lovely room for little occasions. Thank you to all of the team that helped plan and deliver yesterday !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Zola1982, We were very happy that you gave us the opportunity to be apart of your very special day, I will be sure to pass your lovely comments off to our team. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kindest regards, Trent Assistant Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick S wrote a review Jan. 2023
Brixham, United Kingdom107 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed for one night when attending a friends party in nearby Burton on Trent. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as out at the party, but had a drink and sharing platter in the bar upon arrival and the best full English breakfast I have had the following morning! My wife had the Sundae Brunch which was equally good. We were impressed by the friendly and helpful staff upon arrival and throughout. Although not huge, our room was very smart and comfortable, with the best guest drink tray I had encountered. Bed very comfy. TV large modern and sharp. The bathroom was a delight. Car park huge. Full marks all round!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Only have experience of ground floor room, for which I have no criticism.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
angeladoyle165 wrote a review Jan. 2023
Sunderland, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed at the Riverside last night when booking I booked a accessible room as I have arthritis and my husband is having treatment for cancer when we arrived booked in they gave us room 8 lovely room clean nicely decorated went to bathroom and there was a step up to bathroom said to hubby do you think you will be able to cope with just the one step yeah he said it's just for one night we managed with a struggle this morning went to have a shower shower was over bath mmm no grab rails or anything to hold onto so no shower when we checked out I asked about the room and she said sorry about that you should have asked for room one when you checked in if you stay with us again ask .. I didn't think I should have asked after booking room and asking for accessable room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Angela, Delighted to read that you are happy with the new refurbishment but distraught that you have had to endure the stress of not having an assessable room. I have looked into this issue and can see that the online platform that you used has indeed booked you in under a double room rate plan instead of the assessable room which you wanted to book. If you are willing to give us a second chance in the future please book with us in the future directly as we will not only have the best available price, but will make sure you get the room you desire. Kindest regards, Trent, Assistant Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven H wrote a review Jan. 2023
10 contributions3 helpful votes
Came with my wife on a Friday evening for a meal. We had to wait a little while for our table which we had booked for 7 but that wasn’t a problem. We both had fish and chips which were nice but could have had a few more chips. The service from the waitress was excellent. She has worked there for many years behind the bar. She is a credit to The Riverside. Always friendly and helpful. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi StevenhQ8526QC, Happy to read you thoroughly enjoyed yourself the last time you visited us. Apologies about the wait for your table, since reopening we have been getting busier and busier by the day. Will definitely be having the conversation about the chip shortage that you received, it is fish AND chips after all, not fish and chip! We are ever so grateful for her, as she is a rock for our new staff, creating a calm and relaxing environment for staff and guest alike whilst we get use to the new level of trade. Ill make sure to pass along your comments to her. We hope to see you again soon, Kindest regards, Trent, Assistance Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RorMac wrote a review Jan. 2023
Bourne End, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed here in December after their refurb. The room was excellent - I couldn't fault the decor, comfort or facilities. We had dinner here which was great with really friendly and attentive service. The following morning, despite arriving just after 9am they kept the kitchen open to provide me with a cooked breakfast. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi RorMac, Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, We are so happy to hear that you love the refurbishment as much as we are. Happy to read that our time has gone that extra mile to provide for you as we pride ourselves on delivering 100% guest satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future. All the best in 2023. Kindest regards, Trent, Assistant Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie G wrote a review Dec. 2022
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom1 contribution
The Food was amazing, the staff where so helpful and polite, Emma and Bibiana served us with our meals and were so kind . The manager showed us around. The inside of the resturant is beautiful as is the outside. The location next to the river is beautiful. A lovely venue for weddings.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Everything was brilliant. They even have dog friendly hotel rooms which is so good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded Dec. 26, 2022
Thank you for leaving this review. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Many Thanks, Richard Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frankie C wrote a review Dec. 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom64 contributions18 helpful votes
I went to the restaurant for dinner and it was amazing. From our warm welcome from the manager Rick to our waitresses Holly and Alex everything was excellent. Then came the food that was certainly Michelin star quality. Thank you for a lovely night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Excellent restaurant
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded Dec. 17, 2022
Hi Frankie, thank you for leaving such a lovely review. I will pass on your kind words to the team here, at The Riverside. Hopefully we will see you again very soon. Many Thanks, Richard Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele P wrote a review Oct. 2022
Bedford, United Kingdom113 contributions32 helpful votes
What a lovely hotel ,nice grounds nice hotel and bar and restaurant nice room nice food nice staff thanks to Jeleina, Frank, Julie Lottie Courtney and Angie thanks for making our stay wonderful. Kind Regards Steve and Michele Petryszyn
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded Oct. 19, 2022
Hi Michele, Thank you so much for your visit and for such lovely feedback. We hope we'll see you again soon. Take care. Kind Regards. Jelena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria B wrote a review Oct. 2022
2 contributions
+1
Rooms very tired and manager on the deck didn’t care (and I quote “well there is nothing that can be done about the mould in the grout now”) Liquid marks running down the wall, dirty linen, woodwork damaged, mould in shower, dirty shower hose, holes in walls…need I go on! Mother in law booked 3 rooms for an 80th party and was beyond disappointed. Excuses of “well we are closing for a refurb end of the month” … so why are you charging full price for substandard rooms? Multiple conversions with hotel reception regarding compensation and nothing has appeared. Sums up our entire experience …over £1200 spent in 24 hours (including food) and not an once of customer service!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded Oct. 5, 2022
Hi Victoria, thank you for leaving this review. We have tried to contact you regarding your experience and will try again. Myself and the team here, pride ourselves on our guest service, and to read a review that states we do not care, is devastating, as this cannot be further from the truth. It is true we are closing shortly for refurbishment and our prices reflect this. I must say state, the quote you have stated in your review has been taken out of context, and I can only apologise if the conversation has led to confusion. Many Thanks, The Riverside Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riverside hotel staffordshire
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireBurton upon TrentBranston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Riverside Hotel - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Branston, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Riverside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Riverside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Branston Water Park (1.0 km) and Branston Golf Range (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Riverside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Riverside Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bridge Inn, Miller & Carter, and Beefeater.
Is Riverside Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Branston.
Are pets allowed at Riverside Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Riverside Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Riverside Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Claymills Victorian Pumping Station (6.1 km), Jinnie Trail (6.9 km), and Sinai Park House (2.2 km).
Does Riverside Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Riverside Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.