We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverside Hotel

Hotels.comUS$75*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 452: English reviews
Start your review of Riverside Hotel
 Click to rate
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Fantastic rooms look like they have only just been decorated. Really nice decor and beds are really comfortable. The pub does great food and beer. The price is good but the hotel is usually booked up well in advance. The staff are all really helpful and friendly and spend time on their customers. It's my favourite hotel in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Highly recommended hotel with very friendly helpful staff, only 10 min drive to St Georges. Great food and very comfortable accommodation we had an extremely nice evening meal with wine only priced at £15 per bottle, great variety of both starters and main meals. Breakfast was also really good with large choice from full English to vegetarian options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie V
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had our wedding here this weekend and had such an amazing day. We choose this venue as it is in a beautiful location, with tasteful decor and very competitive wedding packages. We wanted our wedding to be simple and uncomplicated so choose to go for a surprise wedding telling our guests they were coming for a birthday/engagement party. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As a party of 4, plus 2 large dogs we have just returned from The Riverside after a 3 night break. Both ourselves and our friends found the welcome and service in the restaurant and bar very good, with very helpful staff,with no request being too much trouble. All meals were very well presented, with good portion sizes. Our rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornlady-11
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal everybody happy with what they had ordered. Good service nice location . Great value . Plenty of parking they also have rooms which have all recently been refurbished. Seems to be doggie friendly also in the bar area and outside on the patio area .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flipfloptime
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your birthday with us and hopefully see you again soon!

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went on a meal here for Mother's day last weekend with my Mum and grandparents. The hotel itself looks nice enough and the area surrounding it was picturesque but this is perhaps all the place has going for it. We were surprised to discover that the Mother's day menu was the only food they were serving, which comprised of 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eharris999
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not reach your expectations. Your comments and feedback will be discussed with our team , Thank you.

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely 40th birthday surprise family meal for my son-in-law was ruined by poor customer service by the Manager at the Riverside last night. Things go wrong - we all know that - but the way we deal with them means a lot, especially when dining out on a special occasion that cannot be repeated! Got the order wrong after...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank J P
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived for booked meal for Mothers Day at 5 minutes to 12 (booked for 12) but none of the tables were ready and they had all the doors and windows open so it freezing cold and the wind kept blowing round the tables. In fact, after the 'experience' (can't call it a meal), I went outside and it was warmer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dottykat
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not reach your expectations. Your comments and feedback will be discussed with our team , Thank you.

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

My wife and I had a two night stay at this Old English Inn. It is in a great location on the river a couple of miles from the centre of Burton. If you didn’t want to use your car there are regular buses into Burton or Lichfield on the main road but beware these cease early evening. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Del-&-Mags
Mark T, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the area around us. We hope to see you again soon.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Smart room - good quality bathroom. Easy parking. Nice river views. Good service in restaurant . Good choice of breakfast. Lovely for a short break as near to a few National Trust properties. Would recommend a visit to Calke Abbey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
Mark T, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the area around us. We hope to see you again soon.

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
6.6 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
7.2 km away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
405 reviews
3.5 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
296 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
444 reviews
2.9 km away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Price Range: $116 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Lake District, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Nottingham

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a river view.”
cornlady-11, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 11”
Del-&-Mags, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for river view.”
alisonf228, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check that the heating has been sorted before booking the superior room and its ok if you are a late night drinker.”
fosterhorticulture, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river.”
James1951edry, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$75
Expedia.comUS$75
Hotwire.comUS$75
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates