We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,588: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Quite literally, this hotel is a nacho salad without the nachos. From running out of food ingredients, to not providing guests umbrellas during horrible rain (it is not possible to walk to the rooms without getting soaking wet), to no hot water on Christmas Eve, our week there got better and better with every passing day. Of all the hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank MSA0810
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear MSA0810, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to hear from you soon and be of further...

Reviewed 27 December 2014

My wife and I decided to come and visit the hotel over Christmas 2014 and I used some ihg points i had accumulated from business in 2014, I found the food to be quite bland and the price of drinks to be very expensive indeed. The room we stayed in was very pleasant although we were supposed to get an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave H
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Dave H, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience the room type you received may have caused you....

Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotel lobbies, the deck at the far end had a spectacular view. Very spacious rooms and all of them are identical, so no qualms if you go in a group. A big resort with lots of open space and a private beach, so it is a town by itself. Good selection of restaurants with great views,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShahSun
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear ShahSun, Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us. Your review has been posted in our heart of house, to the greatest joy of our team members. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. On behalf of InterContinetal Mauritius team we wish you and your family a joyous festive season...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 23 December 2014

I had the privilege of staying at this beautiful hotel from the 13th to the 20th of December 2014. Every single soul that works at the hotel made genuine contact with me. Oh, I'm sorry I failed to mention, I WAS ON A SOLO VACA and my first international trip. I may have been alone but not once did I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Yash_1507
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Yash_1507, Thank you for sharing your detailed comments with us. Your compliments on the friendliness and genuine hospitality of our members have been communicated to the greatest happiness of the team. We look forward to welcome you back for your next holiday with us. On behalf of InterContinetal Mauritius team we wish you and your family a joyous festive...

Reviewed 22 December 2014

It was my first time visiting Mauritius and i was completely blown away!! This hotel is really top class! From a very warm welcome to all the breakfast, lunches and dinners were all good food! We stayed in the presidential suite and it was beautiful and really well equipped and breathe taking inside!! All the hotel staff is really helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank angevig
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Intercontinental Resort is a beautiful resort to stay in Mauritius. The private beach is very clean and gives a beautiful view. The staff is very courteous and helpful. We had an early checkin and they provided the rooms instantenously. The hotel staff was very friendly and explained all the facilities of the resort on visit. Overall it was a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vivekfzd
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Vivekfzd, We are delighted to read your complimentary comments; indeed our beach is very much appreciated by our guest for the privacy and intimacy it offers. There can be nothing more satisfying to know that you and your wife had wonderful stay with us. Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to share your holiday...

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2014

just returned from 9 nights at the Intercontinental. Lovely hotel. All rooms are stunning, but when we upgraded to a Presidential Suite, WOW! Thank you to the staff and management for making our holiday Merry Christmas!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NigelDentith
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear NigelDentith, We are delighted that you enjoyed your holidays with us and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcome you back to our Presidential Suite in the near future. On behalf of InterContinetal Mauritius team, may we take this opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 17 December 2014

I have been there in the 1st week of Dec. 2014. The hotel is about 1 hr drive from the airport, situated on a long beach. as i mentioned in my title everything was excellent so no need to describe anything further only few tips i would like to give specially to "Indian Visitors" are as follows; 1. Please take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AK19882013
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear AK19882013, Greetings from InterContinentalMauritius! There is nothing more satisfying than to know that you had a memorable and amazing experience with us. Indeed the Balinese and Thai massages offered in our Yuj Spa are very much appreciated by our guests. Please note that the price of bottled water is aligned to other hotels of same category on the island....

Reviewed 17 December 2014

We had a wonderful time at intercontinental hotel. It is located on a nice beach which is well maintained. It does have a heated swimming pool and free wi-fi. Rooms are excellent. Only down side of the room was we could not change TV channels more than 4-5 foots away from TV. Breakfast and dinner buffet at senso was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohanpatel219
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Had an awesome honeymoon.. The hotel property is awesum.. V luved the service n food..All the credit goes to Mr.NITISH & Mr.PATRICK from VEDA.. They were very very very very helpful n made us feel at home.. they arranged watever food we asked.. Thr is no word like 'NO' in their dictionary.. The main thing- both hv smile on their...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank KunalSha
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear KunalSha, It has been a real pleasure to welcome you in our resort for your honeymoon. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your complimentary review has been posted in our heart of house to the greatest joy of our team members, especially Nitish and Patrick. We look forward to welcome you back among us...

3,074 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2321)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (548)
Viewed
Room/Suite (293)
Viewed
Dining (132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (455)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
View from Room (112)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (710)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (68)
Viewed
Family Room (60)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
South Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (295)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (67)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
18.0 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,042 reviews
28.0 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,108 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,330 reviews
0.6 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.7 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: $261 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and other travellers.
102 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (102)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try getting a room that has more view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles AshwinB1317, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with the beach view and on the ground floor are the best, ask them for rooms next to Segala or Senso restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 287prathvip, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All are sea view, 2nd floor offers better views”
 of 5 bubbles 804karik, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Block 12 rooms are central to the property”
 of 5 bubbles diptir2015, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great Food, great location and a must if you ask for a ground floor room, so you can walk to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 374rajt, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay