We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pallagino Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Pallagino Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pallagino Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 56: English reviews
india
Reviewed 28 August 2011

i was with my wife and son at pallagino guest house . it was a wonderful moment we have with chef sandy and her family, food was excellent and mouth watering. warm welcome!! cocktail was marvelous. our holiday was so relaxing we had a successful trip with those wonderful people and we felt the warmness of the island. communication was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karan D
SandyDaswani, Owner at Pallagino Guest House, responded to this review

It was to have you with even just for few days, we hope to see you again in 2013 to celebrate your wedding anniversary, together with your whole of course.

Buderim, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2011

If you are wanting warm hospitality and wonderful introduction to Mauritian cuisine.then this is the place, a short walking distance to the lovely Flic en Flac

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frances c
Nova Scotia
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My wife and I were expecting more given the amount we paid for the 5 nights we stayed there. Room was not very clean and bedding had holes. Very basic bedroom. Room was cleaned after the third day and was fine. Nice balcony but too hot to use. No shade... Problems with hot water. Dinner was nice but instant coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank molens
Royfilmore, Owner at Pallagino Guest House, responded to this review

Must be taking about another place they have stayed? We never, ever request pre-payment? Upon reservation we only request a deposit to secure reservation. Upon your arrival to the villa, you are offered a welcoming cocktail, after which we show you your room and other facilities you may use during your stay with us, only if you are satisfied, we...

Italy
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Mauritius is well known for its sunshine and sunsets, but “Pallagino” guest house is the place to stay. From the first moment you arrive you already know that you are home away from home. Upon arrival you are warmly welcome from The Chef Sandy, who came to greet you at the entrance personally with a charming smile, then you meet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paolo1969
SandyDaswani, Owner at Pallagino Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I look forward to have you with us - with kids this time - for more good time together...more good foods...more good evening cocktails...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We booked Pallagino based on the excellent reviews posted on this website. However, after a shocking week at Pallagino we wanted to share our experiences so others can have a balanced view. Food: Like others, we booked this on the rave reviews of Sandy's cooking. Well, the food was good on nights when there were other guests, however, on the...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank greenhoops63
Royfilmore, Owner at Pallagino Guest House, responded to this review

While we always welcome constructive remarks as this help us improve our services, we believe that this time we need to clarify the comments. Food: - All kids love Bolognese and Chicken escallops, but I also served great lamb and chicken curries, calamaris, prawns, homemade flaky faratas, gratins, Chinese dumplings, aubergines in season, just to mention few of the 33...

lugano
Reviewed 1 March 2011

chef of mauritius???? SAndy drinks all day long rum..... My Daughter (2years) has eaten for 4 days nutella expired on july (7 minths ago!!!) and for 3 days his dinner was the same : chicken nuggets and rice.... My mother was sick after the first dinner... One evening Sandy reccoked the same dinner of the day before (fish and rice)...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank LuganoNoemi
Royfilmore, Owner at Pallagino Guest House, responded to this review

Sandy drinks all day long rum? Personally I find this accusation, insulting....Why have Tripadvisor posted this review when according their own rules -No profanity, threats, accusations, or insults are allowed –? I drink COFFEE, NOT RUM, for health/medical reasons that I do not wish to discuss or elaborate in this forum, I cannot drink rum, will not drink rum, RUM...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2011

By UK standards I’d put the Pallagino at a 2-3* level – adequate if that is what you are expecting but having read the rave reviews of other Trip Advisor contributors our hopes were more 4 or 5* for our stay at the Pallagino and our expectations were not met. Sandy, Rajen and their family are very welcoming hosts, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MyBackpackandMe
Royfilmore, Owner at Pallagino Guest House, responded to this review

We have checked, the plug is well secured. Shower head was never reported, but only the leak, which was impossible to fix during your stay because it required masonry work, It is done. There was always water in taps. But the pump booster is for you to enjoy high pressure during showers. We never ask you to come down to...

Reviewed 30 January 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay in Mauritius and we opted for the half board bed, breakfast and dinner deal at the Pallagino having read all the very positive reviews and being avid foodies ourselves. Maybe they were having a bit of an off period, but we came away quite disappointed overall with our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank uktripper007
Royfilmore, Owner at Pallagino Guest House, responded to this review

With free drinks flowing way past the closing time of 10H00, everything was fine, until the time my husband ask payment for extra beers you have taken from the fridge during lunch hours, as you have reserve on Half-Bord plan, then everything suddenly went sour. Next time please pay for drinks like every honest person will do. Foods – Just...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at the Pallagino Guesthouse for 2 weeks on a full board basis.Drinks were provided 24/7 and breakfast as well as lunch and dinner tasted as if it had just come out of a 5 star hotel. During our stay Sandy spoiled us with a variety of different cultural dishes. (Rajen with drinks and different Coktails :-) ) As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuela6
Hampshire, England
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed 7 nights on a half board basis which included drinks from 6.30 pm. Sandy and her lovely family made us most welcome and the food was a real highlight. B&B is uncommon in Mauritius and the restaurant scene appears a bit limited. Our room was comfortable, the location is good being only 5 mins from the white sand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike48

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Baie hotels
1.2 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
2,222 reviews
0.1 km away
Hibiscus Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Pereybere Hotel & Apartments
2.0 km away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Pallagino" Feast of Mauritius, a charming guest house with private pool, in located less than 5 minutes walk from the best golden sand beach of Mauritius, in Grand Bay/Pereybere area. Chef/Patron SANDY of "Pallagino" Feast of Mauritius, author, writer, culinary presentator, invites you to discover the real faces of Mauritius local gastronomy, an explosion of senses and colors in a friendly and convivial atmosphere, in an ultimate and endless culinary adventure. Cooking is an art, at "Pallagino" villa. Join Chef/Patron Sandy in her kitchen for a cookery class, and learn how to cook hands on these fantastic homemade authentic Mauritian/Creole dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pallagino Guest House

Address: 123 Avenue des Oies, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30503
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Price Range: $81 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pallagino Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pallagino Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pallagino Guest House Mauritius/Grand Baie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pallagino Guest House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Pallagino Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are equally good...”
 of 5 bubbles sahribahari, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles lenasuvasini, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Fugs1279, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Try and get the room with its private balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Ham40, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“choose the room with the balcony”
 of 5 bubbles JacobJ397, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5