We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropical Attitude

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Attitude
See the most recent reviews
Showing 954: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 February 2016

My mind boggles as to the reviews on great food and how wonderful the place is. No greeting when we got there. Had to go to reception desk. Noticed that others that came in were offered a moist towel and a drink. We did not get that. Food - Exact same breakfast served EVERY morning, Lunchtime sees exact same salads...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 43andrea1972
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am disappointed that you encountered some issues while being among us. I extend my apologies for all the inconvenience encountered and also for the hiccup upon your arrival. I have taken your comments into consideration. I understand your main gripes were the culinary offer and the...

Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Vikash is a very good cheaf in the kithen. He is the king of pizza 🍕. Karen make the best omelett i ever eat. I can recomended this hotel, they have very kind personal and are very friendly people. We have a very good holiday days hete i tropical attitude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odd Anders R
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this glowing review of your recent stay. Your praises towards our services is a great source of motivation for the whole team. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to Mauritius, Kind Regards, Désiré Prodigson General Manager

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We loved this small, friendly hotel in a beautiful location - could not be closer to the sea without being in it! Boat trips to Ile aux Cerfs were included in the all inclusive price, as were picnics any day we wanted to go off site. Wonderful care in the dining room from all the staff and attention to special...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kay199093
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Kay, Thank you for this great review of your recent stay. It is a real pleasure to read that you had a relaxing moment at the hotel and that food was up to your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Warmest Regards, Désiré Prodigson General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Sunny and his team cannot be more obliging, helpful or welcoming at this hotel, unlike other higher star rated hotels in Mauritius. The location, food and atmosphere of this hotel made this a holiday worth remembering for all the good reasons. For the sake not offending any of the staff by omitting someone I will not mention names however each...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris M
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for such a nice review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay among us and that you have appreciated the professionalism and friendliness of our Family Members; especially our Assistant Manager, Sunny. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Warm Regards, Désiré Prodigson General Manager

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Just back from our fabulous stay at this wonderful hotel. I travelled with my Mum and was looking for some relaxing time in the sunshine, we certainly got that and loads more! Let me start with the rooms, all have amazing sea views! The rooms are a little tired but the hotel is going through an upgrade over the summer....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MillyA1715
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your vacation. I am delighted to read that our services were up to your expectations. Be assured that I will pass on your appreciations to all our Family Members. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, Kind Regards, Désiré Prodigson General Manager

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Awesome hotel...with proper sea view.. breeze all over the day.. The cook..Mr vikas fantastic cook just ask him whenever you need an Indian cuisine.. he is just fantastic:) the breakfast is just awesome.. just try the omlette prepared by Mrs reshma its just fabulous... mauritian ppl are just Faboulous ... love you mauritius

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parmita b
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Parmita, Thank you for this great review. I am happy that you had nice time while being at the hotel. It is a pleasure also to know that the cuisine of Chef Vikash was to your taste. Looking forward to many more happy visits, Best Regards, Désiré Prodigson General Manager

Korbach, Germany
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

The check in was quick, friendly with a welcome drink. Just signed a tablet check in. Room was clean and equipped with fridge, safe and flat screen tv. Lovely view out over old canon pointing out to sea. All rooms have a sea view, which is great. The sea is so close, too. Although there is no real. Beach to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northsea89
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am disappointed that you encountered a bad experience during breakfast with our staff. I have taken good note of your comment to avoid any reoccurrence. However, I am glad that overall, you had a nice stay at the hotel. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

I have the more beautiful experience. The hotel is fantastic and is familiar. The Starr is very friendly and the service is very good. I have a favorite in the hotel is my personal chef. Vikas. And doing my diet food for me. He take care of everything and I will come again next year Thank you for everything o

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gisemar Maria U
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Gisemar Maria U, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to read that you were charmed by the hotel and that you were glad to be among us during your stay in Mauritius. I have passed on your kind words to all our Family Members and they were delighted to hear from you....

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

It was a great experience in this hotel, has a great connecting sea face with really great food. Especially the restaurant team is very helpful. I got very friendly treatment from Vikash, Karen and Reshma. The room service team is also very innovative, they just not only clean your room but also make up great crafts from towel. The view...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sanket G
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Sanket G, It is a pleasure to read your good impressions. I am happy that the hotel was up to your expectation and that your honeymoon was enjoyable. I will pass on your kind words to all our Family Members with a special mention for Chef Vikash, Karen and Reshma. I do hope to welcome you back again, Kind...

Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Hotel located at beautiful location of beautiful Mauritius. Foot you get here is awesome. Special food prepared if requested. Chef vikas prepares good food. Indian people can also enjoy in this hotel. Staff is good. Good service and hospitality. Hotel is safe to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bracewell L
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Bracewell L, Thank you for this glowing review of your recent stay. Your kind words have been passed on to all our Family Members and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Best Regards, Désiré Prodigson General Manager

1,695 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1474)
Viewed
View from Room (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (195)
Viewed
Dining (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (166)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (725)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (43)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.6 km away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
592 reviews
30.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
2,026 reviews
34.8 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Grand Baie
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,134 reviews
29.5 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
3,960 reviews
29.2 km away
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range: $89 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Attitude staff and other travellers.
135 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (135)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Attitude staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor room with a small balcony”
 of 5 bubbles KernowByron, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayd in the room 106 and it had the most amazing view to the ocean and the jetty!”
 of 5 bubbles 172jannav, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 603 was perfect - quiet round the back of hotel and about 15 steps to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles _libran23, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the sea so you get a good room anyway”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseB76, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms overlook the sea -”
 of 5 bubbles JBoulton, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay