We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 353: English reviews
Start your review of Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
 Click to rate
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful place. Wonderful beach, Good programmes do play. Nice swimming pools, Diversity of restaurants with good food. Gym, Sports and Spa. At the room a good TV with nice channels to watch. Good and beautiful rooms.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank noemiam216
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Noemia, Warmest Greetings from Bazaruto! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time with us. We appreciate your kind words about our dining...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Starting with the pre-visit preparations, Franco the General Manager of Anantara was extremely helpful. E-mail queries about Visa requirements and procedures, as well as weather etc were all answered extremely promptly and helped us a lot. The boat trip to and from the local mainland port of Vilanculos to the resort can be looked at negatively or positively! It really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salman_zaman
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dr. Zaman, Warm greetings from Ananatara Bazaruto Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. The entire team and I are thrilled to receive your gracious feedback regards your wonderful experience in our little paradise!It is such a pleasure to know that we have succeeded in exceeding your expectations as that...

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here on the last leg of our Honeymoon. We spent 5 days here. Although I've read many reviews about the ride in, and that it some people call it sketchy, it's what you would expect- so don't pay any mind. Boat Ride To & From: This is about a 45 min ride, and yes you must walk out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarissaX618
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marissa, Warmest Greetings from Bazaruto! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort. It is such a joy reading your feedback about your wonderful and incredible experience on our little paradise. Likewise, it is an absolute pleasure to know that we have succeeded in achieving our main goal of turning guest...

Grenchen
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had wunderful vacations and a very nice time. The service was very friendl. The trips was a nice experiment. We had a very good time. Speacelly the fresh fruit every morning on the dishes was a nice beginning in the day.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 408ernstm
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warmest Greetings from Bazaruto! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. The entire team and I are thrilled to receive your gracious feedback regards your wonderful experience in our little paradise! It is such a pleasure...

HaveBagWillTravel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good fun for the whole family with great staff. Recommend the sandboarding as a family activity. Rooms can do with a little updating but in all good value. Local house reef snorkeling not great if a regular underwater person rather go to Paradise Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunnySA-7
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm greetings from Anantara Bazaruto, Mozambique and thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the TripAdvisor community! It is a delight to know that you had a perfect Family holiday on our little paradise. Our ultimate goal is to turn guest dreams into unforgettable emotional experiences and it is a pleasure to know that we were...

Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite bad weather the first day, we had an amazing time and didn't want to leave. Our hut/room was fantastic. We had a porch, a hammock, a hut on the beach. We had a well lit sitting area and a netted bed. The bathroom was beautiful. The soaps and lotions were great. There were three restaurants on the large property....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Warmest Greetings from Bazaruto! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. It is overwhelming to read that your stay was memorable and we were able to spoil you. We really appreciate your comment about your beach...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We figured this would be the perfect end to our honeymoon after wonderful and luxurious stays in both Cape Town (Cape Royale) and Kruger (Dulini), but we were sadly disappointed. Beyond anyone's control, the weather truly threw a wrench in our holiday as there were torrential downpours all day for the duration of our 2-day stay. The grounds overall are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ssicular
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. It is saddening to know that we did not live up to your expectations. Please allow us to share the fact that the way from the beach to the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If not for the rain, Bazaruto would've been a fine 3.5 star resort. We ended up cutting our trip short because it was pouring rain every day (and there was nothing to do except eat and drink) but I would've loved to enjoy the beach and activities under better conditions. The positives: - there was plenty of food served at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erin J
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Warmest Greetings from Bazaruto! we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. Thank you for the detailed feedback. It is saddening to know that we did not live up to your expectations. Likewise we are thankful for...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the last part of a 3 location honeymoon and we loved it! The customer service is the best we have ever had. Beautiful rooms and views. Beds are not very comfortable but we slept just fine. They had many activities available. We did snorkeling, sand boarding and the spa. The spa is an absolute must for couples! We...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stacy, Warmest Greetings from Bazaruto! we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. We are most grateful to read such a lovely feedback of your honeymoon celebration with us, and we would like to once again extend our...

Montreal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff service helpful always there to answer all your requests. All included formula with a good variety of local and some imported drinks. Choose the king villas on the beach you will be just a few meters away from the ocean. More expensive rooms do not have direct access to the beach. Food quality is good.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan A
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stefan Warmest Greetings from Bazaruto! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. It is overwhelming to read that your stay was memorable. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the food and our service. On behalf of all...

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (421)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (204)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bazaruto Island
31.4 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
31.3 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
69 reviews
31.1 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 8 in Vilanculos
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
#2 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
144 reviews
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
150 reviews
14.8 km away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort

Address: Inhambane Province, Mozambique (Formerly Indigo Bay Island Resort and Spa)
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Bazaruto Island
Price Range: $1,192 - $2,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Bay Island Hotel Bazaruto Island
Indigo Bay Hotel
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort Mozambique
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Minneapolis, MN

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 bedroom villa at the top of the hill, close to the spa. Has the best views and the most privacy.”
  • Monkeys on our roof
  • Sunset from the balcony
  • Wine & Cheese on the deck
  • Dune Boarding at sunset
  • Sunset
  • Dhow Sunset Cruise
 of 5 bubbles MarissaX618, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beach Villa rooms 101 - 110 are close to all the amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles 667Mandy, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach villa”
 of 5 bubbles Mikey19877, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at a family villa with an extremely nice view and with seperate bedrooms for the kids”
 of 5 bubbles erichZ4271CP, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the villas on the hill for fabulous views.”
 of 5 bubbles rustsarah, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5