We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at 81

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Inn at 81
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Inn at 81
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This motel is very nice, independent and I'm glad I found it. It's clean, easy to find off of Interstate 81 and the staff was friendly. The room was clean, smelled good, had a comfortable bed, nice TV and decent internet. There are plenty off eating options close by from fast food to nice restaurants. The breakfast was excellent, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericbkihei
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

I always like a nice review, thank you for taking the time to fill it out. See you next time. Matthew

Trenton, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This is our 2nd stay. They have changed from Quality Inn. Its now independent Hotel. Now called The Inn On 81. But still comfortable place to stay. Good breakfast to get you going in the Morning. Room was clean and great for our two day stay. Also got to see Cindy at front Desk. Nice lady that works hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PVanlingen
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Thank you for the repeat business, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Owego, New York
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Stayed here one night and found the room adequate. Room was clean and temperature controls worked well. Nice to have a little fridge. Desk staff was average. One of the room key cards didn't work. Took it back to be rekeyed after walking way out of my way and found it still didn't work. Breakfast was pretty good. Daughter loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about the key issue. Glad to hear the rest of your stay was restful.

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Great hotel - friendly staff - good shopping location and close to the highway for Canadian shoppers. Beds very comfortable and very clean. Only complaint would be that the handicapped parking spots are not wide enough to swing door of large truck completely open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, next time feel free to take up a couple spots if needed or unload at the front door and one of us will park your car for you , not a problem. Thank you

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2016

With quick access to I-81 this jewel provides great hospitality & service. A former Quality Inn, i booked for the overnite to our annual NYC trip with Samaritan Hospital, 7/21/16. However, by chance, I had the opportunity to take in MADE IN NEW YORK FESTIVAL, 7/2/16 in nearby Sackett's Harbor. Accommodation\s were @ a premium, but took a chance &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don D
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a good time, Barbie is awasome ;) Thanks

Reviewed 20 July 2016

The location of this facility is very convenient...for that we were thankful. The rooms were reasonable but we stayed there twice in one week and both times my room had extremely poor or non working Air Conditioning.....in hot hot weather. The breakfast was very basic....not very good to be honest. The rate was appropriate if not even very fair. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reid F
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay. Sorry to hear about all the downfalls, when you pass through again we will definitely make sure everything is working.

AuSable Forks NY
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We were in town just for one night and booked the night before, this was the only motel available with a pool and a breakfast in our price range ($100 or less). The room they gave us smelled just awful as soon as you opened the door. It wasn't smoke or pets, just a very strong musty/dirty smell. I went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adkhmschm0m
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about the room, very glad Jay was helping. Thank you for your stay. Matthew

Christiansburg
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Front desk staff was very nice, breakfast area was pretty good, 24 hr Starbucks coffee and popcorn is a nice touch. Pool area was a decent size with places to sit and it's gated. Smoking area with picnic tables and a shelter was very nice. You can tell the hotel is older but they did a pretty good job on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merissa S
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Thank you for the stay and bringing that bathtub issue to our attention. Should not be there and will not be , promises you that. enjoy your day Matthew

Mississauga Ont. Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

The Inn was easy to get to right off the highway. Front desk ladies were very courteous and helpful as were all the other staff. Entrance was clean bright same as breakfast area. Good selection of breakfast food no shortage. Rooms were spacious and clean beds very comfortable pillows were great. Lots of restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nemurh
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and nice review. We look forward to seeing you again. Matthew

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 June 2016

This is our go-to hotel for shopping trips to Watertown. Some changes have been made like the closing of the restaurant but it is still a very reliable place. Friendly check-in staff, clean rooms, lots of parking, and great room amenities keep bringing us back. The only negatives we experienced was the breakfast buffet was mostly depleted of warm dishes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diverdan28
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that the breakfast was not being watched as it should be. That was addressed with the staff . Have a great day and hope to see you again next time your in town. Matthew

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Watertown
305 reviews
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 16 in Watertown
867 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 16 in Watertown
622 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn at 81 Watertown includes more of what you want when traveling to Northern New York State! We are a completely renovated and upgraded property with all our improvements completed for 2011. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast served daily, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Additionally, every guest room comes equipped with microwaves, mini-fridges and cable TV. The Inn at 81 Watertown is your best value near the Thousand Islands, Fort Drum, the Great Lakes Seaway Trail, and the entire Northern New York region. We offer the perfect accommodations whether you are in town to visit family stationed at Fort Drum, home to the Army's 10th Mountain Division, or to enjoy a weekend shopping trip from across the 1000 Islands Bridge. We are less than 1 mile from the newly expanded shopping district which includes the Salmon Run Mall, Sam's Club and Wal-Mart. A reminder to our friends from Kingston, Ontario - we are only 25 miles from the Canadian border! Adventure enthusiasts come to experience 14 sets of class III and IV rapids along the Black River. There's snowmobiling at Tug Hill Plateau and snowboarding and skiing throughout the Dry Hill and Thompson Park area. We offer plenty of parking for snowmobile travelers in the winter and are within a few minutes of multiple access points for the Black River. So whether you are Whitewater kayaking, flat water paddling, snowmobiling or skiing we've got you covered at The Inn at 81 Watertown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn at 81

Address: 1190 Arsenal St, Watertown, NY 13601-2212 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > New York > Watertown
Price Range: $85 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at 81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at 81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Watertown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn at 81 staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Courtice, Canada
over a year ago
over a year ago
Trenton, Canada
Savannah, Tennessee
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn at 81 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower numbers are closer to the lobby and breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles skalynuik, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room closer to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles ryryry, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Despite being on a very busy street, the hotel was quiet. We were on parking lot side.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnN752, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room away from parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles PVanlingen, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check the room you are given out before you unpack; if it has a rank smell let the front desk know.”
 of 5 bubbles adkhmschm0m, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay