We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 27: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I spent 2 nights at this Lodge. As far as Road Lodges go, no great view,....its a place to sleep - in transit.... However, I had to work in the room due to unforeseen circumstances and was pleasantly surprised. Good service for phone in food, cleaning staff, front desk staff all professional. Property is well manicured with trees and plants....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elroyp754
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our food offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Conveniently located close to O R Tambo Airport. Best service from the shuttle to the front line staff. They made sure I had the most comfortable stay. The rooms were very neat too. It wasn't my first visit here and they're consistent in offering exceptional service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patience_Mosarwa
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Patience Mosarwa and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 19 April 2015

We stopped at the Road Lodge on our way to and from the Kruger Park in April. This is not the first time we have stayed there and found the place to be very good. Very clean and friendly staff. We were not in the hotel for any length of time, only to sleep. Definitely had a good restful sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iancolt
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sleep! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewed 10 February 2015

I am not known for negative reviews and I remain a great supporter of the City Lodge Group but I was greatly disappointed by the service I received a this particular Road Lodge. My pillows even smelt like smoke and I couldn't sleep from all the noise from inconsiderate fellow travellers. I've never had this problem before at City Lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayleighandrew
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your loyalty to our group. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your latest stay at this particular hotel. Our aim is to offer a consistently good product at all of our hotels so we will certainly look into the points you have raised. We apologize again for your experience and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 January 2015

The Road Lodge Johannesburg is just a very short shuttle ride from OR Tambo airport. It is a very, very basic hotel, but always consistently clean and great friendly service. Room and bathroom are small, but for a quick overnight between flights, it's only about USD55. Clean, safe secure and a good night's sleep. Can't ask for more and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Small, clean rooms, perfect for the overnight stay especially on layover or stopover - or travellers wanting a clean bed, hot shower on a budget. Priced appropriately too. I walked in at 10pm without prior booking, didn't seem full. TVs are the old models ie not flatscreen, are small but have major channels in SA. I didn't try the breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kudzai M. M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport, responded to this review

We thank you for the good review. We're glad that you found the location convenient and enjoyed the standard of the room. We hope to see you with us again soon.

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Quick easy, quiter than closer to airport Good secure parking No frills but clean functional and ver reasonable particularly compared to extra cost for minimal extra benefit at more up market hotels near the airport. Close to Gautrain Rhodesfield station so easy access to Sandton

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mbovaan
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which we greatly appreciate.

Washington D.C.
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here on a brief overnight between flights and it worked, but nothing stood out. The rooms are tiny but clean, the parking is secure and there is a small breakfast area provided they have food. Be wary of the shuttle though, they don't run nearly as often as promised and took nearly 2hrs to pick me up from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you again at this hotel or perhaps at another hotel in our four brand group.

Reviewed 4 December 2012

On business trips to Johannesburg, I normally stay at the Town Lodge located just around the corner from it's lesser cousin. Noise late at night and early mornings was a problem, with banging doors, loud TV's and rowdy visitors. On the 2nd day I asked to be moved further away from the stairwell, but it made little difference in terms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our Lufthansa was 11hrs late and needed just some hours of sleep before +1000km drive. This is not fancy hotel, but good motel for some hours of sleep. Safe parking for rented car. Shower with hot water. Room is not big, but all sq.m:s are sensible used.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ettelbruck

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germiston
1.8 km away
Road Lodge Isando
Road Lodge Isando
#4 of 8 in Germiston
14 reviews
2.7 km away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 70 in Johannesburg
15 reviews
2.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
466 reviews
13.9 km away
Towers Lodge
Towers Lodge
#7 of 8 in Germiston
6 reviews
2.0 km away
Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in close proximity to the R24 Airport freeway in a pretty garden. The hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways for the northern, eastern and western suburbs. For a nominal fee a shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from O.R.Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport

Address: Kruin Street, off Herman Road | Harmelia Ext 2, Germiston 1600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Germiston
Price Range: $53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport Hotel Germiston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a rom away from the entrance but not on the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles tebellop2015, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor, there are no lifts. If you have a lot of luggage, do not take 1st floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles brigitteb636, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There's no lift in this lodge. If you have heavy bags, ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles mic0072016, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Corner room 135, more quiet but slower wi-fi”
 of 5 bubbles eurasian73, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Get a South facing room for peace and quiet. As to be woken at a certain time - if you struggle to get up or do not have an alarm.”
 of 5 bubbles elroyp754, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5