We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Start your review of Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
 Click to rate
Sun City, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The spot is Unique! On top of the mountain, total tranquility and dozens of wild horses surrounding you with a great view of the Drakensbergen. Friendly staff and very helpful with hike maps. Good routes varied from 1-6 hours. Stunning views, rock paintings and a waterfall to walk to. Please note that te last part of the rond to reach...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanna793
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear joanna793, Thank you very much for your amazing review here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our beautiful hiking trails. Thank you also for your kind words towards our staff. We are all looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place to stay, the views are breathtaking. Lovely hiking trails, comfortable accommodation and good food. Staff very helpful and friendly . The only thing I can complain about is the dirt road up to the hotel was in very bad condition.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 987roser
DrakensbergRetreat, Guest Relations Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear 987roser, We truly appreciate your kind review on the different aspects of Drakensberg Mountain Retreat. We hope you have the opportunity to experience Drakensberg Mountain Retreat again. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great overnight stay! Gerry, Ann, Theo and Allan welcomed and treated us like family! Very warm and open feel to the lodge, clean and comfortable rooms! Lovely dinner and breakfast and very persinalised treatment! Thank you! We can really recommend the Drakensberg Mountain retreat!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annettesK1550IP
DrakensbergRetreat, Guest Relations Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear annettesK1550IP, We appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Bemelen
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Uniquely located the mountain retreat provides the best view of the drakensberg theater.Magnificent walks can be made from the retreat. However with inclement weather all comfort is in house and the dining facillities are as good as can be expected. We came back and will do that again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mienjet R
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Mienjet R, Thank for leaving such a lovely review. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time. We look forward welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Gillitts, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful place! Nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be going back to enjoy ourselves again. Good food, gorgeous accommodation. Thank you Gary, you and your staff made us feel like family!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank natashabT3064VJ
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear natashabT, Thank you for your favourable review. It appears you had a fantastic time. We will let our staff know of your kind words and we do hope to see you again soon. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an out of season stay where the weather was grey and misty until all burned away to reveal the fantastic views of the Amphitheatre and the Drakensberg to Maluti mountains. Once up the rough road to the Retreat going back out needed determination because of the road and the comfort in staying in. The staff from manager to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherbW2611WH
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear christopherb, Thank you for your great review on Drakensberg Mountain Retreat. Your feedback is highly appreciated. We would love for you to visit us again! Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Clarens, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for a lovely stay in the mountains. The room was comfortable and neat and we had enjoyable meals with candle light in the evenings - that was very special, thank you. We will definitely com again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlenew99
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear marlenew99, Thank you for taking the time to review Drakensberg Mountain Retreat. We are most pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you wish to return. We look forward to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Stayed in the Lodge not the Barn. Room was spacious and comfortable. Beds and pillows great. The staff were friendly. Food was basic but good. Coffee on tap which was amazing! Location is stunning the views are amazing. The drive from the road into the venue is quite rough and long so be careful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beharries
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear beharries, Thank you for choosing our Retreat to be part of your trip. We appreciate your detailed review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Retreat and that you were happy with our hospitality and the facilities provided. We look forward to welcoming you here once more. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Overall our stay was wonderful. The home made meals in the evening are excellent, the views of the mountains and horses that roam freely is really breathtaking. There are some really spectacular hikes to take on the farm, some easy and some adrenaline packed. We were a bit dissapointed about the indoor pool not being heated as the fact that...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 403dimitrit
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear 403dimitrit, Thank you for sharing your comprehensive and lovely review following your recent stay. We were pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your visit. We regret your disappointment as regards the temperature of our indoor pool and take note of your constructive comments. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Nice staff and good food. The room was nice and clean. Next time I'm coming to that arear again that's the place I'm gonna stay..... see you......I was so stupid forget mine camara lins ..... but no problem ...... it was sent to me by Dhl....... thanks......

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank torbenj2017
DrakensbergRetreat, Front Office Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Dear torbenj2017, Thank you for your great review. It is always a compliment to us to know that guests wish to return and we look forward very much to welcoming you again. Yours Sincerely, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
2.8 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
216 reviews
7.4 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
30.7 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
575 reviews
4.3 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
423 reviews
31.4 km away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 11 in Bergville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Drakenberg Mountain Retreat is a stunning destination in the northern Drakensberg with breathtaking views. Accommodation at the Lodge is fully catered for breakfast and Dinner. Lunch can be ordered and can be enjoyed on the patio or a picnic basket for your walk in the mountains. The rooms range in quality and size so chat to the management if you want something specific. There are 2 luxurious rooms for romantic couples wanting a totally private retreat. Our pet friendly rooms have enclosed gardens and our large family rooms are wonderful for relaxing with the kids. There are no fixed entertainment activities for the kids. There are marked hiking trails for the fit and not so fit. Enjoy the streams, rivers and just be captured by the quiet of nature. Bring some board games for kids and some of their books from home. Useful on rainy days. The Lodge is set high on a ridge overlooking the northern Drakensberg, the Maluti mountains and most of the central Drakensberg. A wonderful base from which to experience what this part of the Drakensberg has in store for you. The BARNHOUSE is our Self Catering option on the same premises. It offers accommodation for groups and conferences. Enjoy the "homely" atmosphere and caring hosts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Address: Scheepersrus Farm | Bergville District Okhahlamba, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Price Range: $112 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Drakensberg Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Drakensberg Mountain Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are all close together so there is a bit of noise but not unbearable”
 of 5 bubbles beharries, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles lewismd30, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 has a fireplace and private atrium. I would book this one again.”
 of 5 bubbles Andree2011, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the luxury rooms if possible. They're lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles WanderlustLeo, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“2 qualities of accomodation to suit every budget.”
 of 5 bubbles isaacs860, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5