We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice hotel with friendly staff, very clean pool and nice rooms.The aircons worked however the internet needs improvement.Food was nice, decent variety at all times and the room service menu pretty vast. Within walking distance of most historic sites in town. Recommend it highly if on business and the beach is not a priority. Great for seminars & conferences.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kashif S
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is good and the room have air condition. The roof top restaurant as a good view of the ocean. The food is also good they have a buffet or menu for breakfast or lunch. It is very well located close to Old town a 5 minute walk with some good restaurant and shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maurice r
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the pleasure to stay at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel. Central located in Stone Town it's the perfect place to visit the city and to plan day trips to reach the most beautiful beaches in Zanzibar. The room was very nice. Big, well cleaned and with all the comforts. The hotel has a stunning terrace restaurant and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oscarsicuro
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oscarsicuro how can we express our most sincere gratitude for this wonderful review ... It was really our pleasure host you in our hotel and we hope to meet you soon in Zanzibar. Asante sana na Karibu tena! The Management

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited this hotel for only one night stay. It is located in Malindi area which is just few metres away from the sea port. It is a new hotel, the room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, tv was there though it had very few channels, bathroom was clean, their services were good. This hotel didn't have swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saleem-khatri
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear saleem-khatri It is with extreme pleasure that we proudly announce the official opening of our swimming pool. Thanks a lot for your kind and nice review and we hope to host you again and let you try our new open air garden pool in the middle of Stonetown! Asante Sana na karibu tena. The Management

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Stayed at the Golden Tulip ( formerly the Gran Palace) for 3 nights while in Stone Town. The location was perfect for touring around the old town and being close to the shore and restaurants. The air conditioning worked in all of our rooms and that was essential since Stone Town was extremely hot. The managers were really kind and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDW789
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MDW789 We are glad to have host you here in Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique and we thank you for your kind and positive review. In behalf of all the staff of the Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel Asante sana na Karibu Tena. The Management

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights. I have been to Africa a few times before so I keep my expectation low for hotel. However: 1. Lift was broken. Appreciate that Management was aware and compensate the inconvenience with free room service. However, during my 3 day stay, I didn't see anyone working on fixing the lift. Hakuna matata! 2. Air-Conditioning not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thuynguyen209
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thuynguyen209, thanks to have taken the time to review our hotel, we will take your comments as suggestion to improve our service. Unfortunately You never seen person fix the elevator because we are waiting the spears from abroad, unfortunately neither in Zanzibar neither in Tanzania they have the spears necessary to fix this elevator problem. Kindly allow me to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Golden Tulip three nights this past summer and again for another three nights in December. For a midrange hotel it's a good choice. If you're travelling alone the price point is great, but as a couple I find it a little steep. The location is great - right across from the ferry terminal. The breakfast that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renata R
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Renata R, many thanks for your positive review and we apologize for the inconvenient that you had with our front office service. We take your comments as important suggestion to improve our service for the future. In behalf of all the Hotel 's Staff Asante Sana na Karibu Tena! The Management

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Well located hotel with simple and very clean rooms. Helpfull staff and great choice of breakfast on a sunny terrace. Reasonable way to spent a night or two in Stonetown. Close to the all attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily B we loved your enthusiastic review at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the short future when we will have the new service of the pool and the new gym. Thanks you and welcome to Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique. The Management

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The hotel has just been taken over. All the rooms had newly been decorated and were very clean. They are in process of building a swimming pool in the garden which I think will be excellent when finished. The down side, the lift was not working due to the renevations being carried out. We dined on the roof top for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wilsons70
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wilsons70, All the Staff of the hotel is glad to have hosted you in our hotel and we hope to see you again in order to show you the new finalized garden pool! Thanks for your positive review, Karibu Zanzibar. The Management

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Close to the historic Old Town (where most of the old buildings are actually made of coral!) this beautiful resort is ideally located in the West Coast of Zanzibar, with easy access to the world famous Prison Island where you will witness Darwin's theory of evolution in progress while standing in the midst of giant tortoises (their second home after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SajiVarghese
ZGPH, Direttore at Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SajiVarghese, We are glad to have hosted you here in Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique and we thank you for your kind and positive review. In behalf of all the staff of the Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel Asante sana na Karibu Tena. The Management

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 km away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#21 of 37 in Zanzibar City
39 reviews
0.3 km away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
162 reviews
0.3 km away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#21 of 33 in Stone Town
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
84 reviews
0.9 km away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 33 in Stone Town
94 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar's beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (...) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel

Address: Malindi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 25524, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: $96 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sanaa, Yemen

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the rooms nest to elevator as they have a better”
 of 5 bubbles 178kashifs, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the back would be best”
 of 5 bubbles Wilsons70, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Maybe ask NOT to have room overlooking front entrance and the busy street”
  • Moorish and cool
 of 5 bubbles JudyG53, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Amazing sea view from the restaurant top floor, very close to ferry boat terminal”
 of 5 bubbles 512yuri, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms faced on the garden are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles miremirella, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5