We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins

Expedia.comUS$125*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$125*
Great Deal
US$127*
US$127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location! Close to Stone Town (with complimentary shuttle service from the hotel) but also on the beach. The staff were friendly and engaging and the food at the restaurant was lovely. The rooms and general amenities were adequate but not in keeping with Marriott/Protea standards. It seems like the ground staff are doing the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bhide_nlp
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Have had repeated stays in the hotel ranging from 3 days to seven weeks over a period of six months the fact that we stayed there repeatedly is a tribute to the overall satisfaction of the accommodation , the most pleasent and accommodating staff at all levels who repeatedly went out of their way to make our stays enjoyable.,the good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 764alan
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Facilities are good but no bath and the shower is fairly basic. However, the service much better. The seafood was excellent; wine not so. The ambiance is tropical and one of comfort. The ruins on site add a historic touch. Sunsets are magnificent.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AGrobler
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night for Marriott bonus point and received a (very) extended check-out time the day of leaving. Staff was very competent and friendly and organisation of a tour to prison island was very satisfactory. The location may feel a little isolated but there are free shuttles to and from the center of stone town.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PFN0412
DinishAntony, Group General Manager - Protea Hotels by Marriott ( Dsm/Znz) at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear PFN0412 Jambo from Protea Hotel by Marriott Mbweni Ruins Zanzibar. Thank you for staying with us and writing this great review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. I will share your feedback with the STAFF and thank them for their exceptional work. We look forward to host you again soon. Thanks and regards, Dinish...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 31 January 2017

In reserved online for $119 and upon arrival the hotel said that was a mistake and charged me $157. Rooms were dirty and while in the room, the staff came in to spray for mosquitos at about 8PM, Staff very rude on arrival

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 548bpalme
DinishAntony, Group General Manager - Protea Hotels by Marriott ( Dsm/Znz) at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear 548bpalme Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I understand that your booking was made for a single GUEST while you were two. Upon check-in the front office STAFF informed you about the same and advised the...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Our room was clean but small. Apparently even though we are Marriott Gold members, we have to ask for all of our rewards perks, as they were not honored here at all. After my experience in Tanzania, I believe this is on purpose, not mistake. Now, the shower was incredibly small, and the shower head was crappy, barely a pipe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jade W
DinishAntony, Group General Manager - Protea Hotels by Marriott Dsm/Znz at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear NotATravelNewbie Good day, I am extremely sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We strive to provide our GUESTS with a memorable stay & unforgettable experiences, but it seems that we failed to deliver these during your stay. We were scheduled to start our refurbishment which got delayed due to various reasons, but the dates...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Protea Hotel, Mbweni Ruins for 7 nights from 20 to 27 December. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We found the courtesy shuttle service to town to be a well thought of idea. The driver picked us on time and he was very friendly. On our departure, we found the driver at airport and he...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Moses S
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Needing a hotel near the airport given my 1 AM scheduled arrival, I booked the Protea through Agoda (couldn't book through Marriott). When I arrived, exhausted, at 2 AM, the hotel staff were so solitious. Within minutes I was checked in, had internet, and even was provided a plate of fresh fruit. My return flight a few days later was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TeenFoodiesMom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Pros: - beautiful gardens - small number of rooms - comfortable rooms with balconies - very attentive house keeping - very friendly and helpful staff - very clean - only 6km and 1500 Shillings by taxi away from Stonetown - small swimming pool - shower at the beach - great jetty and restaurant with beautiful view of the ocean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _Mags_NL
Barbados
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This is a super friendly boutique hotel. It is set in ruins of UMCA’s St Mary’s School for Girls and the grounds are steeped in history. The hotel is set in a tree covered site that slopes quite steeply down to the beach. It is a really beautiful location, but not necessarily good for people with mobility problems. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stewartmar

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
3:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
55.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
5.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
5.8 km away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
5.6 km away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
468 reviews
17.8 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only Protea in the beautiful Zanzibar, Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins provides the perfect choice for both beach and Stone Town holidays in Zanzibar. We are located amidst Mbweni Ruins dating back to 1870s and a beautiful botanical garden. The hotel is ten minutes away from Stone Town, airport, ferry terminal and the CBD of Zanzibar. Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins is a cozy boutique hotel offering serene accommodations amidst a rare blend of history, greenery and ocean with a beautiful beach. Traditional Zanzibar hospitality at its best is offered at an affordable price. It's a hotel that complements your travel style. The site where the hotel is built was once an old Arab house, which was then bought by UMCA missionaries in 1871 to build a school for girls. The hotel makes a perfect base for exploring Stone Town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins

Address: Plot number 143/93, Mbweni Street | Kiembe Samakie, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: $170 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mbweni Ruins
Protea Hotel By Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms 10 /11/ 12 & 14”
764alan, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have small showers, others have baths.”
  • Balcony on our 1st floor room.
_Mags_NL, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms closest to the sea have the best views.”
stewartmar, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a room by the jetty”
priteshz, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Carry mosquito repellent along with you”
samyakdba, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$127
TripAdvisorUS$127
TravelocityUS$127
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates