Parador de Pontevedra

Parador de Pontevedra

Traveller (399)
Room & Suite (126)
Parador de Pontevedra
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

C$141
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 16 hotels in Pontevedra
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Pontevedra? Then look no further than Parador de Pontevedra, a romantic hotel that brings the best of Pontevedra to your doorstep.

Rooms at Parador de Pontevedra provide a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Parador de Pontevedra guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. You can also enjoy a restaurant.

While staying at Parador de Pontevedra, visitors can check out Puente del Burgo (0.2 km) and Iglesia de San Bartolome (0.2 km), some of Pontevedra's top attractions.

Pontevedra has plenty of Mediterranean restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like A Ultramar, El Pitillo, and Il Piccolo, which are serving up some great dishes.

Pontevedra is also known for some great parks, including Parque de las Palmeras, Parque Natural Marismas del Alba, and Paseo Fluvial del Rio Gafos, which are not too far from Parador de Pontevedra.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Parador de Pontevedra as you experience everything Pontevedra has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:BECOME AMIGO OF PARADORES!

Location

Rua Baron 19, 36002 Pontevedra Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Vigo Airport
23.2 km
See all flights
Santiago De Compostela Airport
55.1 km
See all flights
751Reviews8Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 260
  • 279
  • 131
  • 43
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
cgandalf1967 wrote a review Feb 2023
Dallas, Texas263 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very special historical building in a really neat old medieval city like Pontevedra. Nothing fancy inside the rooms (but they are very comfortable). But supporting an investment in keeping up old historical buildings like this is a great way to spend one night on the Camino (and there aren't many places like this as stops). the breakfast was really nice also, and the location can't be beat (steps away from the Camino). Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded Apr 6, 2023
Dear cgandalf1967: We really appreciate your comment and assessment. We are glad to know that everything has been to your liking. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Best regards. Meritxell Marcos Peiro. Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin S wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom173 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very atmospheric old world experience with top class service as usual at a Parador.

The reception was very friendly and helpful, ensuring we were able to park our car in a good spot, considering they only have spaces for about 8 cars this was a real bonus.

The terrace was delightful to sit and sip a glass of beer or wine with plenty of shade.

We found the location to be perfect to enable us to explore the city.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded Apr 30, 2022
Dear martinsB3397PG: We greatly appreciate your comment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed, especially a good beer on our terrace. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Best regards. Meritxell Marcos Peiro. Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joacobry wrote a review Feb 2020
Portugal66 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pontevedra should be listed among the most friendly tourist city's to visit and if you go, don't forget its Parador. Situated well in the pedestrian old city area, it is very comfortable to walk to most city landmarks, churches, musueum, shops and bars. The offer is good withing a short half hour circuit and the beauty of the old town will enchant you. Tapas are like in most Spanish city's a must and also here, the amount and different type of bars is large, so will find what you like, if not first time aorund, then on the second or third stop.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parador P, Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Dear joacobry Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Parador de Pontevedra. One of the fundamental values of our company is to offer quality, personalized guest services. Receiving positive feedback such as yours gives us great satisfaction and I kindly ask for your permission to share it with all our team. We hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels and restaurants. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any other information. We will be delighted to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Meritxell Marcos Peiró Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
19beth123 wrote a review Nov 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom43 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On the Camino we stayed at the Parador for 1 night. First impressions were very good, a beautiful outside entrance and elegant reception/hall with sweeping staircase and bar to the rear. If we had arrived by car I think we would have had difficulty in parking in the small courtyard. The rooms were furnished nicely with a good bathroom in marble. The down side was the evening meal. Really expected the food to be fantastic but what a let down. Returned my meal of Cod as it was luke warm and it came back micowaved! It was still inedible. Our friend ordered a burger and chips and received a dismal burger with no salad/tomatoes/dressing at all and a tiny basket of crisps! We all agreed it was a terrible meal. The breakfast next morning was not much better. All in all I would sleep there but not eat there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sleep but find a local restaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded Dec 31, 2021
Dear 19beth123: We appreciate the time spent discussing your stay with us. We are very sorry that the food was not to your liking, being one of the most valued services of our Parador. It is important to read the composition of the dishes, as it includes the ingredients and the preparation. The cod is served cooked at a low temperature and the hamburger does not have any type of salad, as it is served with Galician cheese that is au gratin in front of the customer. We hope to be able to serve you again in one of our hotels and restaurants. Best regards. Meritxell Marcos Peiró. Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda B wrote a review Dec 2021
Brussels16 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in the Parador (in october) during our camino portugues.
It is a beautiful old building and the stone staircase in the entrance hall is fabulous.
Staff were very friendly. We even could speak dutch because the receptionist was from the Netherlands.
Nice room, good location in the old town.
The buffet breakfast was very good.
We booked the pilgrim's option (credencial passport is needed which is normal) and that was well worth it.
To recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded Dec 31, 2021
Dear linbuel: We greatly appreciate your comments and assessment. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Parador and our restaurant. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Best regards. Meritxell Marcos Peiró. Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve W wrote a review May 2022
Binghamton, United States4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a reservation at the hotel for 29 May, the hotel billed me for a stay on 29 April due to a mistake either on the part of Booking.com or the hotel. Both of them refuse to give me a refund for a night I wasn't even there. Hard to give a good rating in a case like this
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded May 11, 2022
Dear Steve W: We thank you for the time dedicated to commenting on your experience with our Parador. As we have already informed you, you made your reservation with booking for April 29. We cannot alter the data that you entered in your reservation and that, in turn, booking confirmed you by mail. Your reservation was made for April 29, 2022 and guaranteed. By not staying, changing or canceling your reservation, the Parador has no choice but to charge the no show, since we were full on a date that is a holiday in Spain. Contact booking to clarify with them where the error has been, if it was you when making the reservation or them when sending you the confirmation. Sincerely. Meritxell Marcos Peiró. Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brigitte f wrote a review May 2022
17 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointing visit to Pontevedra: 15-16 May; appeared fully booked. Reception very efficient.
Restaurant/Breakfast: struggled to keep up with breakfast Service. Two very competent waitresses were overwhelmed by number of guests both days. Long queues around the buffet as top up from kitchen seemed slow.
Restaurant/Dinner, both nights - full Restaurant two waitresses, proficient.
Sunday: good quality food, however nearly 3 hours passed from start to finish.
One waitress, although masked, was rushing to serve guests and coughing a lot.
Monday: Dinner did not live up to usual quality.
Arroz Caldoso = flavourless containing overcooked broccoli.
Bacalao = very chewy, con pimientos asados = these were squishy and bitter. 3+ hours from start to finish.
The coughing waitress from the previous night was again on duty, rushing around serving food, masked, however, now with continuous, persistent hacking cough.

I'm writing this as I have come away with more than I ordered, a persistent hacking cough - a coincidence?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded May 19, 2022
Dear T3600CRbrigittef: We appreciate the time spent commenting on your stay with us. We are sorry that it was not entirely to your liking. All our staff wear protective masks, both for clients and for themselves. Just because a person coughs doesn't mean they're sick, and coincidentally, the masks worn by all our waiters protect customers. Perhaps you should analyze the places where you have been and where you have not used a mask, because it is no longer mandatory in Spain. Regarding our restaurant service, I find it really surprising that you say that it took 3 hours to eat, given that both in our records and in the hours of issuing our invoices there is no delay, and our restaurant opens at 8:30 p.m. h and closes at 11:00 p.m., that is, two and a half hours total, with which you indicate that you finished dinner after our staff had left work. As for breakfasts, you could choose between the 4 times proposed from the reception, we cannot prevent all clients from wanting to use the first one, and currently there is no longer any capacity restriction, although we continue to have it below what we are allowed. . Unfortunately it is very easy to make unfounded accusations hiding behind an nick that allows you not to identify yourself. Sincerely. Meritxell Marcos Peiró. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rock203 wrote a review Jul 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand88 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the entrance way and how there is onsite parking with locked gates at night. The staircase and furniture on the hotel was just lovely, old and very much suited the style of the hotel.

The gentleman that checked us in Reiner I think it was he was so very helpful and very nice to deal with. Rooms we nice tried to booked a suite but there were none available. Bar and courtyard outside was lovely.

A couple of things that weren’t so good was we had a odour in our room smelt like wet clothes, toilet smell and the level above us the room was very noisy re people walking on the wooden floors as they do creak quite a lot. We just happen to have experience the room above us the guests were very late wondering around their room etc which seemed loud when you are trying to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Dear rock203 We really appreciate the time you took to comment on your stay with us. We are very happy to know that it has been to your liking. We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay, we are in the process of improving our facilities. We hope to be able to serve you again in one of our hotels and restaurants. Best regards. Meritxell Marcos Peiro. Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francisco Jose Fernandez Sanchez wrote a review Sep 2021
Las Rozas, Spain601 contributions157 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This parador is built in an old refurbished building that has a staircase and a facade that is said to be visited even if you are not staying in the parador
It is very central and from it you can visit all the monuments of Pontevedra on foot
Its access by car is not easy, it is located in a pedestrian area and is also not well indicated, also it only has a limited number of places, 10, so it will be better to park your car in a nearby public parking.
The rooms are well prepared, comfortable and with old objects to see and enjoy.
The restaurant and the cafeteria offer a wide and good Galician food, you can enjoy it on the terrace that overlooks a wonderful patio, although the rooms are small,
Breakfast is not very abundant, I recommend doing it outside in some of the incredible squares that surround the parador you have to reserve
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a junior suite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Estimado FRANCISCO JOSE F: Le agradecemos el tiempo dedicado a comentar su estancia con nosotros. Nos alegra mucho saber que ha disfrutado de su habitación y de nuestra terraza. Esperamos poder volver a atenderle pronto. Un saludo. Meritxell Marcos Peiró. Directora
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cusack1987 wrote a review Apr 2024
County Dublin, Ireland3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would love to be writing a positive review as on first impression, the palador was fantastic. The decoration, the history, the room, the bed sheets, the bed, everything was fantastic. I was even looking forward to future visits to other Paladors's.

However, when my wife and I went to bed, we noticed a noise. There was a bang and a continuous noise that lasted for about 20 seconds and another bang to end 20 second break then it went again. It sounded a lot to me like a water pump turning on and off. For about 2 hours, from 01:00 to 03:00 we tried to tolerate it and go asleep but at 3 we rang downstairs. We didn't get any real solution and we ended up staying in the same room. Apparently the hotel was full and so we had a terrible sleep.

We didn't get much sympathy at reception either when we were checking out, which was a little bit disappointing. Our night away was ruined by a bad sleep and next day ruined by tiredness.

The room below us complained too and we got the impression that this was not the first time such a complaint was made…. Come on Parador accept responsibility and fix the issue, don't let any more guests suffer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from parador pontevedra, General Manager at Parador de Pontevedra
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear cusacl1987: We very much appreciate your comment. We are very sorry that our Parador was not to your liking and the inconvenience that you describe to us. During your stay there was a breakdown in the installation of the kitchen cameras which caused the motors to run during the night, generating an unusual noise. We have already taken the necessary measures to fix it. We apologize. We hope to serve you again in one of our hotels and restaurants. All the best. Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from parador p
Province of Pontevedra, Spain9 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Mur3: As you can read in our answer, it was false. We dont have bed bugs. Best regards
Geoff L asked a question Sep 2017
Calgary, Canada13 contributions9 helpful votes
Is there a fitness center nearby?
Answer from antoniobB3504GR
Ocala, Florida77 contributions41 helpful votes
I did not see one, it is a small sleepy town as described previously. You can do a lot of walking instead.
Lubnna 🌸 asked a question May 2019
Spain667 contributions21,011 helpful votes
¿ Hay alguna habitación o suite que disponga de balcón ?. Gracias 😊
Answer from parador p
Province of Pontevedra, Spain9 contributions1 helpful vote
Solo dos Junior suite tienen balcón al jardín pero es muy estrecho y no se puede utilizar ni poner mobiliario. Otras dos habitaciones tiene acceso a un pequeño balcón con silla y mesa, pero da al patio de entrada al Parador. Realmente no son muy operativos ninguno de ellos. Atentamente
Answer from Eduardo A
Community of Madrid, Spain20 contributions42 helpful votes
Es cierto que las plazas son muy limitadas, ya que solo el patio de acceso al Parador presenta unas 8 plazas aproximadamente a lo sumo 10 si son vehiculos pequeños. Por supuesto que no hay ningún cargo por aparcar en ellas.
Answer from parador p
Province of Pontevedra, Spain9 contributions1 helpful vote
Estimado Jose Manuel. Aunque en la entrada del Parador disponemos de 10 plazas para aparcar, si no se llega pronto es muy complicado tener la oportunidad de encontrar una libre. A 300 m del Parador tenemos un parking publico cuyo coste diario ronda los 13 € y en la zona de la Ría también se puede buscar aparcamiento libre. Espero haber resuelto su consulta. Atentamente. Meritxell Marcos. Directora.
TullyChester wrote a tip Oct 2022
Chester170 contributions93 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the restaurant for a dinner, you won't be disappointed!"
Read full review
Lucie M wrote a tip Jul 2022
Vancouver, Canada209 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Second floor, overlooking the garden."
Read full review
karina d wrote a tip Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom207 contributions122 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"high floor"
Read full review
Susan L wrote a tip Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom62 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Packed lunch not great!"
Read full review
19beth123 wrote a tip Nov 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom43 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sleep but find a local restaurant"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pontevedra area.
PRICE RANGE
C$172 - C$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parador de hotel pontevedra
LOCATION
SpainGaliciaProvince of PontevedraPontevedra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Parador de Pontevedra - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Parador de Pontevedra
Which popular attractions are close to Parador de Pontevedra?
Nearby attractions include Casco antiguo de Pontevedra (0.2 km), Plaza de la Lena (0.3 km), and Basilica de Santa Maria (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Parador de Pontevedra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Parador de Pontevedra?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Parador de Pontevedra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Parador de Pontevedra?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Parador de Pontevedra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gumer Pontevedra, DüKELA, and IceWolf Pontevedra.
Does Parador de Pontevedra offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Parador de Pontevedra?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Parador de Pontevedra?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puente del Burgo (0.2 km), Pazo de Mugartegui (0.2 km), and Cruceiro Praza das Cinco Rúas (0.08 km).
Is Parador de Pontevedra accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pontevedra HotelsPontevedra Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PontevedraHotels near Parador de Pontevedra
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars