We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Booking.comUS$120*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked Wairua for the remote location in the Coromandel forest. It didn't disappoint in this respect, the lodge is well into the jungle down many windy roads, so you have a great feeling of seclusion when you arrive. That said, you are still in easy reach of Whitianga and Coromandel town. The owners are very friendly people and really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craigsoota
Charltam, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback and the sensitive way you have presented it.The Hidden Valley is certainly as much about its natural structure as it is about the accommodation itself.We do not respond to reviews normally as we believe it is an international conversation between travelers.In this case thanks for your feedback directed to us and we will assess...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Set amongst gorgeous native NZ bush, the lodge offers boutique, comfortable (although quite tiny) accommodations. We felt like this was like an upmarket camp/retreat; great for couples (the outside bath is amazingly romantic) or for groups. What makes the lodge very special is the couple who own, live and manage the property. Very friendly, approachable and thoughtful, they make guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RestnRecreation
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here after our wedding and absolutely loved it, it was just what we needed! We had booked in to a king snug room but were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been put in the River Deck Suite for our honeymoon stay. It's a great suite with everything you need, plenty of room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Watagem
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Fabulous secluded location and very friendly hosts. Room was a little compact, but more than compensated for by the setting. A great location from which to explore Coromandel and to get a feel for the native bush.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NZ_20132014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here and used it as a base to explore The Coromandel with day trips. The property itself is a little hidden secret and is truly a magical experience, with streams to swim in and an outdoor spa underneath the bright stars. Our hosts Tam and Charles were warm and welcoming offering insider local knowledge for our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boganvillia
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Wairua Lodge and all enjoyed every minute. The space, the peace, the facilities were great and appreciated by my wife, myself and our 20 and 14 year olds. The welcome and introduction by Charles on our late arrival was friendly and informative and brought big smiles to our faces. We couldn't wait to try the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent two nights at Wairua Lodge and we really enjoyed. The setting is absolutely beautiful and it's a wonderful place to relax. I also especially enjoyed the treetop bath and going for a dip in the swimming hole. The location was convenient to other places in the area, and Tam and Charles were great at anticipating the needs of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roxdebruyn
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our first b & b experience and we loved it. The gardens and surroundings are spectacular and everything is just so lovely. There are short walks and hikes nestled amongst the valley and a lovely little spot for swimming too. Not to mention the relaxing places to sit and just enjoy each other's company. We will definitely be back. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly M
London
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Tam and Charles were wonderful hosts right from the start - Tam even took us around the property to show us where everything was. Charles lit up the "campfire" on the last night we were there :-) Both Tam and Charles were always more than happy to offer advise or recommendations in terms of places to visit and eat. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGOLALO
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Upon arrival you are greeted by hosts Tam & Charles and provided information about the property, attractions and surroundings. We were lucky enough to have one night in The River Deck, but we could have stayed a week or more to enjoy the accommodation and property. Even though we only had one night we made the most of it, from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkantlers

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
9.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
483 reviews
31.3 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
9.8 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
261 reviews
11.7 km away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 23 in Whitianga
114 reviews
9.5 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range: $178 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take food and any special supplies to avoid the need to go back to town.”
mark2390, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The River Suite is the only private room - every other room has people walking past and you have to keep your curtains closed.”
tron412, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The River suite has all the amenities for a few days stay”
PeachP633, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Wouldn't worry about getting room with private BBQ as we had no issues using the communal one.”
EleanorB264, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“great walks, away from city, relaxing, peaceful, elegant”
Leahlisa, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$120
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates