We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Riverbend Lodging

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Riverbend Lodging
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Via GPS it was kind of difficult to find. It kept taking us around downtown Bryson City for some odd reason. The drive in to the location is kind of a pain as there's not much to indicate where you need to turn into. I wish they had two openings (one on each side) but I'm not sure that's possible... More 

Helpful?
Thank xlovexmexdearlyx
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like to stay at local, out of the way places and this one just wasn't quite what I thought. It was not nearly as secluded as I had anticipated it being. It sits down in a valley on a busy road and the road noise was quite loud if you didn't have the TV on although it did quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crystal0466
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

The motel is old but the rooms were clean. Not sure I would go back. I was disappointed with previous reviews about how nice it was- that is why I booked here . The owners were nice enough to let us see the room before we paid. The bed was the most miserable thing I've ever slept on-so realize it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

We're so sorry that you did not like the bed in your room! We do get a lot of customers who really like our beds, a guest yesterday even asked what brand they were because she liked it so much. But I realize that the hardness or softness of a mattress is a matter of personal taste; it's impossible to... More 

Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Let me start by saying I am an avid traveler and that before writing a review I read other reviews, good and bad. We stayed here for the first time last week and I picked the location based on the river setting and the fact that many reviews pointed out the cleanliness of the place. When we arrived both were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingBison
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. You have given a lot of information for other people to consider and that's great! FYI, the fire-pit is for guests to use; we just keep it closer to the house so that it doesn't bother people sitting behind the motel. But any adult guests are welcome to use it. We're so happy that... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Place smelled of smoke everywhere. Could not get away from the cloud. Guests are allowed to smoke on the property, cigars seemed to be the favorite. Claimed balcony outside rooms. It is a one story building with a common deck full of ashtrays for the smokers.

Helpful?
Thank Douglas O
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

We're very sorry that you were bothered by other guests who were smoking outdoors, but the property as a whole is not non-smoking. There is absolutely no smoking allowed in our rooms or the breezeways directly outside of the rooms, but smoking is allowed in other outdoor areas. The guest smoking a cigar was at the far end of the... More 

Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

amazingly quaint spot on the river,,,clean,,cute and so warming,,,we stopped over during a visit to bryson for a train ride,,,owners were so welcoming and open with surrounding area and spots to check out,,,timing didnt allow for a longer stay,,,but will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you found us and enjoyed your visit. Please be sure to come back for that longer stay! More 

Alcoa, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My husband and I decided at the last minute to get away for a night in Bryson City. I'm glad we took a chance on the Riverbend Lodging. It's very close to downtown with all the cute restaurants and shops, and the Ingles grocery store is a minute away on the other side. It's situated right on the river and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Laila436
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! We're very glad that you took a chance on us and enjoyed your stay here. Please come back and see us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We loved our stay at Riverbend Lodging! My two daughters and I stayed in the Family room and it was in a great location with a beautiful view of the river and the mountains. It was clean, centrally located and quiet with a grill right outside that we used to cook. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't it but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MelDef
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! I remember you and your girls and I'm so happy that you were comfortable here and enjoyed your stay. Now you need to return when your husband can join you...bring the girls for the Peanuts Halloween or Polar Express train ride. I'm sure they would love it! More 

Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed at Riverbend on Friday, September 2. We booked our accommodations through Trip Advisor, based on reviews published on their website. We paid $187, which includes all taxes, for what was termed a 'large family room'. It has been correctly stated in other reviews that the owners are friendly and helpful and that is certainly true. It is as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fran T
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review of Riverbend Lodging; we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your room or your stay. The room is listed as a large room based on the fact that it will sleep 4 people, has a table and chairs, a recliner, and a full bathroom with the tub/shower combo. The amenities of the... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We had a great stay. This was probably the "place to stay" in the 1950s - it is that again. The owners are very friendly. It is located on the river, convenient to downtown Bryson City and a 20 minute drive to Nantahala Outdoor Center. Our room was clean, freshly painted and comfortable. They have tables with chairs out back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dougas S
Melissa_and_Rod_RB, Owner at Riverbend Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate how hard we work to keep everything clean and comfortable, even though it was, as you guessed, built in the 50's. We love our location, views, and sunsets too! Please come back and see us again! More 

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
0.9 km away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
1.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
7.1 km away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
200 reviews
1.1 km away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#8 of 10 in Bryson City
84 reviews
7.8 km away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riverbend Lodging on the Tuckasegee River is a small, family-owned property with motel rooms, a cedar cabin, and a 2 story cottage available for rent. All rooms offer a microwave, small refrigerator, a coffee maker, and access to several charcoal grills. The cabin also has a stovetop for cooking, the cottage has a full kitchen. The property offers all guests access to the fishing deck, the river, and beautiful river views. The location is very convenient to Bryson City, the Great Smoky Mountains National Park entrance, entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Nantahala National Forest and Outdoor Center, and the Tsali Recreation Area. This offers guests easy access to hiking, biking, rafting, kayaking, tubing, mining, and many other outdoor activities. Also nearby are Harrahs Casino in Cherokee, the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, the Nantahala Brewing Company, and an assortment of wonderful shops and restaurants! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverbend Lodging

Address: 470 Highway 19 S, Bryson City, NC 28713-9541
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Price Range: $127 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverbend Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riverbend Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverbend Lodging staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Liberty, Mississippi
3 months ago
Bryceville, Florida
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Riverbend Lodging staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabin by the river”
 of 5 bubbles xlovexmexdearlyx, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 has great view of the mountains and lake!”
 of 5 bubbles MelDef, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick the cabin for 2 people.”
 of 5 bubbles DolphSewell, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Most of the rooms are on the river, a few are not, and are less expensive. Two cabins are available in addition to the regular rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 995stanleyw, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are right by the river and parking.”
 of 5 bubbles Kathym1115, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay