We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cape Hatteras Motel

06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cape Hatteras Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cape Hatteras Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This is now are 4th trip to Buxton, and this motel. We have such a great time here, that nothing compares to it. This time we came with friends, it was the first time for them. The beach, pool and hot tub are exactly what we needed. The motel worked out perfect, they all loved it. We fished, rented a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia C
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! Hope to see you again soon.

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Large rooms, friendly staff that were quick to accomodate us when our tv acted up and also when we needed extra towels and toilet paper. The bayside room was perfect for us and another couple; each couple had their own room with a full-size bed and a twin-size bed. Both rooms had plenty of outlets, drawers for clothing with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmileAtTheTrees
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We do try to fix issues quickly - so if you were out our maintence man would do his best to resolve the problem for you. Not sure what the pungent odor was - we'll look into it. Hope to see you again.

Charlestown, Indiana
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

If your looking for a Hilton or Double Tree experience- they're up the road. If you want to be 20 feet from the ocean and hear the roar of the waves... This is it. The hotel was built in 1949 and last renovated in 2005- so 11 years since its last renovation shows... But that's what makes this a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank applguy
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for the review. Look forward to hosting you again soon.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We loved our 2 bedroom suite right on the ocean. The suite was very clean and smelled good. Very simple but solid hotel. We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch as well as the super easy beach access. The place reminded me of simpler times, sorry to sound cheesy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephanieAustin85
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Cape Hatteras Motel early July (as part of a planned Road Trip around NC, Virginia and Tennessee this summer. We arrived at the Motel before check in time .. but we're given the keys straight away .. no hassle at all. We were lucky enough to get an Ocean view room .. very rustic .. right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You really got a lot out of your time at the beach. Hope you'll be back soon!

Montgomery, Illinois
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Definitely a more simple, older hotel.but WOW! On their beautiful, clean beach views literally steps out the door- AND you can open your windows and hear the waves all day and night.glimpses of the sound side and full on Atlantic.we went right after the storm, they were doing clean up, but working hard to fix it back up! We selected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We hope you'll be back soon!

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 1 night and definitely impressed. Now keep in mind that this is an older hotel family run business so it's not the Ritz or W but they do a wonderful job. The owner called the day before our stay to tell us that they had some sand and some repairs that neened to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hcoltrain
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the view. Thank you for your understanding about the storm!

comanche, oklahoma
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Spent most of our time on the beach. Early for the sunrise, late for the sunset, and then waiting on the high tide late at night. Not crowded and space for everyone. Nice beach and the room was right there. Liked the ease of location of beach to room. A brief shower didn't deter us because one building was up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank najbrock
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The porches are great when we have "liquid sunshine." We look forward to hosting you again!

Fremont, Michigan
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed here last October and absolutely fell in love. We could have sat in the rockers on the deck/porch and never moved. Are the rooms perfectly modern? No, however they supplied exactly what we needed. They were clean, everything worked fine and the view & sound were to die for. We are actually headed back down for 5 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen D
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and your insights into what we offer. We always strive for improvements where needed, but always want to true be true to the Harteras vibe. Look forward to seeing you soon!

Columbia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed here for our first visit to OBX in July 2015 and we returned this July. We recommend this Motel not only for the location right on the beach and ocean but also for the pleasant staff and clean town home. Yes, the rooms have a retro appearance but remodeling for the sake of remodeling is a waste of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BB1053
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and your perspective. An outlook like yours is refreshing. We will continue to work on upgrades because they are always needed. We are pleased to know there are guests, like you, who accept exactly what we offer and who we are, and you enjoy your vacation as a result. We hope...

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
16.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
45 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
291 reviews
0.1 km away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $240 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island/Buxton, NC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
8 months ago
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
8 months ago
Alexandria, Virginia
8 months ago
Green Mountain, North Carolina
1 month ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for beachfront if you want it - also the stairs to upper floors are steep so ask for lower level if you can't do the stairs.”
EastTNTraveler, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean-front is definitely the best!”
kayb49825, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book early”
RSGaines, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a room Oceanside for a real Outer Banks experience; you can watch the waves and hear the surf from your room.”
swamplady, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 310 or 312 are perfect - the best...!!”
  • Standing inside the room, this is the view...... heaven on earth for me :)
Sofisticat, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates