We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cape Hatteras Motel

12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cape Hatteras Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cape Hatteras Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Pittsburgh
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Where to start? From Arthur helping my husband and I at 4:30 in the morning, to the welcoming staff later that morning to finish our check in. You could not ask for a more welcome, friendly, accommodating staff. This hotel is clean, inviting, and comfortable; not to mention it is situated on the perfect spot -both oceanfront and sound side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennkruel
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 17 May 2016

The people at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. The room was 2nd floor efficiency. Very clean and comfortable. The view was the best. You could hear the pounding surf as you lay in bed. This was our 2nd stay. Does not disappoint.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie K
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Cape Hatteras Motel on the Outer Banks. We had a very restful time. The beach is fantastic, the sound of the surf was the perfect white noise to lull you to sleep. The room was simple, yet comfortable. Fridge in room was convenient. Great price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to hosting you again!

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We had a nice stay and no complaints. Everything was clean and comfortable. Throw back to the 80's. Wish we had stayed on the water for the wonderful sunrises. I didn't get to meet David or Arthur. I guess that's because we didn't have any problems. 😎

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb A
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate the review -- especially the notes on cleanliness which we are working on every day. We do hope to get out of the 80s in the near future with some upgrades. We're working on it! Come back and see us and we'll be sure you meet Dave and Arthur!

Richmond, VA
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Cape Hatteras Motel. Check in was friendly and simple. We inquired if we could get a room next door to another family we were travelling with. It wasn't possible but they were so nice and didn't act annoyed or put out that we asked them to look. We stayed in room 117. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicksboo
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. And thanks for the feedback on the light issue - we'll give it some thought! Hope to see you again soon!

Clear Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Office folks were friendly and helpful. The room was all we needed and everything worked except the microwave which was promptly replaced. My wife isn't normally an early riser but she certainly was here for the stellar sunrise. So very different part of our country compared to MN. Good weather except for one day of high winds. The sand drifts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post this review! We look forward to hosting you again.

Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

My first trip to the OBX was in Nov. 2015. I went alone and it was the best decision I've ever made. This motel looked perfect for me and I was not disappointed. I have no idea how anyone could leave anything less than a stellar review. This motel was charming, very clean and very spacious! I opted for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jessicaboyd1977
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We continue to make improvements on our property, but happy the view never needs improvement! We look forward to your next visit.

Cliffside, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The location alone was our selling point. Right on the beach. Could watch dolphins and beautiful sunrises from the shared deck. Now to the not so good. Carpet definitely needed cleaning. I understand there is a lot of sand that gets tracked in but we stayed in March so I know over the winter months that carpet could have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April W
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate the review and we agree with all of the points made by this guest. We had several buildings closed during the storms of this past winter and we are working diligently to repair/replace all the items that require attention including cleaning or replacing carpets, blinds, and the door locks which get filled with sand and salt. Happily we...

Virginia
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We stayed during Easter in a townhouse. First, the not so great: The bottom entryway smells like grandma's basement - damp and moldy smelling. The rest of the room was OK and clean. There is a lot of rust though. The freezer had rust, the bathroom furnishings, the glass sliding door area. Appliances and furnishings are definitely dated. The positive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cakemama76
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. There is no doubt the view is without comparison. We are working toward the upgrades you mention. The severe storm in February created issues at the entrance ways of the townhouses and we are in the process of making the necessary improvements as quickly as we can. We hope you will come back to jon...

Flowery Branch, Georgia
Reviewed 11 December 2015

We had a 2-BR unit on the third floor overlooking the ocean; nothing fancy but clean and spacious. Great for watching dolphins and surfers, cooking our meals for 6, and spreading out over a jigsaw puzzle. Rocking chairs and windows that open were two favorite things; also love the location - only a short drive to the ferry and close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlivelyOnTheGo
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review! We hope you will visit with us again soon.

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
16.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
45 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
291 reviews
0.1 km away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $239 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island/Buxton, NC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
9 months ago
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
9 months ago
Alexandria, Virginia
8 months ago
Green Mountain, North Carolina
1 month ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for beachfront if you want it - also the stairs to upper floors are steep so ask for lower level if you can't do the stairs.”
EastTNTraveler, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean-front is definitely the best!”
kayb49825, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book early”
RSGaines, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a room Oceanside for a real Outer Banks experience; you can watch the waves and hear the surf from your room.”
swamplady, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 310 or 312 are perfect - the best...!!”
  • Standing inside the room, this is the view...... heaven on earth for me :)
Sofisticat, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates