We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cape Hatteras Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cape Hatteras Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cape Hatteras Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 257: English reviews
Culpeper, Virginia
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Air conditioner was noisy, but room was clean, staff was friendly, and location was convenient. Room was cleaned everyday. Towels replaced. All was as it should be. Bed was comfy and there were plenty of pillows and blankets. Hotel is a bit older, and has older hotel issues of course. The price was appropriate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccamcanallen
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We will continue to work on upgrades as we can to provide the optimal Hatteras experience. Thank you!

Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 September 2015

If you want to stay ON the beach, this is your place. With that said, you need to be a "camper" to stay here. Screens have holes, kitchen drawers have debri in them and I washed all dishes before using. My daughter found hair and sand in her bed. She refused to sleep there and covered the floor with blankets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen8789
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry for this guest's less than optimal experience. As the owner of a very small establishment, I am surprised I did not hear of these issues as I personally address all complaints brought to my attention and we make it right. I have reinforced to our desk staff the importance of passing concerns along to me as I...

Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

If you are a low maintenance guest just looking to spend time at the ocean with no frills, Cape Hatteras Motel might be the place for you. 1. The rooms are circa 1950s style with some of the furniture in rough shape. 2. The walls are thin so you will hear your neighbors doing just about everything including being out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank obxdream
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry our guest found his stay less than satisfactory. Our pool is cleaned every morning by a certified pool cleaner. The pool is used heavily during the season. We do not advertise it as heated. The whirlpool is heated and is working. Many people feel you have to have large bubbles on the surface as evidence it is...

Henrico, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Totally worth the money. SOOOOO close to the water. It was perfect. For an extra $15 we had the ocean facing room and it was great. I checked tons of places and we thought about saving money (because we're thrifty!) but this place was just really nice and exactly what we wanted. We enjoyed the beach more being right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Cape Hatteras Hotel is a wonderful place to stay on the outer banks. It was a quiet relaxing week on the beach for me and my wife. Weather was great hotel is very nice. Oceanfront is exactly what they mean. Right on the ocean. Awesome. Cant wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie J
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again!

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed at the Cape Hatteras Motel for three days in August 2015. It was one of the most amazing trips of my life. The place is just right next to the ocean and you see and hear the ocean waves from your room window. There is nothing more relaxing in the world than sleeping with the sound of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Korbala
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would like to remind our guests that other room types have full kitchens available. It all depends on what your needs are. We hope to see you again!

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Everything about my stay at this motel was perfect. The rooms are picturesque and cozy, as if you are staying at your own beach house. The pastel and beach-themed decor are beautiful. The rooms are also incredibly clean and organized. The beds are big and comfortable. The bathroom and shower are spacious. They also offer free wifi in the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane B
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation! We will continue to work very hard to exceed everyone's expectations -- soundside or oceanfront! Everyone has a favorite. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed 18 August 2015

I booked an "ocean view" room for my 11th wedding anniversary. Literally the only thing I cared about was that I would have a nice, peaceful, and private deck balcony outside my room. Unfortunately, there are only about 5 or 6 of those rooms. I was in "Building D", which looks like it was built when the owners realized they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Obviously it is difficult to respond to a review of this kind, when clearly our guest was disappointed. I would like to address some specifics. Every building on the oceanfront is different and has a different kind of layout. We find most guests appreciate the variety as it works for many different size vacationing groups and families. The rooms in...

Tully, New York
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We spent only one night here while we were waiting for our house rental to become available. Our suite was on the sound side, which is my fault for not understanding what that meant - I thought it was a sound side VIEW. It was actually across the street from the ocean. I would say the rooms were sparse and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. You make a good point about being very clear on the difference between oceanfront and soundside, especially for folks who are not familiar with the island. We will take your suggestions for updating to heart. Hopefully this winter will be kinder to us than last year and we can focus on our rooms a bit more...

Winter Garden, Florida
Reviewed 15 August 2015

If you are looking to get away from everyday worries, crowds, noise, and a place to spend quality time with your family, this is the place to do it! The Cape Hatteras Motel offers beautiful views of the ocean and amazing sunrises! The rooms are about as close to the ocean as you can get and that location is what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla L
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased you enjoyed your vacation -- we try to insure that we give our guests a great stay while you enjoy our wonderful beaches and views. See you next visit!

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.4 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
4.7 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
16.9 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
43 reviews
1.4 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
284 reviews
0.1 km away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $159 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island/Buxton, NC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
5 months ago
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
5 months ago
Alexandria, Virginia
5 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Hatteras Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 310 or 312 are perfect - the best...!!”
  • Standing inside the room, this is the view...... heaven on earth for me :)
 of 5 bubbles Sofisticat, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are within walking distance to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles CandaceM619, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At least in the off season there aren't many other guests to disturb you.”
 of 5 bubbles teresamY4750SR, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the second floor in building A or B”
 of 5 bubbles RogerC149, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best stay on the Cape, close to restaurants and activities. Quiet and quaint! Loved every room I've stayed in 208 had all we needed!”
 of 5 bubbles KQD56, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5