We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Expedia.comUS$125*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$130*
US$125*
US$130*
US$130*
US$125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 227: English reviews
Georgia
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was beyond disappointing. The amount of money you will pay to stay here is beyond redoiciulious for what this hotel has to over! The furniture and amenities are extremely out of date and you can tell that there is little to no maintenance to up keep them. Than there is the decor or lack of. Seriously the tv...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rojam1202
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it will only help us to improve. Please know that I have made note of all your comments and will be addressing them with our management team. We hope you will consider staying with us again...

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

It's our second year here. Always treated so well. Such a friendly staff that takes great care of us- saw that we were repeat visitors and upgraded our room to one with newer mattresses and a bathtub! Clean, comfortable, and reasonably-priced! So close to the beach! Walk to bars and restaurants! Very highly recommend Surfside Lodge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff, the cleanliness and comfort of your room, and our location. We hope to see you again for your third annual girl's weekend! Barry Eagle, Owner.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I booked a room at Surfside for a weekend getaway for me & my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. I chose Surfside based on the reviews, but still wasn't exactly sure what to expect. I'll be honest & say it'd been a LONG time since I've stayed at a motel! From the time we got there until the time we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We truly appreciate all of your kind comments regarding your room, our location, and our staff. Also, thank you for your feedback on additions to the room as we are always looking for ways to improve. I am so glad to hear that you and your boyfriend had a great stay for his birthday...

Reviewed 27 July 2016

This place is pretty awful. After taxes, my wife and I paid about $240/night for a room with a kitchen overlooking the beach. Cons: 1. Parking. The parking lots are very small, and were often full. In some areas, the spots are not normal size spots, and the lots are all very poorly laid out, with lots of freeloaders. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ncbeachguy86
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Please know that I have made note of all of your feedback and will be addressing them with our management team in order to make the necessary improvements. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you...

Reviewed 25 July 2016

Clean room. Basic needs were met and no worries about staying there. Friendly staff and room we well supplied. A little overpriced though, especially for no phone in the room and as small as the room was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the friendliness of our staff. We hope you will stay with us again. Barry Eagle, Owner.

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This was the worst place I have ever stayed. So dirty I could not walk on the floor barefoot. Bathtub was nasty. Appeared as if the door had been kicked in an was poorly repaired. Would have gone somewhere else but knew we could not get our money back. Ridiculous price for such horrible conditions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BSH116
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I will be speaking with our housekeeping team to ensure that we are keeping up with the level of cleanliness that is expected. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle,...

Ferrum, Virginia
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I searched for a hotel for 3 adults and a child.. ran across the website for this establishment and they seemed to have just what we were looking for. Arrived and excited to be back at the beach and couldn't wait to get in the room and relax. The room had 2 double beds, the bedspreads were flat sheets, 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leigh K
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I have made note of all of the issues that you encountered during your stay and will be addressing them with our management team. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a quick weekend trip with kids. We knew we were not getting any frills when we reserved. However it was not even clean. Mildew in showers, hairs in bed, nasty carpets and just crud everywhere. Old, no problem, but it could kept so much cleaner. Luckily it was a quick trip and we spent very little time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the condition of your room. I will be speaking with our housekeeping team to ensure that we are keeping up to the level of cleanliness that is expected. Also, please know that we are in the process of updating some of our rooms. We hope you will still consider staying with...

Lillington, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Everything was really clean great location near everything staff was super nice it's what u would expect from a beach hotel and even though it was loud outside the rooms r quite except the Ac lol and they were full. We never saw any bugs the room was cold and the only thing I could kind of complain about was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caddell112521
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our cleanliness, location, and the friendliness of our staff. I will speak with our maintenance team to check on the issues regarding the temperature of the shower. We look forward to seeing you again! Barry Eagle, Owner.

Reviewed 8 July 2016

We had a blast staying in the surfside Lodge. The people and employees were very nice and friendly. I cant wait to go back and stay there again. The rooms were clean and it felt like home. The pool was fun too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it felt like home. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room. We look forward to seeing you again! Barry Eagle, Owner.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
407 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.2 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
130 reviews
0.7 km away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 234 Carolina Beach Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Price Range: $142 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surfside Lodge Oceanfront staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Dunn, North Carolina
Lawndale, North Carolina
5 months ago
New London, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Surfside Lodge Oceanfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ocean front”
90kyleew, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nice and cool rooms with ceiling fans.”
127ginay, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Opt for the ocean view and a kitchen for convenience.”
M2557VPjims, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have balconies with a view of the ocean; be sure to inquire if that is something that would appeal.”
phil2u, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They have lots of rooms facing the Beach, with plenty of chairs on the porch to watch the ocean.”
marthareindl, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$130
TripAdvisorUS$125
Hotels.comUS$125
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates