We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sleep Inn University Place

Orbitz.comUS$71*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 215: English reviews
Start your review of Sleep Inn University Place
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wanted a place to stay that was affordable and reasonably close to historic district of Charlotte. It was not to far from the airport and still close to things to see. About a ten minute drive each direction. Went that night into town and walked around. Had a rental car but could have been fine with "Lift" or "Uber". Fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review.

Greensboro, North Carolina
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This hotel is conveniently located to lots of restaurants & not far from the highway (maybe 1/2 mile). It was very clean & comfortable after a night of celebrating a birthday. The check-in process was very quick & the staff was nice. We didn't have any issues while staying there. I would suggest getting a double instead of single. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RedV0217
About Hotel's Favourite Review
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to share and rate your recent visit. Our customer's feedback is always appreciated and valued. Our ultimate goal daily is to create memorable stays for every customer that walks though our doors. Our customer is our priority! Please give a belated Happy Birthday from the entire Sleep Inn Staff.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I will never stay at this hotel again. First off, the room we stayed in was very small, which I normally didn't mind much, but the fact that it was dusty & had a dirty bathroom made it worse. Housekeeping obviously aren't doing their job right and mgmt is not checking after them. Dust was everywhere and the standing shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle R
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Our #1 priority is our customer. We pride ourselves in the superior service we know we deliver daily to every customer. I regret that your stay wasn't a reflection of the kind of service we know we can and have provided here at the Sleep Inn day in and day out. A sincere apology is extended to you and any...

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

After checking in at the Extended stay (where we were booked for our 5 week business stay) we were terrified at the filth and not so safe conditions . We checked out as quick as we checked in. Looked up closer hotel to job site and the Sleep Inn gladly accommodated with the best service ever from a Customer Representative...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbieKCoffey
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

It's always a pleasure to see that we have exceeded our customer's expectations with the level of service provided during there time with us. I will be sure to share with our staff. We look forward to the next opportunity to provide you with second to none superior services.

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

I was traveling through on business and needed a place to stay close to my location. I did have a car but there were many restaurants and stores like Walmart very close by. I'm not sure if they have a shuttle service but it would be a minimal taxi fare for Uber fare to a good restaurant or if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher H
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thanks you for your kind words reflecting your recent visit with us. We pride ourselves in the superior service we deliver daily. My entire staff and I value you as our customer and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Good things do come in small packages. The rooms are tiny but hardly feel that way at all. Our queen size room had a comfortable bed and bedding, frig & microwave, desk all in a small place without feeling small. Toilet and large shower (no tub) were behind a pocket door. The room was comfortable in temperature. We stayed here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncd0531
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

We appreciate the positive review reflecting a superior experience. Our customer is our priority!

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my family stayed at sleep inn for a week in november. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Will def be back again. The staff was excellent and professional in every way. Will be back with the family soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roxanapalacios
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

A perfect rating of all 5's is what we like to see! We thank you for choosing us and hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Always a pleasure staying here at Sleep Inn in Charlotte university area. Front desk knows me by my name so my check in process is fast. I never have a problem while staying. I hope this review helps 🙂

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany D
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share and rate. We value our customer's feedback and especially enjoy reading surveys as such. Thank you for being loyal to the brand and our property in particular. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel had very wonderful and friendly staff. This was my first visit to charolette and they made it a very wonderful experience. While there, they did change out alot of the rooms mattresses. Though it made entering and exiting the building a challenge, it did allow me the chance to take the stairs for exercise and it means alot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederick F
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share and rate. We are always looking for way to to ensure our service remains superior daily. Installing brand new mattresses throughout the entire hotel this year, was one out of the many things we planning to do for are customer. I apologize for any inconvenience cause you during that time. Our customer...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This hotel is located close to restaurants, but most of all as you come in at the front desk greeted by Ms. Evelyn who is very polite and informative, and always ask how was your stay, also Mr. Mcneil who take time to listen to his guest, and Mr. Nate who always making sure everything is working in our rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank padecoteau
gmnc005, General Manager at Sleep Inn University Place, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks! We appreciate you taking out the time to share and rate your recent experience. Our customer is our priority!

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (61)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Single Queen Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Hampton Inn University Place
#56 of 177 in Charlotte
499 reviews
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sleep Inn University Place

Address: 8525 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28262
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range: $117 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn University Place 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn University Place Hotel Charlotte
Sleep Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Sleep Inn
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sleep Inn University Place staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Gray Court, South Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Sleep Inn University Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the back are probably a nicer view but mine was still fine.”
davidgV1573PP, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“hotel smoke free, Higher floors have less noise”
padecoteau, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chose a room above ground floor and you should be fine.”
KFJames71, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Doubles are more spacious than singles”
RedV0217, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable beds, great location for business or pleasure.”
lemuelnmadelynp, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$71* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$71
HotelQuicklyUS$112
Expedia.comUS$71
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates