We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dunhill Hotel

Show Prices
#38 of 175 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dunhill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 397: English reviews
Start your review of The Dunhill Hotel
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel centrally located to all the attractions and Spectrum Centre. They had an excellent morning continental buffet. The staff was extremely friendly and gave us perfect recommendations as to restaurants and interesting things to do around town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zimrut2017
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear zimrut2017, Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your interactions with our associates, and that we were able to help you to explore the best of our city. We hope to welcome you back, soon! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Ely, MN
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Dunhill Hotel in "Uptown" Charlotte on Saturday night. The accommodations were okay. My room was clean, but the lamp next to my bed was not plugged into the outlet which I discovered upon returning to my room late in the evening. The only way to plug it in would have been to crawl under the bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry for the oversight with the lamp in your room. That is certainly not reflective of the standard of care and attentiveness to which we aspire in our daily work, and your experience will be used for further training for our team. We do hope that you will consider staying with us...

Monroe, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable room, great service, helpful and friendly staff. Classic hotel on the historic register in the heart of Charlotte with easy walking distance to restaurants, etc. Also recommend the Asbury restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccoto1955
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ccoto1955, Thank you for choosing The Dunhill Hotel + The Asbury for your anniversary celebration. I'm glad that it was memorable experience. Here's to many more celebrations to come! Cheers, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were booked to stay at this hotel through Amtrak and had paid for the rooms. Unfortunately the Hotel didn't get the reservation and had no rooms left. The staff scurried to find us another location, drove us there, offered us the next night at the employee rate, gave us a gift certificate for food or bar and were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan and Lee K
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan and Lee, Thank you for your review. I regret the mix-up over your reservation, but I am glad that we were able to ensure you were well accommodated throughout your visit to Charlotte. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your night at The Dunhill, soaking in our historic ambience and sampling all of the amenities we have to offer....

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an older hotel but very clean and the service was outstanding. It is located in a really good area close to the Epicenter. We had a nice queen room. Hotel taxi dropped at one of our destinations. Breakfast was included and the only negative I have for the hotel is that the breakfast ends a 9am on Sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncst8fan
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ncst8fan, We appreciate your feedback, and are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, associates, and convenient location. We hope you will choose to visit us again! Best Wishes, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Mint Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over night to "celebrate" turning 40. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful, and you can't beat the location. Also, the on site restaurant is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank revjasonblanton
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear revjasonblanton, Thank you for choosing The Dunhill Hotel and The Asbury for your celebration! We are honored to have played a role in the occasion. We wish you many more to come. Best Wishes, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel after reviewing all of the positive feedback left by others. While my experience wasn't necessarily negative, I'm not sure I can agree with all of the 5 star reviews. This is a 3.5 star hotel on its best day. I rarely leave feedback on hotels, but am doing so to manage expectations against all the super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Te C
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Te C, Thank you for your review. It's wonderful to know that you have the good fortune to experience great guest service during your frequent travels, and that we were able to live up to your expectations! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities during your visit, with greater satisfaction in some...

Clover, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first stay at the Dunhill Hotel-warm, friendly staff, cozy room and walking distance to lots to keep us busy! Perfect location. Enjoyed sitting in lobby sipping drinks. Comfortable bed. Marbled bathroom floors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brewers1984
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brewers1984, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our guest rooms, convenient location, and interactions with our team members. We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Charlotte! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel delivers absolutely exceptional customer service. Not only are the staff amazingly accommodating and knowledgeable, but the hotel is in a perfect location and it truly is unlike anything else in the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that we succeeded in our guest service delivery during your stay. Please visit again, soon! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A friend and I stayed at the Dunhill in early December for business on a Friday and stayed until Sunday. What an amazing hotel! Updated and very comfortable. We had a corner room on the front facing Tryon St and so enjoyed all the Christmas decorations in the lobby and on the street. Breakfast was included and what a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaKLott
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katrina, We appreciate your feedback, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Our city and hotel are beautifully festive around Christmas time! It sounds like our historical aesthetic combined with modern amenities were a perfect fit for you. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

327 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Executive King Room (17)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (51)
Viewed
Premiere Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Vintage Double Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Vintage Queen Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 175 in Charlotte
1,829 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#31 of 175 in Charlotte
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Price Range: $238 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dunhill Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Forest City, North Carolina
over a year ago
2 months ago
Maryland
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Dunhill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Entire hotel quiet. I stayed on the 6th floor but rooms are all nice, neat and clean and have turn down service every night.”
 of 5 bubbles zimrut2017, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get the standard queen room. The rooms are extremely small and don't have a real closet, just an alcove with a curtain.”
 of 5 bubbles 975AnneM, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have a few of the street”
 of 5 bubbles KatrinaKLott, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher south-facing rooms offer very nice view of Charlotte's skyline.”
 of 5 bubbles 294merlinb, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room overlooked a street corner and was very quiet, so I think any room would be suitable.”
 of 5 bubbles KimbaJ89, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5