Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center

Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center

Welcome to the Clarion Hotel & Airport Conference Center
Traveller (118)
Guest room with king bed
Room & Suite (130)
Hotel restaurant
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#26 of 206 hotels in Charlotte
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hospitality Accommodations. The Clarion Hotel(R) Airport & Conference Center located in Charlotte, NC near Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Our convenient location just six miles from the airport makes this Charlotte hotel with meeting space your ideal lodging destination. You can explore such nearby points of interest as: - Graham Library and Aviation Museum - Bank of America Stadium - Paramount Carowinds Theme Park While you are searching for Charlotte conference center hotels, look no further than the Clarion. Our banquet and meeting facilities make it easy to plan and host your event, and our business center offers copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. You can savor a delicious meal and a refreshing drink in our restaurant, stay fit in our exercise room and take a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool. As our valued guest, you can also enjoy such amenities as: - Free WiFi - Free 24-hour airport transportation - Free weekday newspaper - Free parking - Guest laundry facilities We invite you to relax in your spacious guest room, which features a microwave, coffee maker, TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!

Location

212 W Woodlawn Rd # B, Charlotte, NC 28217-2153
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Douglas Airport
Concord Regoinal Airport
818Reviews7Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 561
  • 95
  • 65
  • 44
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Evan L wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
American Airlines totally screwed up and my friends and I got stuck in Charlotte over night instead of being in an Island Paradise :/ The airline put us in the Clarion hotel, which probably cost them about $1 a room based on the hotel, which seemed to not even be enough for the hotel to run the A/C. The bed was comfortable enough though and the shuttle service was convenient. Robinson picked us up in the morning to go to the airport and he was extremely friendly and got us to the airport on time and quickly. The only reason for the 5 stars is Robinson, go him.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Jul 21, 2021
Thank you for your nice review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anglwngss wrote a review Aug 2021
Dallas, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was a smooth easy process. All staff were great! The room was clean and had an ample supply of towels, toilet paper, etc. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and the a/c worked well. The bathroom had great water pressure. There was a minor dent in the bathroom door (maybe someone previous had hit it or knocked a suitcase into it), but other than that, the property was in perfect condition.

The area around the hotel was not in the nicest side of town. Across the parking lot was a strip club. However, with that being said, the hotel provided security and we had no issues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The parking lot lights were fairly bright and came through the curtains. Possibly a room on the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Thank you for the great review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davis V wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was flying through Charlotte and had an evening flight that was canceled, so I didn't get to the hotel until around 11:30pm, around the time the bar is supposed to close. Myriam and the kitchen staff stayed for an extra two hours to make sure myself and the other 30 people or so who were also supposed to be on that flight got a meal before going to bed. She went above and beyond to make sure everyone that came in late was fed after a long day of flights.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric M wrote a review Jun 2021
Santa Rosa, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I believe the only business this hotel gets is from American Airlines missed connections. I would guess nobody would actually search this place out and stay there. How is it rated 4.5 stars? Apparently the van drivers are the stars here...and for the most part, they are correct.

Yes, we stayed at this hotel via an American missed connection. Don't believe the hotel's posted photos, believe the photos posted by those that actually stay there. The place is extremely dated. I'd guess the hotel last saw any room improvement was the 1980's. The furniture is worn. One room in our party had a very worn desk chair in the room, but the desk was missing. My daughter said their closet was crammed into the bathroom. Gross. I don't think they care, as it's a dumping ground for missed connections and people are at the mercy of the airlines reservations.

The van that picked us up had a missing window on it's side. Safe? We saw a staff member refilling the lobbies water containers at check in. He was pushing the ice down with his bare hands. Ugh!

The restaurant is also a beneficiary of the airlines generosity. Those meal vouchers work here and amazing enough, most meals are under the $12 food voucher amount. The restaurant staff was nice enough, a plus here.

If you have an option, don't stay here. It's the stuff horror movies are made from. If you're at the mercy of American Airlines, be thankful it's just one night.

I don't like giving bad reviews, but this is deserved. They're just in existence because they're being funded by American Airlines. No effort is being made here to improve the property.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Jun 24, 2021
We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trispink wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I usually don't use this hotel through my company website but the other hotels that I use was all taken. I drove down from Boston, MA to Charlotte, NC because I am relocating to the area for work. My apartment will not be ready for a couple of days and I needed to get out of Boston before the snow hit. I arrived a little early and inquired if I could go ahead and check in. At other hotels they would allow me to check in when I arrive. However, this one would not allow me to check in early I had to wait until 3pm to check in. I arrived at 10am from an approx. 14 hour drive. So I went in slept in my car until I could check in. Again, I never used this hotel before and don't think I will again. They did not have the room I requested and paid for but I was too tired to argue and just took the room they had available. I made sure the room was smoke free. When I finally received my room, I always check to see how it is and if it was cleaned. I opened the door to the room and immediately hit with the smell. The room smelled like an old ashtray. Again I was extremely exhausted to fuss; so I tried spraying air freshner to kill the smell, I cleaned with clorox and pine sol and took my shower. The bathroom need to be renovated like never before. The shower ceiling was falling in seems like water damage and the shower head sprays water everywhere except on your body. The reason I chose this hotel is because of the reviews and I am beginning to think was a lie or they maybe scams, I don't know but this was not my experience at all at this hotel. This is the worse hotel I have ever stayed and the only reason I stayed is because I didn't have money to waste and you know they don't give you your money right back. I will say the only thing I have not seen are roaches. This place is really a dump to say the least.I am EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED by the false reviews and the pictures online
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I would not recommend any room at this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Feb 22, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are very disappointed to hear of the issues you encountered. The night prior to your stay we did have a complete full house due to weather conditions. We are an airport property and with all the flights grounded all travelers were directed to our hotel. We apologize we could not get you in your room until 3pm, however had we received a phone call prior to your arrival we could have had made sure a room was available upon your early arrival. I do understand that you must have been exhausted after the 14 hour drive, I wish upon entering the room you would have just come to the front desk if the room was not acceptable, we would have gladly made things right. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel so we can discuss this in further detail. Thank you again for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelgames wrote a review Oct 2020
Madison, Wisconsin
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the worst hotels I've stayed in, to the point where I was not comfortable there. If you can spend more, please do. We had to stay here because this is where American Airlines put us up when their maintenance issues led to our missed connection. (Thanks a lot American Airlines!) Doors to the rooms were all beaten up, like a European Hostel. Holes in everything - lampshade, walls, floors. No sink drain. Stains on walls (some looked like blood?). Elevator was dirty. Definitely didn't feel like high-touch areas got any attention at all, much less special attention. It is a depressing place where you feel unsafe.

Hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport (there are several options closer) and the shuttle drivers aren't particularly nice. There was no particular schedule and hard to get consistent answers on when we might have a shot at getting on one.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Nov 19, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We will certainly look into the issues you have brought to our attention and take the appropriate steps to correct these items.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Great_Beer_Now wrote a review Jun 2022
Houston, Texas
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotels close to airports offer distinct advantages. They often offer free shuttle service and, because they are usually just minutes away from the airport entrance, you can feel good that you will be able to get to your gate on time. This was one of the main reasons I decided to stay at the Clarion Hotel Airport and Conference Center in Charlotte, North Carolina on a recent trip.

Arriving at the airport, I did have to wait a little longer for the shuttle than I preferred and I did have to call the hotel twice. Still, with the high cost of rideshare nowadays, I was willing to forgive. Besides, I wasn’t in any hurry. If I took another 20 or 30 minutes to get to the hotel, I was fine with that.

Once at the hotel, I quickly learned that there is another, adjoining hotel, a Ramada Inn, that is directly connected. The front desk at the other hotel wasn’t open when I was there and everyone was checking in on the Clarion side. My check in was quick, however, so again everything seemed okay.

What finally lowered my opinion of the Clarion Hotel Airport and Conference Center in Charlotte was the rooms and other amenities. This hotel is in desperate need of renovation, and it showed at every turn. In the rooms, the tables had visible dents and the office chair was well- worn, with much of the seat and back ripped up. Walking to the bathroom, and to the exercise room, you got the feeling that you stepped back to the 1990’s. The place looks beat up and even the restaurant has a dated feel to it.

The redeeming qualities of the Clarion Hotel Airport and Conference Center in Charlotte are the service and the price. The personnel do their best to make your stay comfortable and I appreciate that the airport shuttle made a special trip just for me when I was on my way home. There was no one else who needed a ride, but they went ahead and drove me back solo.

It's nice to be near the airport when you travel. It can provide additional peace of mind and reduce stress. The Clarion Hotel Airport and Conference Center in Charlotte is right there, just a few miles away from the airport. The rooms and overall condition of the property are below average, however, so when I take all things into consideration, this hotel earns a 2.5 star rating, which I will round up to 3 stars and give an ever- so- modest recommendation. It works in a pinch, but other than the people and service, this should be viewed as a simple sleeping space and nothing more.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Navigate474786 wrote a review Apr 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apparently most of the business this hotel gets is from the airlines due to missed flights. Where to start ... shuttle experience was great! The beds and pillow were comfortable and the room was clean. I am certainly thankful that we didn’t have to sleep on the floor at the airport.

It was after 10 when we got here after a long day of travel.
1. There was a drawer on the dresser that didn’t stay closed, creating a trip hazard.
2. There was no distilled water for our medical devices and we had to buy a bottle of purified water.
3. They did not provide a toothbrush, yet another expense.
4. We never received our wake up call. Good thing I set my phone alert.
5. The lobby bathroom is out of order.
6. Wonder what kind of neighborhood this is, there is a gentleman’s club next door.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Jun 24, 2021
We appreciate your feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ikee wrote a review Dec 2021
Woodville, Alabama
5.0 of 5 bubbles
United (other airlines as well) offer few different hotels in this area for flight cancellation compensation. This one is definitely the best of the options - I’d even stay here if I were choosing among any of the hotels.

Their shuttles for the airport are on-demand, so be sure to call to get picked up and schedule your return to the airport at the front desk. The shuttle driver Robinson was very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Jan 21, 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nicole p wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I celebrated our three year anniversary this last week by flying to Alabama for vacation and to see his family. On our way back, we flew from Montgomery to Charlotte. When we got there we got a text saying our flight had been canceled! So we were stranded without a car and had to call 15 different hotels until Clarion’s front desk lady told me she had one room available with one king sized bed. I said it was perfect. She offered us a shuttle driver to the hotel from the airport, which was very convenient. We had an amazing extra day of vacation at this hotel as we also walked to the ihop across the street. We were so hungry since the night before all the restaurants were closed! We had a wonderful shuttle driver named Robinson who took us from the hotel to the airport the next day to catch our rescheduled flight. He spoke to us with such respect and cheered us up. He was very sweet and kept saying that all we need is each other, which was really cute. He told us to never let go of one another. Thank you, Robinson, for the amazing service. Thank you to all who made this weekend very special!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VICKIE HUNT, Other at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Responded Jul 21, 2021
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your "Extra vacation day" with us. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope that you will come back and see us again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mixjay asked a question May 2018
Bismarck, North Dakota
Is there a shuttle from airport to the hotel?
Answer from awildman2018
Des Moines, Iowa1 contribution
Yes, I believe it runs every 20 minutes.
Answer from ningbo3
Asheville, North Carolina131 contributions116 helpful votes
I'd give them a phone call.
danielrmason asked a question Aug 2016
Forest Park, Georgia52 contributions21 helpful votes
So has the pool been reopened ?
Answer from Don S
Charleston, West Virginia102 contributions70 helpful votes
Sorry, I have no idea.
Answer from David S
Charlotte, North Carolina3 contributions
The pool will be closed thru July for exterior building renovations.
Marie R asked a question Feb 2015
Telford, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
how does the shuttle work? does it have to be booked?
Answer from David S
Charlotte, North Carolina3 contributions
Call us when you arrive at the airport and we will send a shuttle to pick you up.
Corwin wrote a tip Jun 9
Cranston, Rhode Island2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't do it."
Read full review
J P wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here. "
Read full review
Momof2preeteens wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay there .. read the reviews "
Read full review
NoneReally wrote a tip Jan 2024
USA568 contributions342 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"When entering lot, all three hotels are on left. First is Quality Inn, second one is Clarion, and theirs Raddison. Know which one you are"
Read full review
Tina T wrote a tip Mar 2023
13 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do a walk through prior to staying in a room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Charlotte area.
PRICE RANGE
C$100 - C$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaCharlotte
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Which popular attractions are close to Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Nearby attractions include Exit Strategy (1.0 km), Escape Tactic (0.7 km), and The Sleepy Poet Antiques Mall (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include McKoy's Smokehouse and Saloon, The Olde Mecklenburg Brewery & Biergarten, and Brewers at 4001 Yancey.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center have airport transportation?
Yes, Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Charlotte HotelsCharlotte Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CharlotteHotels near Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars