We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#18 of 204 hotels in Charlotte
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Charlotte University HotelThe Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on I-85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA, Equitable, Norfolk Southern Wells Fargo, Walmart, Carrier. Atrium Health University City and UNCC are within walking distance. Finish the night with room service, free Wi-Fi, and a movie on our 37-inch flat-screen. If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots as well! See a race at the Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at PNC Music Pavilion and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and the Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Lounge and Grille will provide a fun atmosphere for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool drink.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
859Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 566
  • 174
  • 58
  • 29
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ya Ya wrote a review Jan 2024
Clayton, North Carolina1 contribution
I enjoyed staying at this hotel. There was a little bit of an issue when we checked in, but it was quickly remedied. A large shout out to Ms. Tonya that helped with breakfast. Her compassion and willingness to help was something that I will always remember. The only reason I have given this place a four is due to the walls seem a bit thin so we could hear very well TV and conversations.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrew B wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the Charlotte area. I booked a block of rooms for my hotel, and the hotel workers were nothing but helpful up to and during my stay. They made booking the block and helping others book as easy as possible. We had our rehearsal dinner there, and the food was amazing! The workers were very helpful in setting everything up and asking me and my wife what we wanted. The rooms were nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable. The hotel even gave my wife and I a small bottle of champagne and cheesecake to celebrate our marriage! This was a great hotel and if you are on the fence, you should definitely book.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Blaine N wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Reserved a room 11/5. Called a few hours lately to cancel because change of plans. Was denied refund because didn’t give a 24 hour notice. 1 star rating because bad customer service I hope my $120 was worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Hi Blaine N, Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Charlotte University. Holiday Inn offers business and leisure travelers dependability, friendly services, and modern, attractive facilities. I'm sorry for the issues you experienced. I have sent your comments to our dedicated hotel management team to work on these things you highlighted. I also sent you a private message to extend our help. We value all the feedback we receive, as this is our best resource for improvement. We are hoping to see you again soon. Best regards, Dominador R. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dexter 59 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
I stayed here from August 16(checking in) to August 19(checked out). I had originally reserved for August 16 and 17th. I informed the reservation desk I would be staying one more night. I reserved and paid on August 17 for one night . On August 18th, I was called during the day and was asked why I had not checked out. I informed them I had paid for an extra night on August 17th. Over the phone I was right and they would correct it, when I returned to my room that evening , I could not get into my room and had to go to the front desk to activate the key. I didn't know until I look at my bank statement on August 20 that they had rebooked me and charged me $141 again. I was double charged. When I brought this to the attention to the manager Patricia , she admitted it was a mistake but said it was nothing she could do and I would have to wait for the money to be returned to my account. For that matter , she rudely hung up the phone. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was conveniently located and quiet The snack bar was a rip off ($8 dollars for a bottled Coke and a Hershey bar). Do yourselves a favor and pass this place by if you are looking for good customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I have no tips.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 3, 2023
Hi CDG1959, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear from our most valued guest. Thanks for your loyalty and for always staying with our Holiday Inn. We provide the best lodging experience for every guest, and I'm sorry for the issues during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with our hotel management for review. I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. We hope to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Juliana B wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
The room was comfortable. I enjoyed the Belgian waffles. The cook at the omelette station Wanda was friendly and singing. Berhane made sure we were ok. The staff was welcoming and friendly. I will return if back at Charlotte.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SpartanMom93 wrote a review Aug 2023
Baltimore, Maryland33 contributions6 helpful votes
Room was ok, bathroom had dried toothpaste in sink and hair in shower and on floor and the soap/shampoo/conditioner was all empty or broke. The refrigerator door has been left ajar ans had frost built up in it and was, as expected warm. We let the front desk know about the bathroom and they offered to over us but we were headed out to a concert and no time to change rooms, just wanted to let them know.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 26, 2023
Hello, SpartanMom93 It's always a pleasure to read the opinion of our valued guests. Thank you for making our Holiday Inn Charlotte University your primary choice for accommodation. I would like to take this chance to apologize for the situation you have encountered. Don't worry. I have shared your sentiment with our management for further attention. Our establishment aims to meet the highest expectations in your business or leisure trips. I hope you will visit again in the future. It would be a pleasure to host you once more. Stay safe and healthy until then! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fearless468584 wrote a review Jul 2023
Gloucester, Virginia22 contributions4 helpful votes
Starting off this was the most enjoyable stay I have ever had.! I travel lots and this was better than any five star resort I have been to. Friendly staff that went above and beyond anything you could ask for, A big shout out to the jack of all trades Cheryl she waited on us in restaurant, she did banquets, and housekeeping. She also was like a personal tour guide. Restaurant was great bartender made a special drink we requested. Super clean, loved the dove products in the bottles, bed was amazing, and I just can not say enough. I felt safe and secure with this. Location is perfect. I highly recommend this property!,,,,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
girlygirl38 wrote a review May 2023
Suffolk, Virginia2 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel was very overpriced. The rooms are outdated. Both the room and carpet smelled old. Terrible lighting and the curtains were dirty. No complimentary breakfast. Only pro is the location. I will never stay here again and wouldn’t recommend anyone to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 14, 2023
Hello girlygirl38, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. The team learned about your review. The team will make the needed improvements to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
julia s wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay here and will definitely stay again when we're back in Charlotte. The staff here is really professional and accommodating. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our favorite experience was interacting with Tanya (hotel staff). Tanya was very kind, warm and welcoming. She made us feel right at home.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NorthStar54803457465 wrote a review Jan 2023
GREAT GREAT GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM THE KITCHEN SERVER TANYA. She was very respectful and she offered me breakfast and asked if I would like anything else. I love coming to a hotel establishment and feel welcome. Thank you, Tanya!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Charlotte area.
PRICE RANGE
C$151 - C$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn charlotte-university place hotel charlotte, charlotte holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaCharlotteMineral Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Monster Mini Golf (0.4 km), City Art Room (0.6 km), and Jerry Richardson Stadium (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Kebab Grill, Boardwalk Billy's Raw Bar & Ribs, and Edgewater Bar & Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Rosedale (7.3 km).
Is Holiday Inn Charlotte University, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.