We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

TravelocityUS$67*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$89*
US$67*
US$89*
US$89*
US$67*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 317: English reviews
Start your review of Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
 Click to rate
McEwensville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very close to the Bingo hall and the Casino; also on the side to Bryson City for some sight seeing etc. Rooms were as shown; good beds, clean bathroom. The best is the morning BUFFET that is FREE to two people in the room; any others only pay $7.95. I think that is a great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yycurtis
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words.

Duluth, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a cute hotel, approximately two miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino. It was comfortable. The towels were fluffy and the bed was comfortable. The only problem we ran into was the huge dog in the room next to us, barking at everything that moved outside of its window. The dog finally decided to go to sleep, as did we......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback Kathy, We are very sorry about the dog. He is a service animal and his owners frequent us often. This is the first time we have had complaints on the dog....I don't know why he was so active during your stay....again we are very sorry you had a bad experience with the dog. Thank you...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival, lobby was very nice. Had been told but Harrah's they had "completely remodeled" Chestnut Tree Inn about a year ago. Entered our roomto find the bed at an incline. Thinking it may have been the way it was made ( covers tucked to thick at foot of bed), was not the case! Mattress was wore out, sagged in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S_crow135
Management response:

Dear S_Crow We are sad that your experience here was so undesirable. I do not know why anyone at Harrah's would tell you we recently remodeled and that is not a reflection of our hotel. Your room being unclean and in disarray is unacceptable and we strive for cleanliness. I apologize that I didn't respond sooner, we have had some...

NEWPORT,TN
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Great check in, friendly staff, clean rooms. Only one major flaw in our room.. we had no room darkening drapes. So security light outside shone through. .very annoying. Fantastic breakfast buffet with lovely servers. Definitely would stay again, just would like to block out light in room. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MELANIETHERED
Management response:

Dear Melanie, Thank you for your kind words....sorry about the flaw....but I assure you EVERY guest room on our property has 'black blinds' the problem is the housekeepers often push them so far back that they hide behind the panel drapes. I have even had a newer front desk clerk that went to a room and didn't see them and...

Church Hill, Tennessee
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I made several pictures for this review. Pictures tell a thousand words. The lobby was nice as well as the décor, art, and restaurant which is only open for breakfast. The room was disappointing but we did not see a bug one not even a trace. It is a old place with old furniture and nasty carpet. The bath is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamie T
Management response:

Dear Jamie, Let me start by saying I am sorry I have not responded sooner....we have had some personnel changes and I did not know we had the ability to respond. We clearly advertise that we only serve breakfast. Very glad you didn't see any bugs or traces of. Yes we are an older property and we do try very...

Norton, Ohio
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Room was a decent room, every staff member we came across was friendly and willing to answer questions we had about the area. Absolutely loved the older woman that did the seating in the morning who was very chipper and had cheerful tops on. Food tasted great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaWms
Management response:

Thank you Amanda, we really try to be hospitable and knowledgeable about local attractions. Merlyne is our hostess and has been with us for many, many years she is a gem for sure! Thanks again, guests like you make our jobs FUN!

Salem, Virginia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Took our Family to NC to experience the Polar Express Train Ride. Booked This Faux..tel in advance and after checking in with the afternoon shift I honestly do not know how they stay in business. The male Desk jockey that assisted us was the poster child for Rude R I. From condescending comments to throwing my wife's license back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeld461
Management response:

Dear Mike, I would like to address the whole issue, but unfortunately, I am not sure what happened, but the Front Desk employees that you are referring to are no longer with us and the behavior you describe is unacceptable to us. We have been in business since 1973 owned and operated by the same owners and I encourage anyone...

Clintwood, Virginia
Reviewed 25 December 2016

I recently stayed at the Chestnut Tree Inn. The reviews for this property were primarily decent. The lobby is well-decorated and the staff were accommodating during check-in. The shuttle takes you straight to the Casino and the Breakfast is one of the better Motel breakfast's available in Cherokee. The rooms were basic but generally clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glynr34
Management response:

Thanks for the feedback glynr34.

Perry, Georgia
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We came to North Carolina in order to enjoy the Polar Express train ride during the Christmas season. The Chestnut Tree inn was a good value and had fair reviews. Our room was clean but had a very musty smell. We also noticed some black color mold on the bathroom ceiling and in the Bible that was in the drawer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrscakes2233
Management response:

Mrs. Cakes, Let me first apology for the delay in response....we have had some personnel changes and I was unaware I could respond. Now I have that figured out. I am so sorry about the missing items and our neglect on following through what we said we would do....I will address this with housekeeping and the front desk. Wifi is...

Dalton, Georgia
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

All I can say for the place is it's clean and spacious. During a 3 night stay (everything else booked solid) I was totally under impressed with this hotel. I'm not picky and it takes a lot for me to rate places a two...they managed. 1. The constant rattling of the heat unit made it impossible to watch tv without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jada7474
Management response:

Dear Jada, I am sorry you experienced this. I do not know what room you were in....but assure you our heat/air units are not suppose to be that loud and we do maintain them. You are correct in we do not have to-go containers to allow you to take food from the dining room but being told rudely is unacceptable....

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
3.0 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
3.5 km away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#15 of 28 in Cherokee
194 reviews
3.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
261 reviews
2.7 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
263 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This hotel is located near Harrah's Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa's Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls,air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Mini-fridge is available. Microwaves may be available but requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd, Hwy 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Price Range: $87 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend staying in the Main Building.”
glynr34, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close to the office better”
chuckcocke, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would want to check my room before accepting if I stayed here again! Cold showers are NO FUN”
X7743SWlynnc, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms open to the outside that we saw.”
Neondolly, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The pool is so inviting, large and chairs and clean. Take your swim suit. (Outdoor pool)”
637deannad, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$67* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$89
TripAdvisorUS$67
Expedia.comUS$67
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates