We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jarrett House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Jarrett House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Jarrett House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Cute, cute place. Will stay here again. Has several rooms with antique beds and furniture. Host was very nice. Breakfast comes with the stay, southern breakfast at that. Right off the 23 easy access to Silva. Just opened a new restaurant called Coaches.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! And am excited you will be back. I know...right? Southern Breakfast is the icing on the cake! More 

Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

For several years now it's been our family tradition to meet here for Easter dinner. Last year, circumstances prevented the trip. This year they opened a week late, so we waited. It was worth the wait and we were not disappointed. My mother had the trout, dad had chicken and dumplings. I had the catfish and my husband had the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 78Lee
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so excited to finally be open and truly hate that we missed Easter this year too. However, we are very glad that you consider us a family tradition and that visiting us this year was worth the wait! We look forward to our family reunion each and every year! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2014 via mobile

My two sisters and I lodged at the Inn for one night. The inn keepers were very gracious and accommodating. There wasn't a hair dryer in our room. When I went to the front desk to request one the Inn keeper couldn't find one. He said that as soon as his waitress arrived he would go buy one for me.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Making sure our guests have what they need is our first priority. We try our best to treat you like family! We sure hope you will return and enjoy another stay with us this 2015 season. Don't worry about a hairdryer...we've got you covered! Thanks, Natalie Thomas | General Manager More 

Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2014

For years my family and I have been to the Jarrett House each time we visited the area. It is a beautiful place and once had meals that we're worth the travel time and wait. My sister and I went yesterday, "Peak Weekend" and there was no waiting. Unusual! I now know why. Our server was very good and attentive,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Geni1
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

First, I would like to apologize for the delayed response of your review. Your review was posted to the wrong location and I did not see until now. I appreciate your honesty with your review. I do wish that you had let me know the issues while at dining with us. We strive to serve your meal as you ordered... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

We always eat at the Jarrett House on our trip to the Smokies. This year, we were in for a very pleasant surprise. The entry and dining rooms have been tastefully renovated and the food was even better than usual. A must stop for any visit,

Helpful?
3 Thank Charles E
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We love what the new owner has done with the place and have heard so many positive comments. Thanks for letting us know you like the new look and the food. Hope to see you back in 2015! Thanks More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2014 via mobile

Just had my first meal at this awesome historical establishment! Love the history of the place and the staff was more than happy to answer all my tourist-y questions. Onto the GOOD stuff.... The food! The portions! The service! I split the meatloaf with my mother and after two hearty appetites I still had a good bit to go. The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jrthom1020
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for the fabulous review! I am glad your first trip to our historical place was great! Yes Scott is very good at his job and it helps that he grew up here. Our name Vinegar Pie always gets the most delightful expressions on peoples faces..you are right it tastes like a sugar cookie to me too. We hope... More 

Concord, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Very nice 130 year old establishment. Great old time charm with a restaurant on the first floor. Rocking chair balcony on all three floors. People were absolutely wonderful and very accommodating. Close to Western Carolina University and Harrahs Cherokee.

Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the fact that this is one place that you can "step back in time" just a little with no distraction of TV in your room. We prefer our guests enjoy the rocking chair porches and the view of the town and some mountains. You... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Wanted somewhere to stay for Labor Day weekend. The Jarrett House was the perfect distance from Atlanta, the room had great character and the chicken and dumplings are just not better anywhere else!! Was a great distance for a trip over to Asheville.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina T
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

We are glad you spent Labor Day weekend with us! The Jarrett House in Dillsboro is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Atlanta. We definitely hope you return when you just need to get away from it all and relax! Thanks, More 

Lavonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Four couples went to ride on the Smoky Mountain Railroad from Bryson City to the Nantahala gorge and then to the Jarrett House in Dillsboro for dinner and a one night stay. Dinner was excellent and Jim and Genie were very welcoming. We could not have asked for better service. We have dined at the Jarrett House in the past... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Troy G
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Jarrett House is a great place for couples! For almost 40 years Jim and Jean have opened their home to 1000's of guest and treated them as welcomed family. That tradition will never change! Come and visit us in 2015 and be welcomed home again! Thanks More 

Ponte Vedra, FL, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Jarrett House has been a family favorite for years, and an annual destination. Over the last few years, we have been really disappointed. They no longer serve dishes family style, which was disappointing. The fried chicken was bland, the chicken and dumplings were spicy (yes, spicy) and the trout was just average. We had a party of 18 this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debi W
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We always aim to please our guests and I do wish you had let me know during the time you were here. Our difficult choice to no longer serve family style came from the ever rising costs of food and the incredible amount of waste on a daily basis. We opted to compromise with generous... More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
4.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Sylva
125 reviews
1.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dillsboro
6.7 km away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#3 of 5 in Sylva
53 reviews
2.3 km away
Blue Ridge Inn
Blue Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Sylva
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our historic inn was built in 1884 and host 16 rooms inside the inn furnished with Victorian furniture for that"step back in time" feel. The perfect place to unplug from the world and enjoy life! Our recently remodeled lobby, tea room and dining room provides our guest a comfortable place to relax and gather with old friends and make new ones. If you need a little more modern convenience we have 6 rooms located outside in our courtyard that have televisions so you don't miss your favorite show. Our lodging is available April 1, 2015. We will be opening a new lounge "Coach's" in Spring 2015! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jarrett House

Address: 100 Haywood Road, Dillsboro, NC 28575
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Price Range: $73 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jarrett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jarrett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jarrett House Hotel Dillsboro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jarrett House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Jarrett House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a first floor room if stairs are an issue. Did not see any elevator, due to historic building.”
 of 5 bubbles Wyoming_OHMomof5, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“It would be a good idea to ask for a view of the road, because the other views are of outdoor walls, the parking lot, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles lifewithb0ys, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Just know there is no tv in the room and air condition is by window units. Floors are wood and creaky-not suitable for small children. Very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeR178, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We did not stay in the hotel. We only had dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles JONW846, 7 Aug 2014 | Read review
“always ask for 2 beds, even if you do not need them. The single bed rooms are tiny. Rm. 212 was not too bad and quiet, off the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles kitchenmagician, 13 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay