We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barrier Island Station - Duck

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barrier Island Station - Duck
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of Barrier Island Station - Duck
 Click to rate
northern new england
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We purchased a 3 bedroom unit on an rci getaway for a good price and split it with family who stayed with us making a great value for a weeks oceanfront vacation. However, if I paid full price for this I would have been very unhappy. The good: close walking distance and biking to all of duck. The beach Having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank METT4
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The attitude of the staff was consistent and very poor, lacking any customer service skills. The outdoor bathroom near beach and pool was closed with a long trek back to room, for those of us not willing to use the pool!!! Last year we had closed pool, major construction but kind staff so we came back. This year a new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Management response:

Thank you for your review. The beach bathrooms are closed until Memorial Day as they are winterized and we open them when the Snack Shack opens so we can closely monitor them for cleanliness. The starter kit in the unit is just that a starter kit. It is intended to get you through the first day or so until the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Each named 'station' of cluster buildings from near the ocean to near the sound is located on an access road that winds up and down around the landscape. Units are first to fourth floor with an added indoor level. Our unit on the third level had living/kitchen/dining combo with nice deck, one bedroom (twin beds) and bath on main floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wanda J P
Management response:

Hello and thanks for your review. Our Board of Directors are making plans to refurbish the interior of the units soon. We are glad you had a good time, the resort staff is working hard to bring our guests more activities to participate in. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Blairsville
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I enjoyed our week in Duck. The room was clean but does need updating inside which they said is scheduled. Light sockets so loose some of the plugins would not work. One thing you must remember when staying at Barrier island Duck, is that you will climb a lot of stairs

Review collected in partnership with Veterans Holidays
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrhodes62
Management response:

Good morning and thanks for your review. We hope to have our unit refurbished in the near future. We have passed your information to our maintenance staff. We hope that you will come stay with us again soon. Thanks!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love the sound of the surf and we got a unit in the building closest to the ocean so we were able to hear the surf very clearly. Weather was mostly good. We had the beach mostly to ourselves this time of year.

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Management response:

Hi and we are glad that you had a good time. Please join us again soon!

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The property was nice, however the furniture inside the unit sucked. The couch was well worn and the mattress on the bed was a really cheap one. Sleeping on my air mattress was the most comfortable place to be. I hate to give a terrible rating for service, but there wasn't any.

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferHerr
Management response:

Hi and thank you for your review. Our Board of Directors are working on preparations to refurbish the interiors of the units. We look forward to having you with us again!

Charles City, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The outside of the resort appears fine, my one bedroom full kitchen was dated in the 80s. The refrigerator was rusty. There was no TV in the bedroom. No curtains to block the light in the bedroom. Bathrooms were outdated. Furniture in living room needed cleaning or replaced. AFCLUB members get the worse rooms. There is no way the other...

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davis66818
Management response:

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I did want to clarify that only the exterior of the resort has been updated at this time. All of the units on the interior are going to be renovated in the near future. We had to renovate the exterior first to prevent future problems for the interior. Once...

Howland, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a week in the off season (April) the units are old but well kept and very clean . Very close to every thing . The WiFi was very fast and free . We had a very nice week on our way back to Maine after wintering in Florida . They were very accommodating in all request .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thedipman
Zeeland, Mi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family enjoyed its stay here. Check-in with Kristie and Vanessa was super easy, and both were very friendly, even at the end of the day as the office was just a few minutes from closing at 7:00pm on a Sunday evening. Throughout the week guest services was friendly and helpful. There was an indication there is a new general...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randall P
Elizabethton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interior of this unit was very dated. The refrigerator leaked water in the floor making the kitchen unusable for three days. They replaced the refrigerator on Tuesday the fourth day of our vacation. Could not close blinds on Windows over the sliding door. Too high to reach. Thus night lights and morning sun woke our granddaughter up early each morning....

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RandyLacy61

249 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (79)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
17.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
797 reviews
9.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
19.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
808 reviews
5.6 km away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Barrier Island Station - Duck

Address: 1245 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4591
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Price Range: $154 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barrier Island Station - Duck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barrier Island Station - Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Island Station - Duck Hotel Duck
Barrier Island Station Duck Nc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barrier Island Station - Duck staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Barrier Island Station - Duck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here. . . . it's filthy & poorly maintained”
2techs, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Air Bnb, Home Away, a hotel”
redhare54, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can't do any stairs this is not for you.”
Valleygirl713, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“up on the hill in building 3( i think) affords a beach and sound view, is close to the indoor pool too”
finelaub, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The resort sends you a list of what you need to bring, they only give you a starter pack. READ the LETTER. We had fun and no issues.”
sdavistroy, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5