We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barrier Island Station - Duck

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Barrier Island Station - Duck
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 325: English reviews
Start your review of Barrier Island Station - Duck
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Condo have been upgraded on the outside from 2 years ago, looks like the inside furnishings are being replaced. The furnishings in the condo were ok, but dated. The staff at the front desk got us checked into the resort before checking time giving us access to the resort amenities and gave us a call when the place was ready.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eva-Lea M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom condo - plenty of room for two people. Nice size kitchen with full size appliances. We were pleased it was on the first floor. However, There were six steps down to the bedroom. There are no elevators and we saw others huffing and puffing as they hauled their belongings up two, or three flights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoPark
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our unit was beside the street and close to shops and restaurants. It was clean and very large for a two bedroom condo. Another family occupied another condo in the 4 unit building, and management put them on one end away from us which was thoughtful. The condo had lots of steps which could be a problem for some people....

Review collected in partnership with Veterans Holidays
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tarheelie
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room 606B on third floor, You need to be capable of negotiating stairs as no lifts (as they advertise). Spacious 1 bedroom unit, a little dated but very clean. Limited cooking facilities in this room, electric frypan, countertop plug in dual hotplates, microwave, coffee maker saucepans and sufficient cooking utensils. Small fridge, table for four. we found a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ausietravler
Sunapee, NH
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time, stayed in the 100 building in a 3 bedroom. We had 4 adults and 5 kids. Staff was friendly and helpful, we had a few small things that needed attention and they were fixed ASAP. All around you can see the exterior improvements and the staff told us of the plans to begin complete interior...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SunapeeMom
northern new england
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We purchased a 3 bedroom unit on an rci getaway for a good price and split it with family who stayed with us making a great value for a weeks oceanfront vacation. However, if I paid full price for this I would have been very unhappy. The good: close walking distance and biking to all of duck. The beach Having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank METT4
Management response:

Thank you for the review of our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to point out your positive and negative experiences. For the negatives we are gearing up shortly to begin the interior remodel as you stated. In that remodel will also have a separate building for activities equipment close to the recreation center. To alleviate the issue of...

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The attitude of the staff was consistent and very poor, lacking any customer service skills. The outdoor bathroom near beach and pool was closed with a long trek back to room, for those of us not willing to use the pool!!! Last year we had closed pool, major construction but kind staff so we came back. This year a new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Management response:

Thank you for your review. The beach bathrooms are closed until Memorial Day as they are winterized and we open them when the Snack Shack opens so we can closely monitor them for cleanliness. The starter kit in the unit is just that a starter kit. It is intended to get you through the first day or so until the...

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Each named 'station' of cluster buildings from near the ocean to near the sound is located on an access road that winds up and down around the landscape. Units are first to fourth floor with an added indoor level. Our unit on the third level had living/kitchen/dining combo with nice deck, one bedroom (twin beds) and bath on main floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wanda J P
Management response:

Hello and thanks for your review. Our Board of Directors are making plans to refurbish the interior of the units soon. We are glad you had a good time, the resort staff is working hard to bring our guests more activities to participate in. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Blairsville
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our week in Duck. The room was clean but does need updating inside which they said is scheduled. Light sockets so loose some of the plugins would not work. One thing you must remember when staying at Barrier island Duck, is that you will climb a lot of stairs

Review collected in partnership with Veterans Holidays
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrhodes62
Management response:

Good morning and thanks for your review. We hope to have our unit refurbished in the near future. We have passed your information to our maintenance staff. We hope that you will come stay with us again soon. Thanks!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We love the sound of the surf and we got a unit in the building closest to the ocean so we were able to hear the surf very clearly. Weather was mostly good. We had the beach mostly to ourselves this time of year.

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Management response:

Hi and we are glad that you had a good time. Please join us again soon!

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (83)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
17.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
817 reviews
9.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
19.8 km away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
816 reviews
5.6 km away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Barrier Island Station - Duck

Address: 1245 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4591
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Price Range: $182 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barrier Island Station - Duck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Barrier Island Station - Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Island Station - Duck Hotel Duck
Barrier Island Station Duck Nc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barrier Island Station - Duck staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Barrier Island Station - Duck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest you enquire regarding your needs, as all units have different aspects.”
  • from balcomy of room 606B
Ausietravler, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here. . . . it's filthy & poorly maintained”
2techs, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Air Bnb, Home Away, a hotel”
redhare54, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can't do any stairs this is not for you.”
Valleygirl713, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“up on the hill in building 3( i think) affords a beach and sound view, is close to the indoor pool too”
finelaub, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates