We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I have not worked in over a year and I was going for an interview in Raleigh but I have to watch every penny. I booked on Priceline and therefore it was paid in advance. I am old school and rely on maps. It was dark before I arrived at the motel. I called the front desk to get directions....

1Thank Duane T
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The lobby is poorly marked. As if they don't want you to find it. There is a bed in the lobby. Is this a display or where the employee sleeps? Disconcerting and unnecessary regardless. Or poorly planned at the very least. You need a gorilla grip to open the door to the room. The toilet is already backed up. Here's...

1Thank ClandestinePenguin
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed there recently since sept to oct 2015 for 6 weeks due to work attachment in Duke Hospital. Positive : Free daily pick up shuttle bus services to and fro Duke Hospital. Weekly Housekeeping for guests All rooms come with Kitchenette and pots and pans and all other accessories are available at the front desk to be collected. Approximately 2mins...

Thank Colin G
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd., responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced. Still, we are happy to know that we were able to provide you a positive overall and that you enjoyed all the amenities our hotel has to offer. Thank you again for posting your review. We look forward...

Reviewed 7 September 2015

I'm glad my wife and I didn't have to stay here long as we only stayed here as an overnight for an interview in the area. I'll say this the first thing that struck me was the smell of the place. Looking around there was dust in the corners, hair in the bathtub and sink and deplorable nastiness all over...

2Thank Aaron K
Reviewed 28 May 2015

check in the Extended stay for one night mother day weekend , the bed had no spead on it . No big problem there ,when in the bathroom Urine staind were all over the seat Big problem, call front desk they came by the room ,I ask to be move ( we are Full ) front Desk would not even...

2Thank g7033
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

This was the worst Extended Stay America place we have ever been to! We booked 3 rooms to attend our daughter's graduation with the whole extended family. Was an absolute horror! Supposed to be non-smoking but it wreaked of cigarette smoke in all 3 rooms; carpet was filthy and sticky with who knows what; no one was available in front...

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel for two nights for my sister and her boyfriend. We "attempted" to check in at the front desk and when I say "attempted" it's because the TWO front desk employees were conversing amongst themselves as we stood there waiting for them to acknowledge us. When it had been long enough, the man looked up and just...

Thank AlineSepIntArtist
New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 April 2015

This is a decent option in Durham, NC. Let me tell you that, if you are looking for luxury then this is not for you. But if you are a person who needs a clean room with decent amenities then this is a good place for you. The WI-Fi is good, you can upgrade to a faster network if you...

Thank ViperVik
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 April 2015

I booked 7 nights at Ivy Creek location. We arrive there on Saturday evening. After booking then I was told there was no clean sheets which mad it very limited to the room choice. Once a rrom with sheets was found the sheets that were on the bed were dirty!! smh The room SMELLED HORRIBLE & it wasnt even a...

Thank Kia R
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

This property has so much potential. I stayed for a week and the staff was friendly, helpful and kind. The facility overall needed a little work but the price was reasonable for Triangle Park. The location was ideal for movies, restaurants, and getting acquainted with the area. I had a job interview on my last day and the hotel allowed...

Thank Ecotanya

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (31)
Room/Suite (9)
Bathroom (5)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (1)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Durham - University
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
9.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
3.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.

Address: 1920 Ivy Creek Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-3455 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $82 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Durham University
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd. staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have a variety of rooms to chose from and is close to food store, pharmacy , movie theatre and shopping center”
wlinda08, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As to see the room first, to assess its state of disrepair and whether or not it has been cleaned.”
  • Flithy cracked tiles in the shower.
  • Faucet missing components, creating a well of slime.
  • Most buttons missing from the telephone...bizarre!
  • Bag of trash and soiled towels greets me on arrival in my room.
GHJohn, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
tlawwill, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I suggest 2nd floor in the back as they are quieter,”
252wardw, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms with parking right outside your door are most convenient.”
815jiml, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$62* /night
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates