We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

For a quick overnight stay with no fuss or extras, you can't beat it! We needed a quick room to sleep on a car trip and found this Red Roof Inn. Pretty clean, VERY nice staff. You can't beat it. You can get a hairdryer at the desk and they have coffee but not much else outside of vending which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenMcG_09
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this Inn with my boyfriend. I must say we really enjoyed our self and our housekeeper Ashley M. She was very nice and helpful. I will come back just to get away again. We loved how clean the room was and the smell was great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DC K
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening very happy, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your recent stay at our location. I will share your experience with Ashley M. and staff members. It is our hope that we will be able to meet any future travel accommodation when you return to the Durham area. Thank you...

Elverson, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My family was in Durham visiting Duke University for the weekend and reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights at the Red Roof Inn - Durham. We arrived very late on Friday, actually after midnight on Saturday. Checkin was through a security window rather than at the reception desk. Although we made our reservation through an online booking site that gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening Attention to Detail, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies. I apologize again for the miscommunication of your room being checked out. As a safety measure I...

Arden, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Nice rooms with microwave and fridge, but no hair dryer! Tasia at the front desk was delightful. Lot's of gas, restaurants and groceries nearby, all 24 hours. They have Durham police on patrol for safety, very reassuring.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernest B
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening Great Location, I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with Tasia and the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

I had a bad experience the first time I stayed here, but after being contacted the manager have gone back to stay every time I'm in the area. Generally, the rooms are reliably clean, in decent condition, and quiet--which is all you can expect for the price. The clientele can be a bit rough, but traveling alone as a woman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethAnn01
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Good evening Good Value, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. Thank you for letting us know we were able to turn a bad experience into a positive one. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

My experience with hotels in Durham is that nice hotels are generally expensive and inexpensive ones tend to be not so nice. The trick then is to find that sweet spot where the hotel is nice and affordable at the same time. After being priced out of my usual favorite, we took advantage of my wife's corporate discount and found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petercV6255AI
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello Great Value, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of...

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Even though the light above the sink was not working and I had a hard time getting an eyelash out of my eye, the front desk lady was nice and listened attentively which I appreciate very much. This is a rare property at budget price which does not have a hard time letting go of old and dirty carpet, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Environment is so so, a little noisy because it's pretty close to the highway. The beds are a bit small to co-sleep with kids. There is no continental breakfast provided. If you have a tight schedule, this might end up taking some extra time to get ready in the morning. Service was OK. They were nice and flexible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy s
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a previous hotel on hotels.com (Durham Skyland Magnuson Hotel). This hotel looked like a hotel out of a scary movie. We cancelled our reservation and drive to Red Roof. Tasia greeted us with the most pleasant smile. She provided world class customer service to myself and my family. She was warm and friendly and made our stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirleine
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with Tasia and the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I stopped in after traveling all day, I was tired and searched and found this place while on the rood. Very nice hotel and it was close to the highway and quick access to gas stations and stores. It was the perfect location so that I could continue my trip the next day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michele j
Hope B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Durham - Duke University Medical Center Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#39 of 70 in Durham
47 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.3 km away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
3.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
2.5 km away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#37 of 70 in Durham
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center

Address: 1915 N Pointe Dr, Durham, NC 27705-2682
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $79 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Hotel Durham
Durham Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#12 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Wake Forest, North Carolina
11 months ago
6 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're like me, and you need quiet when you sleep, request a room that's NOT by the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles TheProfessor2017, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Felt safe and was treated great.”
 of 5 bubbles carolync485, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room close to the office, near the wooded side. Or, anything away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles TorontoTripping, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the back of the hotel and second floor if you're a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles BethAnn01, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a RediCard and ask if there are Superior Rooms available for a free upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles petercV6255AI, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5