We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Athol Plantation

Save
Share
125 Country Club Dr, Edenton, NC 27932-8903
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hurb
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)

About

#5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Edenton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Athol Plantation is on of N.C. Most significant homes on the National Registry. Build in 1836 and now have been completely renovated. On the Albermarle Sound just minutes from Historic Edenton N.C.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Room service
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
14Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
kbrenneman73 wrote a review May 2019
Morrisville, North Carolina37 contributions16 helpful votes
Back in August 2018 I had booked the Athol Plantation (Athol Suite) for $279/night via Tripadvisor for what was expected to be a busy weekend in Edenton (Cycle NC, held the last weekend in April, 2019). This is a big event and in order to secure lodging you have to book well in advance. I was charged for the total amount of the stay at the time of booking. Two days before we were to arrive, I received an email sent from a no-reply email address stating that Athol had double-booked the room we were scheduled to stay in, and that they were working on alternate accommodations. There was a lot of back and forth between two different people/two different phone numbers (as it seems as though two people run it but have completely siloed their responsibilities) with the end result being the alternate accommodations were to stay at their friends’ house. The new nightly rate for the stay was $150/night. I agreed only because I knew this was a busy weekend and accommodations otherwise would have been impossible. What bothers me is that they should have known this issue well in advance however calling just two days prior to arrival is a bit unacceptable. Mike & Martha (Our new hosts) were very pleasant and glad we got to know them, and our stay was pleasant, however when I received notification for the refund, it was far less than what I was expecting. I received a refund of $245 whereas I was expecting in the neighborhood of $400 ($129/night for 3 nights plus tax). When asking the owners about this, they told me it was Expedia’s issue and I had to call them. The moral of the story is we will be back in Edenton as it is a charming town, however will not be staying at the Athol Plantation. If you end up booking here, I would strongly recommend calling in advance to ensure your room hasn’t been double-booked. Also, I would strongly recommend booking this place on Tripadvisor as I have yet to get the balance of my refund.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
George Y wrote a review May 2018
Chantilly, United States3 contributions4 helpful votes
I wanted a nice and quiet, restful long weekend for my wife. We have traveled around the world, and understand you may have to experience various conditions and make allowances. The Athol Planation house looks like a pleasant place to hang-out when you review their website. Are the owners having a passive-aggressive meltdown? OK, we can get by with 4 yapping dogs greeting you, but allowing the dogs to crap on the carpet at the front door each day, in the dining room where you eat breakfast is totally unacceptable. They left the doors open with no screens so your room has flies in it during your stay. The mini refrigerator in the hallway has mold in it and is unclean. The outdoor furniture on the porches is old, dirty, and falling apart. You discover the space you are staying in is where the owners must sleep when there are no guests. Plus, the place smells like one big cigarette. On top of all this, the owners acted like they could care less you were there as their guests. Feel totally disrespected. This property may have been, or could have been a great place to stay, but not today. What a shame, and shame on the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Athol2014, Owner at Athol Plantation
Responded May 29, 2018
I certainly wish that these issues would have been brought up during the visit; we were told they enjoyed themselves. To address specifics, we always try to engage our guests and have become friends with many of them, no one has ever said we could care less. If that was the impression, I just do not know what to say. We did have other guests, one of which wrote a review moments after this one saying how much they enjoyed the stay; in fact we had cocktails on the porch with them. We have checked the fridge and found no mold, but again, I wish something was said at the time; same with the furniture. As we were full, guests were in and out, more so as one guest had a dog, so yes the doors were open a lot, but if there was an issue I wish we were told at the time. As for our dogs, we are open that we have them and that we are pet friendly. If there was a crap issue, again tell us! We do want to strive to be better, so will take these complaints to heart and deal with them.
Read more
Mary M wrote a review May 2018
Saint Louis, Missouri50 contributions30 helpful votes
Our stay at Athol Plantation was great. Very relaxing and elegant. John and Steve are excellent hosts in a beautiful refurbished plantation mansion. Beautifully refurbished 150 year old cotton plantation mansion. We stayed in the Adam and Eve Room, the bed was very comfortable as well as the room itself. The breakfast was delicious and served in the formal dining room. The B&B is pet friendly, with 4 yorkies in residence. The grounds are beautiful in a quiet neighborhood. Only 6 miles from the quaint town of Edenton, NC
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ivonasimages wrote a review Oct. 2017
Norwich, Connecticut16 contributions6 helpful votes
I booked a room at the Athol after reading the reviews, both good and bad, and though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the hosts very friendly & knowledgeable, and the room very comfortable, I also have to admit that a couple of the negative reviews do make valid points, and if you are the sort of person who can not deal with yippety dogs (even though they are very friendly, the four of them do raise a bit of a ruckus sometimes), and the sort of mild disrepair and a good number of (mainly outdoors as far as I could see) spiders and such which are inevitable with the sort of never-ending restoration work which is going to come with a project like this, then it might not be for you. What I can say is that the house is very evidently a true labor of love for John & Steve, and they have done a great job renovating it. The history of the house and pictures of the renovation process were also interesting. Breakfast (eggs Benedict with hash browns & melon) was delicious and prepared just the way I liked it - and having fresh eggs from their own chickens make such a difference! A couple of glasses of wine and leisurely conversation with John on our arrival made us feel very welcome. Overall, I'd say read all the reviews and decide for yourself what your priorities are for accommodation. Aside from the one "terrible" rating which I did not feel was at all justified, most of them seem quite fair, and all but the overly fastidious of people should enjoy it very much.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Helpful
Share
Dan C wrote a review Sep. 2017
Hopewell, New Jersey15 contributions19 helpful votes
Nicest room I've seen, friendly hosts, beautiful dining and living rooms. Grounds were nice, well kept. Hosts Steve and John knew the history of the mansion, which is very interesting. Short drive to town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastEdenton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Athol Plantation
Which popular attractions are close to Athol Plantation?
Nearby attractions include Historic Edenton State Historic Site (6.9 km), Barker House (6.6 km), and 1886 Roanoke River Lighthouse (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Athol Plantation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Athol Plantation?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Athol Plantation?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Athol Plantation?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Table at Inner Banks Inn, 309 Bistro & Spirits, and Waterman's Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Athol Plantation?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Athol Plantation?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Athol Plantation?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barker House (6.6 km), Cupola House (6.7 km), and Edenton Bell Battery Cannon (6.6 km).