We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was okay. I just feel the price was to much for what you get! Expecially in a small town like Elizabeth City. The breakfast was great and the staff was great too!! The rooms could have been a little cleaner!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Erika W
Downingtown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family (4 rooms) stayed here for 2 days. I have stayed at Best Westerns before and was hesitant to stay here because of that. They are typically clean but hover between average and slightly below. I wanted something nicer for my semi-large group. After looking at the pictures online and reading the reviews I decided to give them a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank forestc456
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear forestc456, Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome your group to the Elizabeth City, NC area during your recent visit here. While I'm sorry to hear that your previous experiences with other Best Western properties had not been superb, I am glad to know that our Best Western Plus hotel exceeded the expectation you had for an... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
520 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 1 night here. No big problems, just a few small ones. The rug was dirty and you left black footprints in the shower. The bathroom is dark, it needs brighter lighting. Location is good, east enough to find. Places to eat and shop are close by. When I checked in I used a $50 Best Western travel card. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adak C
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Adak C., Thank you for letting us know that you would be willing to return to our hotel, though you did experience a few issues while you were here. We never want for any guest to be able to note a deficiency of any sort during their stay, and I sincerely apologize for the problems that you encountered. I... More 

Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I were just traveling through on our way to Orlando. I usually stay at Best Westerns when ever I can and am very seldom disappointed. This was the exception. The bathroom floor was filthy. I scrubbed it myself before i would let my daughter walk in there. The office chair was broken and so was the door... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darts417
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Darts417, I am so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our Best Western Plus hotel. We appreciate that you're a loyal guest of our brand when you're traveling, but I do sincerely apologize for the fact that our specific property did not meet with the high standards that have been set by our family of... More 

Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Hotel room was small and cramped--couldn't hardly move around. Musty smell to room. Dampness in room was so bad it penetrated our luggage and some of our items were damp and we had to lay them out to try to get them dry.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank tobybear2014
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear tobybear2014, I am very sorry to hear that you were completely dissatisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. We never want for any of our guests to have a negative experience at our property, and I sincerely apologize for the fact that the HVAC unit in your room was not functioning properly during your stay here. I also... More 

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed with the family while heading to OBX. Upside: Clean and safe, newly remodeled (although I agree they should fire the designer) and convenient. Breakfast was typical and free 24/7 coffee. Downside: Not overly friendly, pool is very small and placed by the dumpsters which smelled pretty bad. Many of the fixtures in the bathroom where broken, including the shower... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aspenranch
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear aspenranch, Thank you for giving our hotel the opportunity to host your family during your recent trip toward to the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are glad to hear about all of the things you liked about your stay here, and I'm glad to know that many of your expectations were met. I do apologize that you didn't... More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Needed a hotel to house the 5 of us while traveling to the obx. Thought the idea of a suite with a sofa bed would do the trick. It was a tight squeeze for us which was okay but the rooms need a good clean. Sofa bed didn't pull out correctly so we had to lean on it to open... More 

Helpful?
Thank HavePileWillTravel
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I hope that your family enjoyed your recent vacation trip to the Outer Banks of North Carolina! We enjoyed hosting you for a one-night stopover here in Elizabeth City. Thank you for following up on your stay here with this review highlights your compliments and concerns. While we love hearing about the things that pleased you, such... More 

Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The pictures look much better than this hotel does in person. Yes, this hotel is renovated. But my goodness did they do a terrible job. From the paint to the lack of grout or adhesive in some areas...they paid too much to their contractors. Other than this, our particular room was clean and the bed were very comfortable. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank irin997
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your family's recent visit to the Elizabeth City, NC area. I appreciate that you've taken the time to share your remarks and concerns with us via this TripAdvisor review. I sincerely apologize for the fact that there were multiple things that did not go as well as they... More 

Kingwood, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The service was good. However the room was very dirty. The floors looked like they haven't been vacuumed for a very long time. I kept finding trash from previous guest everywhere I looked. The toilet bowl must not me on the list of things that they clean between guest either. The location is good. Seems like a nice town. Plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank topfueljr1097
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear topfueljr1097, Thank you for letting us know that you appreciated the good service you received from our team members and that you enjoyed your visit to the Elizabeth City, NC area. I am very sorry to hear, though, that there were several things about your stay that you were not completely satisfied with. I will discuss your remarks from... More 

Currituck, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Multiple broken/half attached bathroom fixtures. Attached only by plumbing and flopped around while using. Toe/Finger nail clippings found on the carpet by my infant daughter. Parking lot was like the wild west as people were parallel parking in spaces that were obviously not meant for that or blaring their audio books in the parking lot.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
HotelResponse_2016, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Brandon F., I was very disturbed to read the remarks you've made about our hotel here on TripAdvisor and I would very much like to have more details about your reservation here so that I can further research what happened. This review does not sound like a typical guest experience here and I sincerely apologize for the problems that... More 

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
1.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
76 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#6 of 9 in Elizabeth City
76 reviews
4.2 km away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
27 reviews
38.1 km away
Inn at Corolla Light
Inn at Corolla Light
#1 of 2 in Corolla
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotels in Elizabeth City are close to all of the nearby popular destinations, and with the Best Western brand, guests are guaranteed comfort and competitive prices. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites puts the comfort of guests first. With proximity to USCG Base Elizabeth City and Air Station Elizabeth City, we're proud to welcome those who serve and their families. Elizabeth City hotels are homes away from home for a number of military families, and we consider it an honor to provide as much warmth and convenience as possible to our guests who are traveling far from home. An outdoor pool and semi-truck parking are just some of the ways our Elizabeth City hotel helps make your travels a little easier. Nothing compares to a day of relaxing poolside, whether guests are in town for a meeting or simply passing through. Long-haul truckers and road trippers alike enjoy the ample parking that's available. Top it all off with a free hot breakfast that includes favorites like a waffle bar, fresh local fruits and a wide cereal selection, and mornings always start off on the right note. Hotels near OBX North Carolina are highly desired because it makes commutes that much faster. From speed boat races in the summer to taking care of business at the USCG Base Elizabeth City, there are many reasons guests travel to the area. Whether guests need hotels near Eastern Carolina University or an extended stay with affordable rates, this Elizabeth City hotel provides the ultimate getaway. Business travelers like the spacious rooms, and employees of Coca-Cola® and TCOM alike are regular guests. From annual meetings with Lockheed Martin to road trips up the east coast, travelers deserve cozy pillow-top mattresses and southern hospitality when on the road. Reserve a relaxing stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites and save! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites

Address: 848 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-6919
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Price Range: $114 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Microtel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Raleigh, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Elevator gets crowded, opt for first floor if possible”
 of 5 bubbles bluejay377, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“ask for a room that is COMPLETELY finished”
 of 5 bubbles Benefits, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Great suite is 202”
 of 5 bubbles cyberdiva1908, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms too small. Very tight. No chair or desk/table area.”
 of 5 bubbles Waynespe, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles mckzach, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay