We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fontana Village Resort

Expedia.comUS$129*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fontana Village Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fontana Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 474: English reviews
Washington DC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

The staff is why I'm giving Fontana 4 stars. They are always helpful, friendly and responsive. I usually stay in a cabin as part of a car club, but on my most recent visit I stayed in a Fireplace Room in the Lodge. The room was a "garden room" meaning it was not actually in the lodge. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cactus1995
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and patronage. We are happy that you have been taken great care of by our staff! The remoteness of our Resort is definitely the thing that makes it most appealing. We enjoy our return groups and are thrilled that you are part of one that stays with us. We also appreciate your...

Indialantic
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to the area and we enjoyed the location. The restaurant was clean and the server "Ashley" was very friendly, informative, helpful and a pleasure to meet. The food was very good and fresh. The room was clean but we couldn't get a king unless we stayed outside the main building. The 2 beds were queens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harleyparts32903
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are happy to hear that you had such a great time on your very first visit with us! We are lucky to have such great staff and it sounds like they all took great care of you! We do have a variety of lodging types that are suitable for different...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We were there for the 356 Porsche Club Meeting - the staff and customer service was very good. We had a larger cabin which was clean, well-appointment, and had been updated recently. One of our group got the room with the single bed; which creaked and rubbed with every move and the ill-fitted sheets wouldn't stay on the mattress. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl V
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and your feedback regarding it! We really enjoyed hosting your group event. Everyone we encountered was so nice and seemed so relaxed and genuinely happy to be here! Its great knowing that you guys had such a great time. We appreciate your feedback regarding lighting and cabin numbers. We will definitely take...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 September 2014

I have stayed in Fontana rooms and cabins while with both large and small groups of MINI Coopers. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. It's not a 5 star luxury place, but who needs that when you're only there to sleep. The rest of the time is spent having a blast on the surrounding roads. I like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beamer1127
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are so pleased to hear that you have stayed with us during multiple events. We love the Mini Cooper events; they are always so much fun! We have a very relaxing atmosphere here, which makes for a great place to relax and get away from everything! The Wi-Fi expansion has...

Reviewed 8 September 2014

Our room (already overpriced) had no shampoo or hair dryer. But worse was the dirty towel from previous guest left hanging on bathroom door. Yuck. No wifi and no cell service. Pool and lazy river were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catchme888
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the pool and lazy river. We hope you were able to participate in other onsite amenities as well. I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping error regarding dirty towels and no shampoo. I hope you were able to call the front desk and have the situation resolved...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

I found this place online and knew absolutely nothing about it when I booked it. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. The property is huge, there are so many things to do and the staff is so friendly! We went over Labor Day weekend where they had bands, a cookout and fireworks!!! We had so much fun staying here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyez413
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so happy that you chose to spend your Labor Day Weekend with us! We have many onsite amenities for our guests to enjoy and it sounds like you were able to take part in those. We can't wait to have you and your friends back!

Atlanta
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Fontana Village Resort offers all kinds of accommodations. There are motel like rooms, lodge rooms, duplexes, small trailer like cabins, and larger cabins. It's a large property with a couple pools, putt-putt golf, ice cream shop, lazy river, varying size fire pits, a post office, gift shop, General Store, and 2 restaurants. The prices seem to vary greatly depending on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPeach71
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review! It is really helpful to us when we can details such as this regarding our guests stay with us! It sounds like you were able to partake in many of the onsite amenities. We also appreciate you visiting the restaurants as well. We hope that your visit to the Smokies was...

Skillman, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We rented 4 cabins for a family reunion at Fontana Village and had a really nice time! The cabins were clean, nicely decorated. We loved the porches and the fire pits were nice to have too. The views of the Smokeys from our porch were breathtaking! Our only complaint about the cabins was in the limited kitchen ware they provided....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tflan1
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent visit with us! We are happy that your family had a reunion. We are definitely the perfect spot to spend quality family time together. There are many activities available that are suitable for all ages. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some outdoor fun! I do apologize about the limited kitchen...

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I cannot not say what the actual lodge rooms are like, we rented a cabin for our first visit here. The cabins have what you need. Some are fancier than others, that should be obvious from the website but every cabin has what you need.We were there for a family reunion so we did visit other cabins as well to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We love to hear how our guest’s vacations turned out. It sounds like you were able to visit the different outlets and accommodations here on property! We hope that the next time you visit you can stay longer and take in all that we have to offer! We are definitely meant...

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Like many hotels in the North Carolina and Tennessee area, we had to pay a deposit of one night's stay upon making our reservation. We chose the one-bedroom "cabin" over a lodge room because it was a better value. We would have a full basic kitchen plus a small living room so that we could spread out at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SapphireVoyager
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such an informative review! We love to hear guest’s feedback, and details such as yours are very helpful to us! Like you many of our guests choose the cabin option. The cabins are equipped with everything you need to vacation here for a week, all while giving you the privacy and space of being at...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
10.7 km away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
634 reviews
27.9 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
184 reviews
34.3 km away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.0 km away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
25.7 km away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
200 reviews
28.5 km away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Price Range: $186 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fontana Village Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Fontana Village Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms in the lodge and cabins scattered throughout the property.”
620glenb, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a room in one of the garden units for a more private experience.”
FunkyBud, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“The poolside rooms were much nicer than the standard rooms and had a mini frig. They cost more, but are worth it.”
Poobah56, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I stayed outside of the Lodge in rooms separate from that building closer to the restaurant.”
NickDanger, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our cabin was spacious, had a view, and gave privacy.”
S2531XGlauraw, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$133
Hotels.comUS$129
TravelocityUS$129
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates