We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Breakwater Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Breakwater Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Breakwater Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 8 May 2016

While the staff is wonderful, you will be sleeping with intense mold. If you are allergic to this pungent odor, stay away. The fridge is covered with mold; the outside siding is covered with black mold. The view is beautiful - you can catch some gorgeous sunsets. This place is for the practical fishermen who just want a place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackgriff
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you got to see some of our spectacular sunsets! Upon inspection of the refrigerator in question we did notice some rust on the front of it. We are on the waterfront so rust is constant. We do our best to keep it under control. We did not find any mold on the refrigerator but could see...

Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The room had a homey feel to it. There was a balcony where I could sit, relax and enjoy the view of the ocean. It would definitely be a great "getaway" place to stay on Hatteras Island. The Breakwater Restaurant is right next door. The hotel is located in walking distance to anything you could need while you are there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakeyaemason
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It was our pleasure that you spent time with us and we hope to see you again.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 April 2016

The Breakwater Inn was clean & comfortable. They have excellent customer service & were very friendly. The breakfast was nice & we felt welcomed. We will recommend this hotel to others. It's the closest hotel to the ferry that goes to Ocracoke. Very convenient to restaurants too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fun010
Sandston, Virginia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We have stayed at the Breakwater Inn several times and always are met with excellent customer service, easy check-in and check-out, clean rooms, and an amazing view on the balcony. We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda B
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The smell of mold hits you the second you enter the room. No maid service just a pile of towels. Fridge has rust on front and bathroom has mold around tub. This is a very unsafe environment that should be avoided by everyone !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holehuman
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Okay, the room smelled a bit of air freshener, but it was large and comfortable and we left open the door to the porch so we could have fresh air and a nice view. Friendly, helpful service, good restaurant next door. We will stay here again when we return to Hatteras. Overall, one of our nicer experiences in the OBX.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SciMom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

A one night stay in this place, but such a nice and helpful staff ! Not in high season and yet very amicable, helpful, and of great advice. We loved the peaceful views to the sound, and very nice breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hervé B
Williamsport, Maryland
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We traveled without knowing where we would stay, checked reviews on trip advisor, this sounded good. Met by a clerk that was very friendly and helpful about the area. We chose a room with two beds. The balcony overlooked the sound. Quiet and modest accommodations. Didn't expect luxury, but certainly pleasant. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Stay away. A family of 5, we made a last minute reservation for two nights coming to Hatteras for an extended weekend. The Breakwater Inn was hard to find, empty and not particularly pleasant looking from outside - but that's not a biggie. Our headache started upon first entry into the guest room. Dirty entry door lead to a dingy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jirin1a
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

This guest walked in on the day they were supposed to check in and said they did not want to stay before they even had a chance to see their room. They told me they were going to write a bad review about the inn and also about me if I didn't refund their deposit. Then I explained that we...

Huntsville, AL
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We had a great stay at the Breakwater Inn. The suites were charming and clean. The view from the individual covered decks was great as you get a view of the bay and the boats going in and out. The staff was fun to talk with and very responsive to requests. There is a kitchen and if you want you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cerelia
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We hope you will visit with us again.

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound Double Queen Room with Private Balcony (Front) (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound King Suite (Front) (35)
Viewed
Fisherman's Quarters - Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
16.5 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
12.3 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
15.6 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
261 reviews
1.0 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
0.1 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Price Range: $117 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Marietta, Ohio
Sarasota, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is worth paying the extra for the harbour view, but beware there are no elevators”
 of 5 bubbles hojo1892, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a water view room.”
 of 5 bubbles jackgriff, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“I liked the view from the 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lakeyaemason, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pick the top floor for your stay”
 of 5 bubbles herv_b231, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“understand the difference between main hotel and fisherman quarters”
 of 5 bubbles JVSibley, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay