We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I booked our room through booking.com. Based on the picture and description the room had A/C and appeared large and nice with a mountain view. When I arrived in the room, it was very small, old and hot with a strong musty smell that overlooked a parking lot and tennis court. A large dog was left alone and frantically barking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank felecia S
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

..it is also a great disappointment for me to find out about your disappointment this way , on a website ....now I can only say ,on here, how sorry we all are ,,,the complete Skyline staff wants every guest to be pleased with their visit ..I can only request that you come back ,as my guest - complimentary of course...

Sarasota
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Spent two nights here in the Eagle's Nest. Nice large room with king bed, frig, microwave, coffee maker and flat screen t.v. Balcony looked out over the trees to the mountains in the distance. It was a weekend and the room was 200. We thought that was fair for Highlands area. It was about 3 to 4 miles outside of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yev2
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

.........the trees are growing and now when we go out on the balcony , sip our complimentary Starbuck's coffee while sitting in a rocking chair ,,it feels like being in a treehouse ,,,mother nature is working ,,,,time to do more trimming again soon .. ..thank you for your kind words and staying with us ...

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We were in the Bushy Top cabins room 46. We had such amazing views. It was peaceful and quiet despite it being 4th of July weekend. Looks like they redid the floors and the bathrooms. It was clean, the beds were comfortable. We had a private deck to take in the sunset. We stayed for 3 nights and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Born2love2travel
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

..if only you had stayed here at Skyline Lodge in Highlands , N.C. and eaten at Altitudes restaurant ,,you would have been so very pleased ...and my staff would have spoiled you ......y'all please come stay with us for a spell ..........

Greenwood, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

This place is wonderful! We had never been to Highlands. The weather was great. Nice cool breezes coming off the mountain. I stayed in the hot tub alot! The views will take ur breath away. The only reason they didn't get 5 stars was because the internet was terrible. No phone for 3 days. But if i had to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

...thank you Jennifer ....it is so good to get feedback and constructive criticism from our guests ....it really helps us to improve ,,,,and we are trying very hard ....I live at Skyline Lodge myself and try to meet everyone ,if just to say hello ,,,,,,we had great difficulties with the phone system and the carrier scheduled a waiting time of...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I have 2 main complaints about this place: 1. There is no air conditioning! As far as I know, that's not advertised, and I was not expecting it. I stayed for a couple days at the end of June, and it was boiling hot in that room. The thermostat read 83 degrees!! They leave a little note in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _jordanschaffer
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were displeased and upset with your visit . The lady that you spoke with is not the owner . I spoke to her about her tone --she is from another culture and did apologize . The bartender made a huge mistake ,no property allows glass near a pool , even without being told most guests...

Dahlonega, Georgia
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The location is secluded and actually looked appealing. After checking in found that the rooms are very old and in need of updating (bad carpet stains, NO AIR CONDITIONING, poor lighting, etc.). We had to sleep with the windows and patio door open for air and use an old, broken box fan provided by the motel. There were spiders in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments . I wish that you had spoken with me instead of writing here , because I love to meet my guests . We are in a rain forest ,in the mountains ,and there are critters --Orkin is here every two weeks . We like our rustic 60's décor and never want to be just...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We loved our stay at Skyline. The property has a lot of character and is very well maintained. The staff was very friendly and seems to enjoy working there. As other reviewers said, some aspects of the room were dated, but none that matter. One of the main reasons we picked this hotels was because they are pet-friendly. We expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nswieder
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you ,,it makes us happy to hear that you and your dog enjoyed yourselves ,,,my staff works very hard to make our guests completely satisfied , while you are here with us ...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

This was a very last minute decision and turned out to be a good one. Some reviews indicated that the décor was dated, yes it was some, but the view, the hospitality and service more than made up for that. We had a second floor room with a balcony overlooking a gorge, very peaceful and you could hear the water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari D
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

....thank you very much for your comments ..I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us

Clover, SC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This lodge is secluded and away from everything which I enjoyed. The staff was ultra friendly and helpful. They also treated my dog as well as a human guest. My room was small, but sufficient. It had a flat screen TV, a comfortable bed, and a small sitting area next to the window so I could hear the creek flowing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon20100
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you for staying with us and hug your dog for me

Jonesboro, Georgia
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My stay last night left a terrible taste in my mouth. When we booked we made it clear we wanted a room where we could hear the water and maybe have a fireplace. Were assured of a great room. When we arrived we were told someone else didn't like their room - gave them ours..and we got the bridal suite....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank president2015
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

I am not sure why you did not ask for me , my job here is to make guests are happy to stay with us . . When something goes wrong I ,as general manager , make everything better ,because every one here "matters ". . ..please forgive my new desk clerk.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
2.7 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
189 reviews
15.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
2.7 km away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
2.7 km away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
183 reviews
3.1 km away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unbelievable is the word for the Skyline Lodge & Altitudes Restaurant...constructed of Redwood and Granite, begun in 1929 in the Frank Lloyd Wright tradition. Completed in 1965, Skyline offers a magnificent forty mile view and nestled 4,300 feet atop of Flat Mountain overlooking the banks of Big Creek's cascading waterfalls. From the comfortable rooms with balconies and beautiful views to the scrumptious meals at Altitudes , it's definitely a part of Highlands that should be visited and revisited ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 470 Skyline Lodge Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Price Range: $123 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skyline Lodge and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Skyline Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Highlands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skyline Lodge and Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lilburn, Georgia
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Skyline Lodge and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 210. Corner balcony overlooking the gorge, secluded, fireplace.”
 of 5 bubbles larrycU8781HW, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 222 Eagles nest is air conditioned.”
 of 5 bubbles yev2, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the side the office is on. It MIGHT be better.”
 of 5 bubbles RayW35, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 101 to 110 don't have balcony but do have a fireplace. Most others looked to have a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles nswieder, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the old building where the office is located. But then who knows what you'll get when you get there.”
 of 5 bubbles president2015, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5