We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colonial Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
Woodland Park, Colorado
Reviewed 15 September 2015

You're right on the beach, and next to the pier which has a restaurant. There is a pool and the staff were genuinely nice. Buuut..... there was a smell in the rooms, holes in the walls, everything was dated and there was garbage under the beds. I might go again, but only due to location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMFer
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your honest feedback. We are working dilengently this off season to fix items such as the ones you have mentioned for next season. Off season is the easiest time to do this. Trash left in the room is unacceptable and I do apologize. This will be addressed. I hope you are able to return to the OBX soon.

Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The photo looked better then the room. We were suppose to have a fully equipped kitchen-NOT-no forks and only one coffee mug. The bathroom definitely needed a face lift. They need to put what they charged us per day back into the room. The staff was extremely friendly but will never stay there again. They had a sister hotel that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank akariley
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate the kind words regarding the staff. I am certainly blessed with a great team. I will immediately check on the kitchen inventory as there is no excuse for this and I do apologize. We work each year to upgrade the rooms while maintaining the character of the building. I do hope you were able to enjoy your vacation...

Reviewed 12 September 2015

Colonial Inn is wonderful! Location, location, location! It's beside the Nags Head Fishing Pier which is great for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The beach has an excellent sandbar and Lucky 12, a great restaurant, is right across the street. I read reviews where people complained about the smells. You have to take into account that this Motel is ON THE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele Y
Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michele! First of all, I would like to personally thank you for staying with us over the years. I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. Your kind words, honest and positive feedback means a lot to us. We will see you again next summer!

Fairbury, Illinois
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We were skeptical after reading some reviews about staying here. We were pleasantly surprised :) The room was clean and the bed was comfortable It.is an older place and would benefit greatly from some fresh paint. The location is great; right on the beach. We enjoyed sitting on the deck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveling680
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the kind words. We are blessed with an owner that does pick multiple capital improvement projects each off season to improve this property. We will be doing painting this off season. We hope you are able to return soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2015

Its Perfect for family vacation, I enjoyed my stay for 3 nights. This is very near to beach and i have 1 bed room apartment. Rooms are clean, bathroom and hot water is good. Nice Hospitality. Kids like Swimming pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pavan V
Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi Pavan! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. I am very happy to know that the kids enjoyed the swimming pool. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Basic hotel but certainly great value for money. A good bed in the room and good location with direct beach access and neighbouring a great breakfast place. The bathroom was more than decent. Staff is friendly. The pool looked ok too. Perfect for travellers through Nags Head on a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dporce
Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your honest and positive feedback about our hotel. I am glad that not you only find our hotel reasonably priced but also conveniently located in the heart of Old Nags Head. We certainly hope you would stay with us again in the future.

Reviewed 4 September 2015

Smell is unbearable. Holes in the walls. Appliances rusted. Bathroom tile cracked/broken in places. Is it clean? Well, the housekeeping did their best, but there's only so much you can do with such a decrepit structure. Walls/ceiling are full of mold/mildew. Absolutely do not go here if you are allergic to mold. Check in is at 4 P.M. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy R
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely appreciate your feedback. I will immediately look into mildew that you mentioned. Humidity on the ocean is always very high however visible mildew should never be the case. I apologize that Colonial doesn't have public restrooms however I do also appreciate the kind words regarding the staff. I hope you were able to enjoy your vacation in the...

Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The room was old and outdated. The bathroom has a mess. Broken tile on floor and walls and the toilet rocked and could not be sat on. For $200 a night, I expect a much better room and will NEVER stay at the Colonial Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank willis s
Cai P, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with your room. I will certainly ensure these are looked at and repaired. I hope you enjoyed your stay on this beautiful beach and again apologize that the room was less than satisfactory.

Carrboro
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. We felt the hotel was very clean. As stated in many reviews this inn could use an update. The staff was excellent and super friendly. It was our anniversary trip. To honor the occasion the inn gave us a bottle of wine. That made our stay very special! It's in a great location. The fishing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank babynay13
Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I am glad that we were able to make your anniversary trip extra special. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. We certainly take pride in having the most friendly and accommodating hotel staff on the Outer Banks. We are an older property however the owner...

Chester, Virginia
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I have stayed here two years in a row and both were excellent experiences. The prices are excellent. We rented the Double bed with Kitchenette which was perfect. We were able to cook and had all the utilities needed which saved money on food. I love that we were right on the ocean front and could go back to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LauraLFS
Cai P, Guest Relations Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Hi Laura! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you were able to utilize most of the amenities in your room during your stay. I sincerely appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about your stay. We will see you soon!

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Viewed
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen (34)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Kitchenette (18)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
8.2 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.6 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
400 reviews
3.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,340 reviews
6.5 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Price Range: $108 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colonial Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Oceanfront rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Zap3852, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the ocean offer the best ambiance”
 of 5 bubbles RaleighBill, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't go to this "Hotel"”
 of 5 bubbles Sail1960, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we had ocean front”
 of 5 bubbles js556677, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles TameraP_13, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5