We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tar Heel Motel

TripAdvisorUS$89*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$89*
View Deal
in partnership withTar Heel Motel
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Tar Heel Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of Tar Heel Motel
 Click to rate
Trent Woods
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Not bad if you can handle a motel room for 1 night. More spacious than another place (Driftin something) my husband & I stayed at. Located next to a restaurant & it's walking distance to the beach right across the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
Virginia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I stay here every year and every year the motel improves! Nice rooms, great staff, and a great location. If you are on a budget you cannot get a better deal than the Tar Heel. It is not the Ritz, but doesn't pretend to be. It is a safe, well run beach motel at extremely affordable prices. Beach access is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veleno45
About Hotel's Favourite Review
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us year after year! Our goal is to offer clean, simple and affordable rooms so everyone can have a chance to experience the Outer Banks.

philadelphia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I just loved this place....old fashioned, still use an actual key, plus there's a plastic thingie near the door which the owner uses to show you the check-out time. Owners are friendly and very helpful. I checked in late and the owner helped me find a place to chow down. A real value! Real clean and homey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philandcarolyn
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again on your next trip to OBX.

Berryville, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Before you continue reading, I'll preface this by saying my boyfriend and I didn't actually end up staying here. We made a reservation online, only to find out when we called you had to be 21 to stay here, and we were 20. No big deal. The lady I dealt with on the phone, however, was the rudest, most ignorant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryannestevenson
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt as if I was rude, ignorant, difficult and unhelpful simply for the reason I would not wave our age requirement for you and your boyfriend. Your deposit was fully refunded even on the short notice as a good will gesture without hesitation. I am sure that you will find the perfect vacation spot on the...

Reviewed 18 April 2017

This is a prime location and the room was a great price, however the bed was SO uncomfortable that I slept better the following night camping in my hammock. The room was clean, but the mattresses need to be updated please. Otherwise the stay was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not sleep well! We have been systematically replacing mattresses every year. However, we do use firm mattresses and offer foam overlays on request. I am glad that otherwise the price of the room and cleanliness met your expectations.

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Just stayed for an overnight. Pretty clean , friendly staff , good location. That said , the Tar Heel Motel was quite dated , very 70's and in need of some modernization. It's OK and inexpensive for the area but doesn't measure up to some of the other economy places I've stayed at during my trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review

True, The Tar Heel has all the character of an old seaside motel you would expect in the 70's. We do have 32" flat screen TVs with cable and free WiFi. We do our best to stay affordable without sacrificing cleanliness and hospitality so everyone can have a chance for a family vacation at the beach. We are definitely an...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We went to Outer Banks for the first time with our 6 y.o. and 3 y.o. for a week long trip. This hotel was a bit of a gamble on my part because I like all the fancy ammenities and this place didn't seem to have much besides amazing rates and a good location. But I was so pleasantly surprised!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to having you all back and hope you make us your home away from home.

Reviewed 24 August 2016

I stay here every time I go to the Outer Banks. It's a small family owned motel. No frills but clean and friendly. Great location not far from the beach and fishing piers and you can cook your catch onsite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Althea G
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you! We love seeing guests every year, they become family!

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

In hindsight I agree with most of the reviews I read. This motel would be ideal for someone who doesn't plan to spend a lot of time in the room. The room I stayed in needs work. The nightstand had drill holes in it, a lot of the fixtures have chipped paint and need to be replaced. Overall, the motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chanel F
Greencastle, Indiana
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Lodging for the area was affordable in peak season at 112.00 for two queen beds per taxes per night. Beds seemed more like full size beds. When we checked in, our room smelled very musty. Either we got used to it or going in and out aired out the room. Room was pretty clean, candy papers behind the only small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luvs2Travel5914

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.6 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,473 reviews
10.0 km away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
173 reviews
0.3 km away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
120 reviews
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kick off your shoes and relax ole' Nags Head Style at the Tar Heel Motel of the Outer Banks. Walk to the beach, enjoy our pool, grill out in our picnic area. All rooms have microwave, mini-fridge, cable tv and free WiFi. The Tar Heel is in walking distance of restaurants and fishing piers as well as shopping. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tar Heel Motel

Address: 7010 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9124
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Price Range: $90 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tar Heel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tar Heel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tar Heel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tar Heel Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
CHESTERFIELD
10 months ago
Newport, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tar Heel Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the poolside had bigger parking lot.”
buggin00, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms by the pool are better.”
94AngieC, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Inexpensive for the area, but still too expensive for the quality.”
642tims, 18 May 2015 | Read review
“Bring a power strip. Being an old motel there are very few electric outlets for today's demands”
KennyC452, 20 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Wifi did not work unless you set your laptop on the table as close to the window as possible and then it was shaky at best. Not impressed”
da120757, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$89* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates